We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular : but some safety improvements are necessary....”
Review of Green Discovery

Green Discovery
Level Contributor
58 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Spectacular : but some safety improvements are necessary....”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We booked the Green Discovery Treetop Explorer for three days. Driving out from Pakse, we headed up to the Bolaven Plateau, where we trekked into the forest, ziplining our way across the course of a series of deep waterfalls. The trek was stunningly beautiful, and the guides very helpful and friendly. Accommodation was in some gigantically high trees - two beds on a platform in the tree's canopy. (Access was by zipline!) Absolutely magnificent. The only small criticisms I have are these. Firstly, the tour is advertised enthusiastically as being easy, and something people of all levels of fitness can do. I am not very fit (but not very unfit either) - and it was very hard going at times. Second, the tour guides make lip service to safety : but they maintain a cracking pace through paths through the forest inundated with water and overrun with boulders and tree roots. One very fit person in our tour sprained his ankle, and it could have been worse. There was no medical aid kit available at base camp (and the guides didn't carry any) - miles away from medical help (and separated from it by ziplines and a via ferrata!) The tour isn't kitted out for the possibility of any injury.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sisyphus11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    19
    9
    8
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
“Excellent guides”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked 2 trips with Green Discovery Pakse and both were well organised with helpful, friendly guides. The one day tour to the Bolaven Plateau was a perfect introduction to the area. Our guide Khamsai was relatively new to the job but was very well informed, with a cheerful temperament. Our second was a 2 day tour of Wat Phu and Si Phan Don (the 4,000 Islands). There was a lot of driving and multiple boat rides in a short space of time so I think GD should consider separating the temple visit. What we had hoped for but couldn't get was a 2 day Si Phan Don, kayaking, waterfalls tour which would have involved a lot less travel. All in all a very good company.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Surprisingly beautiful and friendly locals”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We normally go to Luang Prabang whenever we are in Laos. This time we decided to go South and check out the places like Pakse. We took the bus from Vientianne to start the trip south.We stopover to Khammouane and see the Kholong cave. We were very surprised to find out that the bus goes directly to Kholong. Then from there its only 1 kilometer to the cave itself. Its worth the trip seeing this cave. The accommodation is right there where the bus stop for the day. Value for money and people are so friendly. The scenery is great. Then onwards to Thaket, this place is good enough for 1 day. Guesthouses and hotel are very limited and not cheap. Savanakhet, not worth the stop move on to Pakse. Pakse is very small and beautiful town sits right at the Mekong River. The township still 5 kms away from the bus stop, but its worth staying for a few days to enjoy the area. Bolaven Plateau is worth visiting, so many beautiful waterfalls. And many native villages. Bring some food and pens when visiting the villages.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
396 reviews
188 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Great experience but hard work in the rain!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I have real mixed views about this trip so I'll just try and be factual if I can - what I would say is that I'm pleased we did it, but we wouldn't do it again.

We had two days of on/off monsoon/type rain (it was the only part of our holiday where we saw rain) and I'm sure the trip would have felt much more fun in the sunshine. The trekking down to camp in the rain felt quite dangerous at times and is definitely for the fit not just the ok physically. My husband loved it. The zip lines are amazing and the views are incredible - beautiful waterfalls and stunning jungle - really quite special. The abseiling was well explained and good fun.

Camp is lovely with the most fantastic huge waterfall right in front of you - I've never been anywhere like it - the website pictures actually don't do it justice. Food was amazing and the sitting round the camp site good fun. The ziplining to your own treehouse is great fun and the tree houses are quite basic but have flushing toilets and they give you a hot flask to take to bed with you. Its a nice touch and the views of sunrise in the morning up there are lovely.

On the down side we were wet through when we arrived at camp and our bags hadn't been waterproof enough so there were no towels and we had to sit around a fire in wet clothes and it got very cold - this took the shine off what should have been a lovely experience. The staff don't provide anything to help - my advice is take a good waterproof bag and a towel (they don't provide any).

The next morning was beautiful round camp. In the sunshine the camp looks really lovely and breakfast was lovely.

The abseiling was treacherous and we all declined after one of our group slipped on the rocks quite badly. There doesn't seem to be much awareness of risk so my advice would be to make your own judgement about what seems safe. Again, in the dry I'm sure it would have been great fun. We enjoyed our alternative time around camp.

The climb out of camp is definately not for the fainthearted and could only be done by children if carried out (the hand grips are hard to reach and I'm 5ft 8") and could not be done by anyone not of a good level of fitness. However, after the first part (which is the hardest bit so once over the very first scary bit, don't worry you can do it!) is exhilarating and again the views are amazing.
unfortunately we hit rain again on the way back so had to scramble up a jungle hill, grabbing hold of roots and its a pretty steep climb!

Overall a really wonderful part of the world and theres really only one way you can get to see it - and that by doing this trip. Even with my slightly grumpy notes, I'm still pleased we did it and would recommend it to others.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Poopyscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow - great 3 day 2 night experience”
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We went over New Year's Eve for the 3 day 2 night tree top zip lining experience. It was such an amazing experience out group all did things we didn't think we were capable of. The first days walk to the camp was great and really set us up. The dirt zip lines were not too long and made you feel comfortable with the process. The views were incredible and there could not be a better way to see the Laos countryside. The next days zip lines were longer and a lot more fun. Couple this with some good hiking it was also a great day. The last day was amazing rappelling down the waterfall followed by a climb along a cliff edge breathtaking. The guides were great the accommodation is basic but that seems appropriate. Great and close to nature. It was however quite cold when we went and only one sleeping bag was not enough for us. Also the office had over booked when we went and tried to tell our group we had to share despite having booked seperate tree houses. In the end they made another group share so we were fine but felt for the others. We also felt tht there should have been more food that could have been due to over booking but with all the activity we were very hungry every night and there didn't seem to be enough to fill us up. If you offer 50,000 kip the guides will organize someone to take beer and wine up there which we did as it was NYE. Take some extra food with you and sweet things as there is no desert. Breakfast was fantastic and coffee great. Really recommend anyone to do this it was a great trip.

Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Discovery also viewed

Pakse, Champasak Province
Pakse, Champasak Province
 
Pakse, Champasak Province
Pakse, Champasak Province
 

Been to Green Discovery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing