We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copperhill Mountain Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Millestgarden Eco Lodge Are AB(Duved)(Great Value!)
$78
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duveds Semesterby(Duved)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
GastHuset I Are(Are)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
704 results
Traveler rating
462
165
55
17
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
462
165
55
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfantastic hotelcopper hillgames roomspa areahalf boardschool holidaysgreat spadouble showerhotel busbronze roomquality of foodmain coursesmall kidsrelaxing stayfive star hotelthe outdoor hot tubwould love to go back
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 704 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Why would you go skiing in Sweden and not the Alps?

1) Best snow in December
2) Everyone speaks English and is helpful
3) Copperhill Mountain Lodge

Our trip to Copperhill was very good in all respects with a few minor issues. We stayed over NYE for a week. The hotel itself is beautiful and well designed. The rooms are beautiful as well, but quite small even by European standards. The main lobby is huge, and quite stunning. However it does get very busy when the hotel is full. Essentially you have to quit skiing early to have any hope of finding a couch to sit on.

As noted in other reviews, the hotel is ski in/ski out, serviced by its own pony lift. This was one thing we noticed about the entire resort... Most of the lifts are either t-bars or pony lifts. We were told this is because the chair lifts do not function below -25/-30 (Seriously, who really wants to be skiing in that kind of cold?)

The hotel is NOT well connected to the town, and is NOT easy to access from the nearby airports. An expensive taxi is required to get down to town and back, and to and from the bus stop from the airport. There is really no reason not to provide a free shuttle. The hotel does provide an intermittent shuttle to the other Are base areas, but not to the town...???

Lastly, the hotel is VERY family oriented with many children during holidays. If I had children, I would think it was great. As a couple it was a bit much.

Overall, I would go again for the great food which I forgot to mention, great skiing, great design, and great swedish hospitality))

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atehec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InformationDpt, Informationsansvarig at Copperhill Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Dear Atehec
Thank you for taking the time to review Copperhill Mountain Lodge! We appreciate your feedback. Some of the issues you point out, we simply cannot do much about: we are a hotel with 420 beds, and when we are full (like NYE holiday), that means 420 guests. Some of them will be children, especially during the holidays. There are always places you can escape within the hotel, if you find it crowded. Using the spa during the "no-kids" hours during holidays, for example. Our location at the top of the hill with panoramic views of Åre, the mountains and the lake, we also cannot change. For those not wishing to use our ski-in/ski-out access, we do provide a free shuttle to/from the ski areas at Björnen and Åre town daily between 9.15 am and 4 pm. For all other times of the day, we have a contract with one of the local taxi companies at SEK250 to/from town. Again, thank you for recommending us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We were offered a family room and expected simple temporary spare beds in a large room. None the case here. Absolutely perfect room for our famliy weekend retreat.

A spacious room - or rather a suite - with one bedroom with bunkbed for the kids, one room with king size bed for the parents. Small livingroom with flatscreen TV and full size - however small - kitchen with cutlery, dishes, glasses inkluding dishwasher and fridge as well. Large bathroom and spacious double shower and separate room toilet.
Elaborate breakfast - smørgåsbord - breakfast with hot and cold foods. Kids loved the mini pancakes.
We could make our own food for dinner, but preferred the restaurant that impressed all the way. Also the kids loved the food.

No noise from the party outside our room reached the bedrooms.

Perfect skiing conditions for kids. Our girls aged 4 and 7 years loved the slopes, and for the first time - the four year old did slalom completely by herself in the kid slopes in Björnen.

Recommended for families with small kids.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claus O o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InformationDpt, Informationsansvarig at Copperhill Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Dear Claus O -
Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We are so happy to hear about your successful family trip - not to mention the slalom debut of your youngest girl. It's very valuable for us to hear about each personal experience at Copperhill Mountain Lodge. Your elaborate description of the Brass Suite will also help other guests learn what to expect from us. Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This was our third visit to Copperhill, always with parents and two children, and it surpassed our already high expectations as we'd enjoyed it immensely the last two times as well.

It's a very well thought-out resort, with ski store and rentals directly downstairs from the lobby and true ski-in ski-out access to the slopes (although for true beginners - I speak from experience two years ago - it's better to take the hotel bus down to the green slopes rather than ski down on the intermediate slope that you can access directly out the door from ski shop). As one example of the built-in thoughtfulness, every ski locker has heated air pegs for ski boots so that every time you put your boots on they're both warm and dry - a real treat in the morning or after lunch break, say. That kind of thinking continues everywhere - the excellent spa with pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, saunas, for example, or touches like the bunk bed alcove in the Copper suites for kids that can be closed off with sliding door so parents (if they're not absolutely knackered from the day of skiing) can enjoy the suite or infloor heating in the superbly comfortable bathroom and showers.

The coup de grace this year for our daughters was the fish pedicure - over the top to my mind, but delightful to them and strangely inexpensive too.

The buffet breakfast (included in our rate) was lovely, although much more peaceful early in the morning than later on, and we've done both full-board and half-board options. For the first, the food at either fireside lounge or formal restaurant was at a very high standard, but we quite honestly enjoyed the relaxed and casual nature of dining ensuite with the fully equipped (only two burner induction stove-top, but enough) kitchenette. The local grocery stores (one at bottom of mountain from Copperhill, which you will need a car to access, and Co-op or larger ICA slightly farther away in town) are great, and significantly less expensive than the admittedly gourmet cuisine of Niesti (the formal restaurant) or the lounge.

All in all, we couldn't rate Copperhill more highly. I would fail in reviewing if I didn't mention the wonderfully helpful staff, either at desk, restaurant, spa, or Skistar ski shop. We're not high maintenance travellers, but whenever we did need something, we were taken care of immediately and so pleasantly it felt like home. I guess that must be evident for such dedicated repeat customers.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InformationDpt, Informationsansvarig at Copperhill Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Hi John and family!
We are so happy to read your wonderful review. Seeing guests return for a third stay really is a compliment in itself, and hearing about the details of your trip make us truly proud. I will make sure to share your praise with the staff on site. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope you decide to make this trip a tradition!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My family stayed at Copperhill Mountain Lodge Feburary 12-16 2012. What a great stay indeed! This is a top notch international grade hotell. Welcoming staf with a service attitude not normally found in Sweden. Beautiful design, nice family rooms for four, great breakfast and quality cuisine. But the single best thing with Copperhill is its spa. How can we ever go skiing in the future without relaxing afterwards in a luxury spa? Impossible. We loved every minute. Go there. We will. Again and again. Henrik Andersson with family.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swedensara, Informationsansvarig at Copperhill Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Dear Henrik - Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review – and for all the beautiful words. You almost make us blush :-)
We hope see you again and again. Welcome back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in a Brass suite during our vacation in january 2012. We were very impressed with the decor and the nice feel of the hotel. This place is stunning, and the decoration inspirational.

Also the breakfast is very nice, both for kids and adults. We really enjoyed that. The bread is fantastic.

However - the staff were not very serviceminded, and there was none of that "little extra" which usually is standard at a 5-star hotel. Also we had problems in one of the toilets of the suite. Someone clearly had been sick in there, and the there hadn't been cleaned proberly, so the smell was awfull. Despite of several calls to the reception, and visits from the cleaning staff, the smell stayed in the room for the duration of our stay. In no way where we compensated for this inconvienience.

Also we found it strange, that there was no "info-book" in the room, explaining about the little things, such as how to call the reception. No information about roomservice (dont even know if they have it), no information about the hotel in general.

When we spoke to the staff at the reception desk, they seemed like they did not really care if we could use the information or not. We had problems with the parking facillities - but was met with a ignorant behavior, when we spoke to the staff.

The hotel still gets 3 stars for the decor, the surrondings and the atmosphere, wich is very nice - so if you like stunning surrondings and can manage without the service, I can certainly recommend Copperhill mountain lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank appelline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swedensara, Informationsansvarig at Copperhill Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Dear appeline,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review - your comments help us to improve. We are happy that you enjoyed the hotel décor and our breakfast, but apologize for the lacking service that you experienced.

Of course there should have been an info book in your room. We will improve our routines to make sure the info book is not missing in any room.

And of course you should feel that you are met with interest and engagement from every member of the staff, at every time. Obviously this time we failed and we are very sorry for that. We will work even harder with our service training programme to accomplish this.

Best of wishes - and welcome back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews