We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic Location is Unbeatable; but some Issues!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mekong Paradise Resort
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Pakse
Nauru
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
“Scenic Location is Unbeatable; but some Issues!”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

First of all the Location is beautiful; high up along the banks of the mighty Mekong river. This resort is in its class and price range of 30$-50$ very good value. I got upgraded to a huge river view room with private balcony including an awesome view.

Staff is friendly and welcoming although (just a bit) on the slow side. The wi-fi is tricky as it supposed to work in the whole resort but in fact only covers the lobby.

The restaurant is adequate but nothing special and could be a whole lot better.

Had issues on check out as got presented a expense bill of dinning and drinks that was marked up. Only when i asked to see the original bill with my signature they hesitated and admitted that they had done "something wrong". It worked out to be a mark up of 35% of all the bills. So my tip is 1) sign every bill 2) check the bill at check out with the original bill and look for deficiencies.

The bill issues could not eliminate my satisfaction though as for the price you get a beautiful spot; although far from the city center!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank arabian_sands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
19
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Turned up in Pakse from Vientiane early morning with nowhere to stay. Decided to look at Mekong Paradise - and never left. Stunning setting overlooking the wide Mekong about a kilometre south of the New Market. Special deal on and no-one else staying. Offered brilliant room - windows on two sides plus veranda for $60 a night. Excellent value.
Need R and R after days of hard travelling - and this was the place for it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenwichlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Mekong Paradise lives up to its name. This boutique hotel of graceful architecture is in a lovely setting right on the banks of the Mekong River well south of the bridge at Pakse. The restful views from rooms, the lobby, and the dining room terrace are of the broad Mekong and green mountains covered in forest. We stayed here three nights. Our room had a spacious balcony overlooking the River, a hot water carafe for coffee and tea, great hot water in the shower, and a decor of wood floors and artwork of local design.

This is a quiet location as it is located well off the main road and is surrounded by extensive grounds full of trees and flowering plants (including many champa trees, also called frangipani or plumeria). The road in was being improved during our visit, so was a bit bumpy, but those improvements should soon be finished.

After day trips to points in southern Laos (Wat Phou, dolphin watching and waterfalls in the Four Thousand Islands area, and the coffee- and tea-growing regions on the Boloven Plateau) we happily returned each evening for our BeerLao on the Mekong Paradise terrace as night fell and enjoyed tasty dinners from the menu. My husband and I are already planning our next trip to Laos and will definitely stay here again!

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
217 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

The resort itself only claims a 3 star standard. However, they well deserve a four star one. It locates on the hill looking right over the Mekong river. My room is spacious with wooden floor and wide opened bay window so you can watch the sunset over the Mekong river from your own bed ! The room decor is traditional Laos style. Even though the staff speaks little or no English but their excellent and attentive service would make up for that deficiency. On top of that, the hotel manager and owner speaks excellent English so if you need any thing just ask for her. One thing that makes this hotel stands out from others in Pakse is its tranquility and serenity. You can feel really relaxed and enjoyed the view of mountain and river right from your room terrace. The rate is very affordable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathantran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Mekong Paradise is a lovely hotel in a very attractive setting on the banks of the Mekong River. The rooms were very big and beautifully decorated, with a balcony overlooking the river. Surprisingly we were the only guests in the hotel for our first night.

The hotel has a lot of potential due to the quality of its facilities, but there are a few areas that the management need to address.

The staff are very friendly but unfortunately their English is very limited. When we had a problem with the wifi connection, booking a transfer to the airport or arranging a time for breakfast we struggled to get the message across to the receptionist and several times ended up speaking on the phone to the owners/manager. We also requested a taxi for our airport transfer and a tuk tuk turned up instead.

Breakfast was plentiful but unfortunately there was no choice other than what eggs you wanted. Cereal and fruit were plated up for you and the latter was usually papaya which unfortunately I don't like and then felt bad for not eating it. The coffee was incredibly strong!

The hotel is located a few kilometres out of town so you do have to get a tuk tuk or taxi each time you want to go in. The hotel is off the main street so you cannot go outside and hail one but the hotel will book one for you for a fixed price. But it was a pleasant location as there is not much to see in Pakse itself.

The internet works best in the main building- there is a connection in the rooms but it is very slow.

There is a kettle in the room with tea and coffee provisions, but we did not realise until too late that the tea, coffee and creamer cost 25,000K per set. For the price of the room this should be included. Free water was provided though.

Overall this was a lovely place but there are a few issues to sort out.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Placestovisit2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pakse
0.2 mi away
Champasak Grand Hotel
1.5 mi away
Pakse Hotel
Pakse Hotel
#1 of 15 in Pakse
591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arawan Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Champasak Palace Hotel
1.5 mi away
Lankham Hotel
Lankham Hotel
#7 of 15 in Pakse
190 reviews
13.6 mi away
The River Resort
The River Resort
#1 of 2 in Champasak Town
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Paradise Resort

Property: Mekong Paradise Resort
Address: Ban Nonhsavang 504, Pakse 1600, Laos
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Pakse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Pakse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mekong Paradise Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mekong Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mekong Paradise Resort Pakse, Laos - Champasak Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing