We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best locations in Åre.”
Review of Hotel Aregarden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aregarden
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Are
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the best locations in Åre.”
Reviewed February 27, 2011

As a first time visitor in Åre I chose Åregården - one, if not the oldest hotels in Åre located just in the city center close the the ski lifts. The staff is very good and helped us with all from booking taxis to nice restaurants. Åregården is runned by the same owners as Diplomat Hotel in Stockholm - a superb hotel.

The lounge areas at Åregården are very beautiful and you get that warm rustic feeling as in The Alps, and after a day of skiing you can relax with a hot bevarage from the bar and read your book.

The downside for our experience was the double room we had which was disconnected from all elegant style in the rest of the hotel. I'm not talking about personal taste. The old worn out bathroom was equipped with loose shower cabin, like in a trashy basement (somewhere). An old hairdryer was mounted on the wall and looked like a mix between an elephant trunk and a medical tool and was so weak it couldn't even dry my short hair under 5 minutes. The room in this four star hotel lacked a minibar! When we arrived late in the evening, the bar was closed, and you could just buy candy and chips at the front desk. Some rickety wardrobes (Ikea?) was placed in the room and was just the beginning of bad detailing.

I think this is a hotel who have a lot of regulars, who don't bother about the quality of the rooms as part of an experience you pay for - and the fact that you can't order a espresso based coffee for breakfast. We just expected more. It is a three star hotel - just so you know!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lugageboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    27
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
29
35
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We went to Are with 3 children aged 6-12yrs on 26th Dec 2010 for a week and stayed at the Aregardarma apartments behind the Diplomat hotel. It was cold: take one or two base layers for everyone: minus 10-25 is common. It's colder when windy, and it is often windy at this time of year. There is 4-5 hrs of light every day so you tend to ski after breakfast and stop for regular coffees rather than long lunch until 3pm when lifts shut. There is an old furnicular about 5-10 mins walk from apartment which runs into the main slopes. There are free warm huts at many " junctions": they have microwaves/ loos/basins/cafe and many tables and chairs etc for everyone to use and to warm up. Are is very Swedish and pretty as a village: there is smart shopping and dining and partying.

There were no washing facilities even in the hotel which was a pain when one of the chidlren had a vomiting bug...

Pistes:
Piste map is poor but Neilson reps were great. There are 3 ski-ing areas: Bjornen for families; Duved for quieter red runs; Are busier and has world cup runs to boot. Lots of blue and red slopes generally. Can get v icy at this time of year. Piste blowers put machine made snow over pistes. From Are you get ski bus at 8.20am to Rodkullen for ski school 9.30-11am. There are alot of T bar lifts which the 6 yr old struggled with at first. There is night ski-ing at one of the three different areas Monday - Friday 6-8pm.

Ski School:
The ski school is 90 mins a day for 5 of the 6 days and excellent: good quality tuition and v. approachable instructors. None of the French poseurs who tell you they could have been ski-ing for France if they weren't teaching you!

Apartments:
Ikea quality; no kettle or hairdryer but dishwasher and coffee machine? Apartment did not match description as we had 4 bunks in one room for children and 2 bunks off main room for us (husband is over 6 foot!). Bit noisy over New Year. However fabulous and gd value supermarket over the road and lots of great restaurants within 5 mins walk. You have use of the spa pool and sauna (v swish:pool is hotel size, not swimming pool size). Spa is expensive. As days are shorter, we found it better to have an apartment to chill out in when there are 5 of you, rather than being cramped in a chalet with others or in a hotel room. There is Swedish TV which often has films/Simpsons etc in English with sub titles. There was a ski hut outside the front door. The front door was so swollen by the cold that at times only my husband had the strength to open or close it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

We had our wedding at Åregården and spent a wonderful extended weekend in this cozy mountain gettaway. The staff were fantastic and the hotel as such holds a very nice atmosphere, both in terms of deco and the relaxed traditional mountain lodge feeling that is coposed for all senses, very nice indeed.

The location right in the center of Åre couldn't be better and the house has been around for as long as people have been traveling to Åre for fresh mountain air and skiing. This is more of a relaxed place for people looking for relaxation or romance, not quite the place for hipsters or adventure seekers - but they will be kept away by a quite steep pricelist.

The rooms are cozy and fit the style quite well, but in comparison to the cost they are really quite tired and not up to what you would expect. Everything else is indeed very nice.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Sigurdson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2010

The hotel was the first hotel to be built in Are, it is quaint with a lot of decorative woodwork. The rooms were quite well appointed altought depending where you are put in the Hotel room sizes could vary quite a bit.
Staff were polite and helpful, and spoke very good English.
Breakfast was of the buffet type with plenty of choice, including eggs and bacon.Dinner (we went with Neilsons) was a two course affair with no choice what so ever, so eat or starve. Portions I found to be on the small side and although well cooked and presented you were left wondering why it took so long sometimes.
The Hotel does have a small indoor pool, children are allowed but if it gets busy with adults or the children become noisey they will be asked to leave, because this pool is mainly for the spa use.
Are is purely a ski resort and a very good one at that. But if you are a none skier then there is little to do unless you are prepared to pay for the outings, which can be costly, especially if you have to arrange for taxis ( £80 each way) it would be cheaper to hire a car for the day (£45).
The ski bus/buses are very good but do take time to read and understand the timetables because you could become stranded by missing the last bus. Buses tended to stop when the lifts stopped. So dont go thinking you can ski until the last lift, because you would have missed the bus and taxis are not cheap. Drink is expensive £5.20 upwards for bottled beer and cider. Try the supermarkets for cans of drink.
Coffe £2.50 upwards depending where you drunk, burger and chips £4 upwards.Although Sweden in general is expensive Are is that bit more because you pay resort prices.
The slopes are good I think some are bashed others not, I could be wrong on this, but there are enough runs of diffferent degrees of difficulty to keep most people happy. It would help to identifie the runs if they numbered them instead of all being in Swedish( I know you should expect this but numbering would help).
All in all Are is a good ski resort but very expensive and for me personally I could not help thinking that the Swedes would like to keep this resort for themselves and not become a tourist haven.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank offskigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2008

This was a lovely hotel with excellent facilities, great location (for the skliing and nightlife/daylife) slap bang under the main ski lifts and right in the middle of town. Friendly and helpful staff, who spoke embarassingly good English.
The draw back for most would be that the arrangements for evening meals was very early evening (18:00-18:30) which didn't suit us at times, one evening dring our stay was a buffet, but generally for half board and evening meal there was no choice of meal available. Breakfasts, I have to say were fantastic and lots of choice, I was full up for the rest of the day. Although the sittings in the evening were strange, the standard of food was very good.
Skiing in Are is great, it would have to be as the world championships were held there in 2007. I had to walk down that run. generally enough runs for intermediates and beginners and plenty of risky runs for the advance skier. Great shutle bus service that came with the ski pass and if you really wanted you could ski right over to the other resorts. The resort stretches 10km along a frozen lake and enjoys a beautiful setting amid low sweeping mountains and snow-covered forests. The resort has four small centres and ski areas. Situated at the opposite end of the ski area to Årebjörnen, Duved is a quiet centre offering uncrowded slopes served by the ski bus which connects Åre and Årebjörnen ski areas (15-20 min ride to Åre village).
I have to say I loved my time in Are and in the hotel. Skiing will never be the same in Europe for me.

  • Liked — close proximity to the ski lifts and entertainment
  • Disliked — early evening sittings of dinner
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KimberleyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Are hotels
3.2 mi away
Copperhill Mountain Lodge
0.5 mi away
Fjallgarden Hotel
Fjallgarden Hotel
#4 of 9 in Are
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Club Are
Holiday Club Are
#3 of 9 in Are
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Granen Hotel
Granen Hotel
#6 of 9 in Are
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tott Hotel Are
Tott Hotel Are
#2 of 9 in Are
304 reviews
5.1 mi away
Renen Duved
Renen Duved
#1 of 2 in Duved
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aregarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aregarden

Property: Hotel Aregarden
Address: 81 Aarevaegen, Are 830 13, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Jamtland and Harjedalen > Jamtland County > Are
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Are
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Aregarden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern and exclusive mountain hotel dating from 1895, in the heart of Are. It has 54 rooms, 3 apartment suites, a lobby bar, two restaurants and a nightclub. The hotel has extensive views across Lake Åresjön and the mountains, while its unique location means that it is just a stone's throw from slopes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Aregarden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing