We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jasmine Restaurant

Ranked #15 of 40 Restaurants in Pakse
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
near newcastle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great variety on the menu , excellent food and COLD beer !!! Do yourself a favour and order one of the sweet roties from the stand out the front ! A great accompanyment to an evening coffee !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gjwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    69
    34
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Again like the last reviewer, having already spent time in India with amazing food, Indian grub just wont be the same anywhere else. That being said, Jasmine was one of the better Indian eateries we've visited in Laos. The service was quick, the curries tasty (if a little on the lukewarm side but this is how Indian's like them) and lots of choice for vegetarians. Definitely worth a trip there. The pickled onions in the condiments jars are super too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmilySFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
226 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Average Indian Food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Having been in India for two months before coming to Laos we are slightly biased but thought we would try our luck with "the best Indian food in Laos" as quoted by Lonely Planet.

Curry was quite watery and very sparse on the meat and vegetables. Rice that came with it was sticky not steamed and the naan was bang on average and not "soft as a pillow" as stated in Lonely Planet.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joadify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A poor Asian hitchhiker”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Maybe I'm a poor Asian people.
For me. The price higher then foods quality...
I been oder a fish curry. the fish still blood...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zz22zz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
544 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Your Average Indian Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Best things here are samosas, doais, rotis and naans. Curries are quite a bit more hit and miss. I suspect thyem of having a big pot of generic curry sauce simmering away in the back, because almost every curry looks the same -- a rather violent orange-red item. Only the solid matter in the curry seems to vary. It's not bad, it it's unsophisticated. Can still be a nice break from Thai/Lao.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BallardBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jasmine Restaurant also viewed

Pakse, Champasak Province
Pakse, Champasak Province
 
Pakse, Champasak Province
 
Pakse, Champasak Province
Pakse, Champasak Province
 

Been to Jasmine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing