We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very cozy, with very good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liten Krog

Liten Krog
Ranked #1 of 54 Restaurants in Are
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, European, Swedish, Pizza, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: It is in Are square, ski resort/town.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very cozy, with very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is a gem. Rustic funiture with helpful waiters. They have a nice selection of wine, also alcoholfree. We tried a tapas plate which was very tasty! Only thing that was negative, it took very long time from when we were done eating until we got a hold of a waiter to Ask for the bill.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Inger lise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    61
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We went to this restaurant due to it's ratings on Tripadvisor.

We didn't book in advance, but were lucky to get the last available table. The service was great at first - and we got the wine and food fairly quickly. We bought a "tapas plate" (which was amazing), and the pizza our neighbours bought looked great too, it was so huge with super thin crust, and smelled fantastic.

The service slowed down considerably after we didn't want dessert. We had a hard time getting their attention to get the check, which was a shame. But the food was really, really great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank normire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A little gem in Are.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A little choice of a la carte dishes and a wide selection of pizzas. A small place with a buzzing atmosphere, friendly welcome, excellent quality food and presentation and our most enjoyable dinner in Are - highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Canary175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix, France
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Friendly little bistro in the town centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Id say this would be the de facto choice for birthday or anniversary dinners being celebrated in Åre. Friendly staff, brilliant local specialities (reindeer! ) and delicious apple martinis made a memorable evening with old friends. Next time we come we will try the pizzas.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tomw_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best pizza in Åre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is the top place if you want to eat pizza in Åre. For several years in a row.
It is very small, cosy and romantic.

Reservation is necessary. Of course they serve other dishes than pizza, but it is the aforementioned you go there for.
The pizzas are very large, but you can take the leftovers in a doggybag and enjoy it for lunch the day after.

Family run restaurant with very helpful staff, you always feel welcome here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BigBen62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liten Krog also viewed

Are, Jamtland County
 
Are, Jamtland County
 

Been to Liten Krog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing