We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for family holidays; not for those looking for peace and quietness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copperhill Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Are
Certificate of Excellence
Espoo, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for family holidays; not for those looking for peace and quietness”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Modern architecture & design furniture, nested high on the mountain, with access to slopes from the main entrace, with the view to Åre from the pool in their spa... I had this idea of perfect escape from the busy city life.... Peace & quietness in the nature.

Then comes the reality. This is the top holiday resort for the Swedish families. Many of these are not like your average Central European kids who know how to behave.. Think of Astrid Lindgren's Pippi or Emil instead. Combined with church-like architecture, the screams from 1st floor can be heard in your 5th floor room, in spa and during your gourmet breakfast and expensive dinner you miss your ear plugs. Quietness is possible only if you come in outside normal service hours. Your room gets quiet after 8 pm when the spa closes.
And by the way, if you forget your table reservation, dinner is hamburgers, pizza or room service... So live by the clock. And you have no place to hide as you are in the middle of nowhere.. unless you pay exorbitant fees to local taxi driver.

But if you are looking for a family holiday, look no futher. This is a fantastic hotel, and you don't need to worry that your kids would stand out.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TJV_Fin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InformationDpt, Public Relations Manager at Copperhill Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear TJV_Fin
During Christmas break, the February school breaks and Easter break, we are a popular choice for families looking for a comfortable place to stay with easy access to the slopes. Sometimes we fail in communicating the Swedish holiday patterns to guests from abroad who travel without children, and on occasion we see a clash such as your experience. We can only promise to try harder to communicate better at the stage of booking.

While on site, in each room we have a list of little tips that will guide couples looking for a quiet stay during the busies times of year. For example, we have spa hours when kids are not allowed, we offer room service breakfast and a private spa area. Our staff is standing by to do all they can to make your stay the best possible experience, if you let them know then and there your concerns. In retrospect, it's hard for us to do anything.

Your main concern however, we have absolutely no control over: the behavior of specific children, or in your experience, all Swedish children as a group. We are sorry that your stay was overshadowed by this. We do hope you find your way up here again. Call us first, and we'll help you find the dates that will suit your needs the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    143
    47
    15
    5
See reviews for
276
171
10
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

We certainly enjoyed our visit to this hotel, but there are some 'hick ups'. We never had a more warmly welcome as here at the Copperhill reception. The breakfast is more than fabulous, just the service at the breakfast was the worst of our hotel visit. Three ladies were there every morning... Basicly looking bored and wondering what to do. Well, there was enough to be done. Cleaning personel very kind and overall we are satisfied with the cleaning but it would be good to add a little more, esp when it comes to dust everywhere. The spa is more than fantastic and kids-free hours really appreciated. Kerstin Florian products at the showers! Here, too, the cleaning could be better. The floors where slippery with soap rests and the last day of our visit we had to ask to clean as the dirt in the doorway to the sauna was still there. The rooms are great, the beds fantastic and the luxury of a double (?) mega shower... Fantastic. The building in itself is spectacular and just sitting in the lounge and reading or just looking around is a treat (enjoying the local cheese and meat platter till exemple!). For a hotel at this price range we had expected the road and parking a bit better taken care of. All in all we had a marvellous stay at this hotel, but there certainly are (easy) possibilities for improvements.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Spader2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InformationDpt, Public Relations Manager at Copperhill Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Spader2
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your concerns regarding breakfast staff and room cleaning have been brought to the attention of the managers in question. We are sorry to hear about these details and apologize for the inconvenience and annoyance they may have caused during your stay. Your observations help us improve in all regards, and again we thank you for sharing. We hope you decide to come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We just returned from a week Copperhill Mountain Lodge. Overall it was a great experience with most ‘ups’ and a few ‘downs’

First let me start with the ‘ups’
Beautiful design hotel, with ‘Copper’ details every where. Wonderful relaxing lounge. Lovely spacey rooms. Very comfy soft beds. Great bathroom with a double rain shower. We really loved the Spa which was very luxurious. Sauna’s with views of the slopes, best view ever. We had the half board option and loved the food and service in the restaurant was perfect.
The service of SkiStar where we rented our equipment was great. And there is nothing better than the Ski in – Ski out direct from and to the main slopes.
Also the ladies from reception where very friendly and helpful in arranging all kinds of excursions.

The downside
First of all; we love children. And we are a big supporter of ‘Child Friendliness’. What we really didn’t like was the breakfast where all children (unwashed, still in there pyjama’s, and most of them younger then 6 years old) touched all the food and fruit, put it back down, pick up something else, put it back down. Not really (or rather.. really not) hygienic. Let parents pick the food for there children. But don’t let the children touch al the breads/foods/fruit and juices!!!

The other little downside was a big convention on Thursday and Friday of more than 300 people who immediately took over the whole hotel. Because of that the lounge was crowded with ‘men in suits’ and there was no space left if you were not part of that group those nights. You kind of had to stay in your room all night. Dinner on Thursday was in a ‘tucked away, low profile restaurant in the basement’, where we could eat a pizza…..

Tip for the SPA lovers, please go after 18:00 when there are no children allowed in the spa otherwise you will have a ‘public pool during high season’ experience in stead of a relaxing moment.


All in all we think we know we will be going back to this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mascha v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InformationDpt, Public Relations Manager at Copperhill Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Hi Mascha v -
Thank you for your feedback and we are so happy you had a good stay with us. Regarding your downside comments:

During the winter breaks in February and weekends throughout the ski season, we are a popular choice for families due to our convenient ski in/out location and spacious rooms and common areas. We put in a great effort however, to make a stay equally fantastic for couples like you two and for conference groups. This sometimes is a challenge.
Regarding the breakfasts you mentioned, I can only apologize on behalf of the specific parents and children you mentioned. I'm glad you discovered the adults-only spa hours, and would like to invite you on your next stay to utilize our room service breakfast, which is quite amazing and completely free from children! In each room at Copperhill Mountain Lodge, we have a few additional tips on how to maximize the enjoyment during your stay.
Regarding the group of 300, I am sorry to hear you felt there was nowhere to go. On occasions like this, I usually recommend the lounge areas on level 3,4 and 5. Don't be afraid to raise these kinds of concerns with the front desk staff onsite: they are happy to help and offer a solution.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris and Palm Beach
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Why would you go skiing in Sweden and not the Alps?

1) Best snow in December
2) Everyone speaks English and is helpful
3) Copperhill Mountain Lodge

Our trip to Copperhill was very good in all respects with a few minor issues. We stayed over NYE for a week. The hotel itself is beautiful and well designed. The rooms are beautiful as well, but quite small even by European standards. The main lobby is huge, and quite stunning. However it does get very busy when the hotel is full. Essentially you have to quit skiing early to have any hope of finding a couch to sit on.

As noted in other reviews, the hotel is ski in/ski out, serviced by its own pony lift. This was one thing we noticed about the entire resort... Most of the lifts are either t-bars or pony lifts. We were told this is because the chair lifts do not function below -25/-30 (Seriously, who really wants to be skiing in that kind of cold?)

The hotel is NOT well connected to the town, and is NOT easy to access from the nearby airports. An expensive taxi is required to get down to town and back, and to and from the bus stop from the airport. There is really no reason not to provide a free shuttle. The hotel does provide an intermittent shuttle to the other Are base areas, but not to the town...???

Lastly, the hotel is VERY family oriented with many children during holidays. If I had children, I would think it was great. As a couple it was a bit much.

Overall, I would go again for the great food which I forgot to mention, great skiing, great design, and great swedish hospitality))

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atehec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InformationDpt, Informationsansvarig at Copperhill Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Atehec
Thank you for taking the time to review Copperhill Mountain Lodge! We appreciate your feedback. Some of the issues you point out, we simply cannot do much about: we are a hotel with 420 beds, and when we are full (like NYE holiday), that means 420 guests. Some of them will be children, especially during the holidays. There are always places you can escape within the hotel, if you find it crowded. Using the spa during the "no-kids" hours during holidays, for example. Our location at the top of the hill with panoramic views of Åre, the mountains and the lake, we also cannot change. For those not wishing to use our ski-in/ski-out access, we do provide a free shuttle to/from the ski areas at Björnen and Åre town daily between 9.15 am and 4 pm. For all other times of the day, we have a contract with one of the local taxi companies at SEK250 to/from town. Again, thank you for recommending us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We were offered a family room and expected simple temporary spare beds in a large room. None the case here. Absolutely perfect room for our famliy weekend retreat.

A spacious room - or rather a suite - with one bedroom with bunkbed for the kids, one room with king size bed for the parents. Small livingroom with flatscreen TV and full size - however small - kitchen with cutlery, dishes, glasses inkluding dishwasher and fridge as well. Large bathroom and spacious double shower and separate room toilet.
Elaborate breakfast - smørgåsbord - breakfast with hot and cold foods. Kids loved the mini pancakes.
We could make our own food for dinner, but preferred the restaurant that impressed all the way. Also the kids loved the food.

No noise from the party outside our room reached the bedrooms.

Perfect skiing conditions for kids. Our girls aged 4 and 7 years loved the slopes, and for the first time - the four year old did slalom completely by herself in the kid slopes in Björnen.

Recommended for families with small kids.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claus O o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InformationDpt, Informationsansvarig at Copperhill Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Claus O -
Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We are so happy to hear about your successful family trip - not to mention the slalom debut of your youngest girl. It's very valuable for us to hear about each personal experience at Copperhill Mountain Lodge. Your elaborate description of the Brass Suite will also help other guests learn what to expect from us. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This was our third visit to Copperhill, always with parents and two children, and it surpassed our already high expectations as we'd enjoyed it immensely the last two times as well.

It's a very well thought-out resort, with ski store and rentals directly downstairs from the lobby and true ski-in ski-out access to the slopes (although for true beginners - I speak from experience two years ago - it's better to take the hotel bus down to the green slopes rather than ski down on the intermediate slope that you can access directly out the door from ski shop). As one example of the built-in thoughtfulness, every ski locker has heated air pegs for ski boots so that every time you put your boots on they're both warm and dry - a real treat in the morning or after lunch break, say. That kind of thinking continues everywhere - the excellent spa with pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, saunas, for example, or touches like the bunk bed alcove in the Copper suites for kids that can be closed off with sliding door so parents (if they're not absolutely knackered from the day of skiing) can enjoy the suite or infloor heating in the superbly comfortable bathroom and showers.

The coup de grace this year for our daughters was the fish pedicure - over the top to my mind, but delightful to them and strangely inexpensive too.

The buffet breakfast (included in our rate) was lovely, although much more peaceful early in the morning than later on, and we've done both full-board and half-board options. For the first, the food at either fireside lounge or formal restaurant was at a very high standard, but we quite honestly enjoyed the relaxed and casual nature of dining ensuite with the fully equipped (only two burner induction stove-top, but enough) kitchenette. The local grocery stores (one at bottom of mountain from Copperhill, which you will need a car to access, and Co-op or larger ICA slightly farther away in town) are great, and significantly less expensive than the admittedly gourmet cuisine of Niesti (the formal restaurant) or the lounge.

All in all, we couldn't rate Copperhill more highly. I would fail in reviewing if I didn't mention the wonderfully helpful staff, either at desk, restaurant, spa, or Skistar ski shop. We're not high maintenance travellers, but whenever we did need something, we were taken care of immediately and so pleasantly it felt like home. I guess that must be evident for such dedicated repeat customers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InformationDpt, Informationsansvarig at Copperhill Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Hi John and family!
We are so happy to read your wonderful review. Seeing guests return for a third stay really is a compliment in itself, and hearing about the details of your trip make us truly proud. I will make sure to share your praise with the staff on site. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope you decide to make this trip a tradition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My family stayed at Copperhill Mountain Lodge Feburary 12-16 2012. What a great stay indeed! This is a top notch international grade hotell. Welcoming staf with a service attitude not normally found in Sweden. Beautiful design, nice family rooms for four, great breakfast and quality cuisine. But the single best thing with Copperhill is its spa. How can we ever go skiing in the future without relaxing afterwards in a luxury spa? Impossible. We loved every minute. Go there. We will. Again and again. Henrik Andersson with family.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swedensara, Informationsansvarig at Copperhill Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Henrik - Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review – and for all the beautiful words. You almost make us blush :-)
We hope see you again and again. Welcome back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Are
3.4 mi away
Holiday Club Are
Holiday Club Are
#2 of 9 in Are
402 reviews
3.1 mi away
Tott Hotel Are
Tott Hotel Are
#3 of 9 in Are
305 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fjallgarden Hotel
Fjallgarden Hotel
#4 of 9 in Are
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Aregarden
Hotel Aregarden
#5 of 9 in Are
94 reviews
3.2 mi away
Granen Hotel
Granen Hotel
#6 of 9 in Are
35 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ristafallet Camping
Ristafallet Camping
#2 of 4 in Undersaker
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copperhill Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copperhill Mountain Lodge

Property: Copperhill Mountain Lodge
Address: Are Bjornen | Box 19, Are 830 13, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Jamtland and Harjedalen > Jamtland County > Are
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Are
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Copperhill Mountain Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The site is stunning, perched on the tree line, high on the mountain and commanding magnificent views. The mountain resort hotel has 112 suites and hotel rooms, conference capacity for 600 people, restaurants, bars, spa, and its own ski lift with access to Are's large piste system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Copperhill Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copperhill Mountain Hotel Are

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing