We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star [not]”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arawan Riverside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Pakse
Reviewed June 8, 2014

over the last 7 years i have been travelling in south east Asia every year and stay in all kinds of accommodation ranging from $8 per night upwards, after biking through other parts of Laos thought i would treat myself to a nice hotel with swimming pool for a bit of r and r, big mistake here,,,first the room had a really musty smell so the room person sprayed with some deodorizer smell came after about 5 hours, don't worry about using the pool, first after you walk through the car park then 50 meters of something like concrete in the heat i got to a luke warm pool that looked like a stagnant pond with leafs and dead insects no shade no umbrellas no towels so i thought i would get a beer at the poolside restaurant no staff, hot as a sauna no air-conditioning just horrible, breakfast was ordinary to say the least i like Asian style breakfast but not sitting in baine- maries just luke warm for how long who knows, the coffee was as thick as tar you couldn't drink it the bread was very cheap considering you can get really good bread in pakse and no sweet pastries or if stale and hard, stick to the eggs. some staff were nice and others seemed not to care, and one last thing it is far from the main central city allow 20 min waiting time after you ring for tuk tuk ,,i really don't know who rates these hotel but this one in particular about 2 and a half stars

Room Tip: just don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewmc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 47 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

Yes, this hotel is clean, and staffs are kind. But this hotel is a just 'Hotel'. You can't feel anything about Laos!! Maybe this hotel was built by chinese, so there is just one chinese restarant. No bar, no shop, no jym, no coffee shop. And also, there are always eastern people, not western, like chinese, thailand, etc.If you have enough money to stay here, just book to other hotel like hotel pakse, hotel sisouk, hotel champasak palace, plz. One more, swimming pool here is very, very dirty. Do not dive to the pool! One more!!! the location of hotel is very far from the center of the city.

Room Tip: Just book. All rooms are same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HongseonJeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The hotel is isolated and requires a tuk-tuk to get anywhere.. Staff have limited English, if they are around to talk too. Oh and if you we're thinking to use the pool.. Think again, you'll have to find furniture to use and you'll be asked to pay to use it?!? Since when do a 5 star resort charge for poolside furniture?

Breakfast buffet is actually an Asian Buffetto cater for bus loads of Thai tourists.

Believe there is better options, for less money, closer to town.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank BethHackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Nice clean hotel on the riverside. Breakfast is buffet style with not much if any Western options, the internet only works in the Lobby even though they advertised throughout. Close to the main bus station in Pakse, and city center.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tristan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We quickly stopped by to get rates and the front desk manager was able to discount the rooms for us for $40 US dollars since we got two.

The hotel was pretty but also dirty and run down.

Moldy shower, ants over the buffet table where the jam sat and NO WIFI connection but the lobby

The worst part was my boyfriend utilized the in house laundry facility and it ended up costing a little over $40 for 15 items. Also, the currency used on the form was in Thai Bath not Lao Kip though we're in Laos. I brought it to the attention of front desk and the night manager said "our guests know this will be in bath not kip".

I can't even explain how irritating it was. They charged us for extra pillows and a 16 oz water bottle is 6,000 kip!!! I felt they nickled and dimed us because they get no guests!

Will not return and if you're considering on staying here, please beware!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monnbonn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel has a great location at the Mekong riverside with a view towards the bridge and the mountains on the other side. Rooms are furnished well.
That is what about to say positive.
The hotel is obviously catering mainly for Thai package tourists.

When I checked in I had to wait 20 min before I got a key because there was some confusion about the reservation.
WiFi had no internet connection.
Rooms and the hotel are not really clean.
The water in the pool was not clean.
The whole place is like run down a bit, poorly maintained.
The morning buffet is great if you like Asian food. I do, although not for breakfast. Coffee was awful, eggs were cold, no butter but margarine, cheap jam...

This Sunday morning, 8:00, noise from the construction site (the hotel is presently expanding).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SebastianBehrle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were with a car rally & tour. Left our cars in Thailand and came by Thai tour buses with about 90 people. Our rooms were clean, ready and even had hot water. The room was spacious, nicely furnished and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was of a good size with a combo tub/bath.The breakfast was good for a group bufffet. With a large group, elevators (lifts) are important and they worked well at this hotel. Didn't interact much with the staff, but they seemed pleasant. Communications in Thai were easier than in English. Did not use the pool or any other facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don_Muang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pakse
0.3 mi away
Champasak Grand Hotel
1.7 mi away
Pakse Hotel
Pakse Hotel
#1 of 14 in Pakse
613 reviews
13.5 mi away
The River Resort
The River Resort
#1 of 3 in Champasak Town
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Champasak Palace Hotel
1.7 mi away
Lankham Hotel
Lankham Hotel
#6 of 14 in Pakse
190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Champa Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arawan Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arawan Riverside Hotel

Address: Salakiew St, Phonesavanh Village, Pakse 1600, Laos
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Pakse
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Pakse
Price Range: $35 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arawan Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Arawan Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arawan Riverside Hotel Pakse, Laos - Champasak Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing