We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine value, excellent and lovely view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arawan Riverside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Pakse
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Fine value, excellent and lovely view”
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

This is a fine quality hotel located a bit outside of the "downtown" area of Pakse. Don't worry, though, since you're only 10 minutes' walk from a variety of attractions in town, especially the usual tourist markets. People in and around the hotel will be able to point you wherever you want to go. My room, which had one king size bed, was located on the 5th floor and was larger than I expected. Cost was eqivalent to USD 40. It was very clean, and had a small fridge, a large flat-screen TV, and good amenities in the bathroom. There was in-room wifi, though the signal wasn't super fast. The shower is a 'rainfall' style, which I don't care for, but the water pressure and temperature were fine. I ate buffet breakfast, included in my room price, at the hotel. Staff were friendly and nice, and the food was tasty and plentiful. The coffee, too, was excellent -- real coffee, not Nescafé. It is strong, and must be drunk with sweetened, condensed milk.

All of these things would make for a good hotel stay anywhere in Canada or the U.S. or Western Europe. But this is a medium-sized city in rural southern Laos! Consequently, I am happy with my stay. It's not to the level of a fine 5-star hotel in Bangkok, but it was well worth my investment.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonbonmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    14
    11
    4
See reviews for
4
13
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hoofddorp NL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

A warm and comfortable 4 star hotel in beautiful syurroundings on the banks of the Meekong.
Rooms are adequate and the staff most frinedly and cooperative.This is an excellent hotel from which to visit the whole of this southern part of Laos, with its internationally famous waterfalls.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This was our first stay at the hotel.

Pluses
The rooms facing the river have fantastic views and huge picture windows.
The rooms were large, clean, and comfortable.
The breakfast buffet is large and satisfying if you like an Asian-style breakfast.
The pool is clean and decent sized.
There is a fitness centre now open.
The staff are friendly.
Quality of food at the Chinese restaurant was good.

Minuses
The rooms have seen better days. The wooden floors are soon ready to be replaced and the bathroom doors are very difficult to shut.
The hallways also have an unpleasant stentch.
The hot water in the shower was lukewarm at best and didn't seem to change with the settings.
If you like a Western breakfast, you will find little here besides greasy eggs, sugar cereal, one type of fruit, and a little bit of bread.
Lots of local kids came to use the pool in the late afternoon so it was anything but peaceful despite the setting.
The exercise equipment in the fitness center looks like it will only last a few months.
The staff don't speak much English.
The hotel is out of town and if you don't have your own transport it would be quite inconvenient.
The food at the hotel is very overpriced.

Overall, the hotel obviously targets big Thai tour groups. Prices for everything in the hotel are in baht. I think we will try someplace else next time but all and all the value for the money isn't too bad. We'd consider returning.

Room Tip: Get a room with the river view for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina_Laos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Station, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The rooms in this hotel are large and very comfortable. They keep sufficient quantities of complementry water in the bar frig. All requests were immediately fulfilled with a follow-up to ensure we were satisfied. The buffet breakfast was diverse and plentiful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJW S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

How could anyone doubt this lovely place. Talk about value for money!! We were quoted $42 on the internet, but paid the hotel direct, and it only cost $37 a night. The room was a delux, had a balcony looking out over the river, was quiet at night, had everything and was CLEAN. It was a little walk to the shops, but a tuk tuk or taxi was easy to pick up and very cheap so long as you knew how much it was meant to cost. The restuarant cooked excellent meals at good prices, and once again was clean. Breakfast was another story. If you liked a multitude of cold dishes, or hot Asian soup, you were fine. If you liked eggs, they were fried and set out to go cold. You had to ask for HOT eggs.Toast had to be put through the toaster at least 4 times to get it cooked. It is a shame that a huge wastage of food occured everyday when a menu for breakfast would have been better and saved the hotel huge money on wastage of multitude of dishes for what was actually only a few guests. I am surprised that so few people stayed at this wonderful place. We had a swim in the pool. Were treated as honoured guests. It really was luxury surrounded outside by something quite different.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Not the most convenient location, but the rooms are nice. When we stayed the pool was clean, virtually no one there. Breakfast offered a big array. Lots of Thai tourists on those one night stops stay here and can overwhelm the brekfast restaurant. Hot water is a little erratic. The price was low, so overall it was OK value, but you need to take an overprice tuk tuk to town. We seem to have enjoyed the Arawan more than other reviewers.

Room Tip: You want to overlook the river rather than the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We had been advised to stay at this hotel pre and post a two night river cruise, thankfully the cruise was worth the stay! First impressions count and the drive up to the hotel put us right off. We have stayed in many hotels in SE Asia, on tour, and never have we been so disappointed. We weren't looking for luxury either given we were in Pakse. Room was large, clean and shabby, the whole hotel needs a huge overhaul, dirty windows, wonky blinds, warm beer - no glasses offered, female visitor banging on our room door at midnight, no pool service at all until after 3pm when the local DJ insisted on practising his skills - he needs a lot more practice - sadly we couldn't miss hearing his efforts or that of the karaoke. All in all it was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in in Asia, give me a small, locally run hotel where my expectations would have been met. This was a shambles.

Room Tip: Take a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoonybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pakse hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pakse
0.3 mi away
Champasak Grand Hotel
1.7 mi away
Pakse Hotel
Pakse Hotel
#1 of 15 in Pakse
585 reviews
1.3 mi away
Champasak Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lankham Hotel
Lankham Hotel
#6 of 15 in Pakse
190 reviews
1.1 mi away
Champa Residence Hotel
13.5 mi away
The River Resort
The River Resort
#1 of 2 in Champasak Town
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arawan Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arawan Riverside Hotel

Property: Arawan Riverside Hotel
Address: Salakiew St, Phonesavanh Village, Pakse 1600, Laos
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Pakse
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Pakse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arawan Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Arawan Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arawan Riverside Hotel Pakse, Laos - Champasak Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing