We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and filthy”
Review of Royal Pakse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Pakse Hotel
Ranked #20 of 50 Pakse B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small and filthy”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We are not pleased with this hotel. We did not pay much (15 dollar), but still we did not expect such a cramped and filthy room. Especially the bathroom was full of staines (see photos). The bed is really old, worn down and crooked (I cannot sleep leveled in this bed), our bedsheet is a plus sized towel and every now and then it smels like sewer. As for the service, apparently there is only guy working at the frontdesk, he is always there and apparantly also sleeps there. If he is away, you cannot leave your key, Pay the bill or anything else you might need him for. Furthermore the already filthy, smelly room does not get cleaned if you stay more nights.

Again, please check te photos I made in the bathroom, they are nasty.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariska V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    13
    13
    12
    10
See reviews for
6
24
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Royal Pakse is pretty basic, but cheap, so get what you expect. Our room was small, very dark (the window faced the wall of the next building) but quiet. When it rained, a puddle formed on the floor underneath the window and began to spread through the room (hardly what you expect from even the cheapest of hotels!).

Ok to stay for a night, but don't expect quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JolyonBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pakse hotels

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We firstly stayed here in one of the rooms on the roof, 50,000 Kip a night you can't grumble at. Room's on the roof are basic but come with a fan & some free water, shampoo etc. My only slight suggestion would be the room at the end of the 3 that we stayed in has a slightly sprung broken bed and a bit of a smelly drain in the bathroom - things that could be sorted quite easily. You can get wifi in those rooms too which is really good and the views from the roof at night are great. We then went on a 3 day bike tour of the Bolevan Plateau and left our bags in the capable hands of the owners, they were in exactly the same spot where we'd left them when we arrived back. We then stayed another night in one of the air-con rooms - again at pretty good value if you like a bit more luxury. A fridge and TV with English speaking channels was in the room and again wifi is available. A great all round hotel that I'd recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilySFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Not very fancy but i think one of the cheapest in the area.
Nice and simple air con rooms for less than 10$ is really ok.
Located in 13 street owner is nice and speaks English better than most hotel receptionist.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barfrige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great place for a short stay or a stop over. Rooms are clean and spacious with hot showers and a small fridge. One of the cheaper options in Pakse and in a decent location. The staff speak English and are very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joadify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Comparing to many places we checked out, this was one of the cleanest and best price value in Pakse. Receptionist was very friendly & helpful. The room was nothing special but more then ok for one night, spacious but very basic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrTravelAllAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We arrived here in the afternoon, the staff (Vietnamese) was very friendly
Our room was big with 2 big beds, a GREAT Internet connection and free water.

I think they are doing some kind of construction downstairs..not sure.

Anyhow we liked our stay here in this hotel in Pakse

Room Tip: Room 101 is nice and big...situated on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conjunju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pakse hotels
0.2 mi away
Pakse Hotel
Pakse Hotel
#1 of 15 in Pakse
591 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lankham Hotel
Lankham Hotel
#7 of 15 in Pakse
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Champasak Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Champasak Grand Hotel
1.4 mi away
Oulayvanh Guesthouse
Oulayvanh Guesthouse
#8 of 50 in Pakse
2 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Sisouk
Residence Sisouk
#4 of 50 in Pakse
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pakse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pakse Hotel

Property: Royal Pakse Hotel
Address: 0228 Route 13 | Watlouang Champasak, Pakse, Laos
Location: Laos > Champasak Province > Pakse
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Pakse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Pakse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Royal Pakse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pakse Hotel Laos - Champasak Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing