We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got the historical experience we were looking for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Champasak Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pakse
Chapel Hill, NC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We got the historical experience we were looking for”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The purpose for going to Pakse was to take a 3-day trip on the Vat Phou Mekong River Cruise through parts of Champasak Province. We flew into Pakse a day before the cruise and checked into the historic Champasak Palace Hotel. We also spent 1-night there at the completion of the cruise.

The building was originally built as the palace for the last king of Laos and is described by some as looking like the top of a wedding cake. In fact the picture we've included is actually of the central part of the 4th, 5th & top floor of the hotel. We booked one of the larger rooms on the 4th floor and while a little worn, it was full of charm and lovely furnishings. The bathroom had been recently updated and our room had large double doors opening out onto a terrace overlooking the city.

We had read some negative comments about the breakfast at the hotel but to be perfectly honest, it suited us. While service at the front desk was a little inconsistent, I would chalk that up more to a lack of communication more than a poor attitude.

All-in-all, we got the historical experience we were looking for.

Room Tip: For a historical experience, book one of the VIP rooms on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mediakzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    85
    65
    34
    11
See reviews for
25
82
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Despite the reviews, and because we wanted a unique experience, we stayed we stayed in the Champasak Palace for 3 nights in late May 2012, 3 people in the two Princess rooms. Staff were so attentive, the bellboy was great as we had a lot of coming and going on tours, the hotel looked after our suitcases and gave us the same room each of the three nights we returned.
The laundry was cheap and beautifully packaged.
Breakfast was very good value.
Wifi was good. Bed was comfortable. Great views. The shower was a joy after days of travelling.
We loved the hotel, although parts of it need a bit of a revamp, it is like staying in a fairytale.
On advice from TA we wanted to have dinner on a boat on the Mekong, and the hotel arranged this for us. They also provided shopping advice.
There was always someone in reception who spoke some English.
DarwinGranny

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarwinGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We went to Pakse in low season, there’s only few guests in hotel (less than 10pp) We had only 1 a la cart for breakfast (you can choose between boiled rice or American breakfast)

Reception couldn’t give any information to you when we asked about place for dinner they can’t recommend just said “you can find some restaurant outside”. But the good things of Pakse is it’s a small town we can find small place to eat by ourselves and we have found many new hotel with a reasonable price. So the day after we decided to change hotel.

*I don't know, if you stay in a high season you may get a good service and full breakfast

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nungning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pakse hotels

Herts.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed at this huge hotel more for fun than good reviews! We were recommended to have a VIP suite which sounds grand but was still a reasonable price. The views were wonderful overlooking the town. The bedroom was spacious and clean as was the bathroom. The breakfast was very adequate catering mainly for the odd Thai, Chinese coach passing through. The staff tried very hard to cope with our lack of laos language and organised a taxi for us for a couple of days touring around the countryside. The evening meal was not tested as we walked a short distance down the main road to a very good little cafe. Bedside lights and wall switches did not work but I would not have missed the experience of this bygone era hotel!!

Room Tip: A VIP suites is worth the extra for the sheer privacy it offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity-Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Famagusta, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Although the hotel is historic and looks very appealing from the outside I couldn’t really recommend it.
The management and feel of the place seems more public than a free market hotel (reminiscent of Central and Eastern Europe in the early 90s).
We had to move from first V.I.P room we chose as the bed was broken, the shower didn’t work ant the bath was far too small.
Check the mini bar on arrival or they may try to charge you for drinks that were never there.
The situation of the hotel is very inconvenient unless you have transport and whilst the food is O.K, its overpriced compared to other places around the town.
Lastly for a hotel of this size and the prices they charging I would expect a pool to be built in the garden behind the hotel.
P.S. Try to minimize the use of the room WC, as the toilet paper is rationed….

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
down under
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This hotel is a bit rough around the edges and a bit shabby. But we could still see how beautiful it would have been in the past. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The resturant had a good reputation, but each time we ate there we felt a little bit sick. So we opted to eat down the road where there are numerous excellent resturants. The staff were helpful, but appartently most good staff have been poached to work in a new modern hotel in Pakse.

Room Tip: Choose a room with front and back French doors. Some rooms are very small with no windows. Some of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macropod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We arrived in Pakse from Vientiane at 7.40am and were met at the airport by hotel transport. On arrival at the hotel we were upgrated to an executive room which was ready for us to occupy. The room was large with comfortable beds, pillows were a little hard though and additional pillows were lumpy. However we slept well.

This is not a hotel for those looking for peace and quiet. It is an extremely busy hotel with bus loads of Thais arriving daily each evening. One night whilst there at least 3 double decker buses arrived and each group held a party in a different room. At the time it was very noisy but at 10.30pm it all stopped and everyone disappeared to their rooms. Next morning they were all up and active at 6am. One of the biggest problems was the pollution from the buses that persisted in running their engines for hours on end.

Once everyone had departed the Palace reverted to its peaceful state.

In spite of the noise, people were enjoying themselves, we had a great stay there. Food in the restaurant was good and there was plenty to eat at breakfast. Do ask for their French toast which they cook freshly for you and it comes with local honey. Another great meal was their steamed fish Laos style - simply delicious and huge.

The architecture was impressive and a trip to the very top of the hotel gives you a wonderful view of the area.

Staff were very attentive, courteous and very helpful although their English was somewhat limited apart from one of the girls at reception.

We had been caught by a tour company in Phonsavan so we had a good look round before committing ourselves to any trips. Luckily we met Somchit who offered tours and we hired him for 3 days. We had three wonderful days with him visting the Bolaven Plateau, Champasak and 4000 islands. He was a great guy, knowledgable and with a great sense of humour. We can thoroughly recommend him.

We loved our time in Pakse and can thoroughly recommend Champasak Palace Hotel. They offer free transportation to and from the aiport which we used.

Room Tip: We had room 317 which overlooked the Sidone River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retsyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pakse
1.0 mi away
Champasak Grand Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pakse Hotel
Pakse Hotel
#1 of 15 in Pakse
585 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lankham Hotel
Lankham Hotel
#6 of 15 in Pakse
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Arawan Riverside Hotel
1.8 mi away
Champa Residence Hotel
14.7 mi away
The River Resort
The River Resort
#1 of 2 in Champasak Town
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champasak Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champasak Palace Hotel

Property: Champasak Palace Hotel
Address: Road No13 Ban Prabath, Pakse LAO PDR, Laos
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Pakse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pakse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Champasak Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Feel experience once in your lifetime at the real palace of King Boun Oum" the last king of life in the southern Laos. The palace was built in 1969 and has a main 6 floors building that combines French colony and Laos style. It is elegantly located in the heart of Pakse district the capital city of Champasak province. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Champasak Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champasak Palace Pakse
Champasak Palace Hotel Pakse, Laos - Champasak Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing