We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“view is the only thing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mekong Paradise Resort
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Pakse
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“view is the only thing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Lets start with the best. The view on the river is really nice, especially in the evening. Unfortunately, this is the only thing why to recommend this hotel. Far away from everything, the room not really clean, holes in the bed sheet, a fridge that heated instead of cooling, no safe in the room, a wi-fi, which was rather slow as a crumpet, water running in the bathroom floor instead of the drain and lots of mosquitos did not make our stay really comfortable. Furthermore, prices to rent a bike to get into town, which was too far to go by foot, were even barefaced. No wonder, that except for us, there were only two other couples staying at this big hotel.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. We also did so after one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schnooseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
19
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel had a very friendly and helpful staff. The room was very comfortable with a roomy bathroom. Room service were excellent. We had a great time, only wished we could have stayed longer. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumonge, Burundi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The staff is very helpful with whatever questions you might have. The property is well-maintained. The rooms are large and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows were more comfortable than those at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on the way to 4000 islands. The rooms are large and clean, it is definitely worth paying the little more for a room on the river, the views were amazing! It does state they have wifi but they don't. The food was the only problem for me, I had fish and rice, I found a maggot and lots of ants!! The hotel isn't in the centre of pakse, so you will need to get a tuk tuk. Pakse is ok if you are passing through but there really isn't a lot there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great views of the Mekong from our room and the resturant. The food was average nothing fancy. We found the hotel to be to far from town. The internet as not working the whole time that we stayed there. Yes I know we are on holidays, we had a death in the family while we were there and needed to try and arrange flights to get home, had to make the trip into town to use the internet. The rooms are a great size and very clean. Bathroom very dated and cold showers most mornings. I would stay in town next time more resturants to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trace_Nick_Blake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

It's a fairly large sized resort located on the banks of the river. The entire reception area is in level 1, and the other areas move progressively down. The dining area is in level -1 and the rooms in level -2. The dining area has some excellent views of the Mekong. 
About the food menu - has soup noodles, starters, laap, stir frys and some western fare..so all in all, fairly ok. The price of 40000 kip for the mains could be on the slightly higher side. 
The breakfast was quite sumptious, with lots of fruits, bread and eggs served at your table. The staff at the dining area are pretty attentive.
The room was fairly adequate and had a large sized refrigerator. Only issue was that the wifi signal ceased in the room. Hot water started only post 8 am, so if you are doing an early morning tour and prefer showering in warm water, its better to do so on the return.
I had a bit of a disaster in that my laptop power cord was Chinese spec and the hotel did not have an adapter for the same.... The desk boy was quite helpful as we made our way for 30 min into town but to no avail. Hotels having international travelers have to stock up on adapters to avoid any inconvenience to guests. 
I found the resort caters to tour groups who normally arrive at night...so the place is practically empty during the day. 
The hotel had links to Pakse travels for the local tours like Vat Phu etc.
A tip in case you are flying in to Pakse late in the evening - call u the hotel in advance and tell them at arrange a tuk tuk from the airport..the fare is $8 approx. 

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajiv_Gopinath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with a pretty good restaurant as well. We initially booked 5 days, but left after 1 day due to its location which is quite a distance from the center. It has a beautiful view of the Mekong, and our room was very nice with a very nice balcony. The wifi was sometimes spotty in the room, but fine in the hotel lobby. We and one other couple were the only ones staying there when we were there, probably due to the location of the hotel. If you have your own transport, this hotel would be a great choice, but if you have to use a tuktuk to get around, you will waste a fair amount of time and have a significant tranport cost.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pakse
1.5 mi away
Pakse Hotel
Pakse Hotel
#1 of 15 in Pakse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Champasak Grand Hotel
1.2 mi away
Champasak Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arawan Riverside Hotel
13.6 mi away
The River Resort
The River Resort
#1 of 2 in Champasak Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lankham Hotel
Lankham Hotel
#6 of 15 in Pakse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Paradise Resort

Property: Mekong Paradise Resort
Address: Nonsavang Champasak Province 504, Pakse 1600, Laos
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Pakse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Pakse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mekong Paradise Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Mekong Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mekong Paradise Resort Pakse, Laos - Champasak Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing