We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strongly recommended for church camp and meeting/conference”
Review of The Katerina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Katerina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Batu Pahat
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Strongly recommended for church camp and meeting/conference”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

NUGCF Singapore has our retreat in Hotel Katerina from 6th-8th.December 2012. Overall, the servicing team, the hotel rooms, supporting facilities and the hotel location is perfect and excellent. We strongly recommend the hotel for church camp and meeting/conference

Room Tip: We have all the renovated rooms and it is value for moneyW
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peyren903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    49
    46
    10
    9
See reviews for
44
23
2
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have come to Batu Pahat for business trip the last five years and have the opportunity to stay in a few of the so called good hotel here and I have to said the Katerina Hotel is the top. Thumbs up for the tasteful and comfortable renovated room. In all fairness, we have to compare apple to apple, as there is no hotel comparable to this hotel as the rooms are central a/c and not split a/c, the hotel has gymnasium and swimming pool and it has full staffing to service the guest. Operation cost in such hotel is much, much higher than other budget hotel here and thus their price is consider good

Room Tip: The renovated room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 974doremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batu Gajah, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Quite a moderate hotel but looking around I think maybe this is the best in town. I got a room on the 9th floor and the view facing North was good. I could see as far as Mount Ophir at Johor-Melaka border. Located in front of the hotel is the Store supermarket. Everything is nearby as the hotel is located at the heart of the town. The kids enjoyed the swimming pool and gym. Little variety for breakfast but the nasi lemak was good. Staff are very polite.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors for good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAS3812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The stay at Katerina hotel was generally good and comfortable, but the service provided was really disappointing. My sister held her wedding banquet in this hotel, and reserved 3 rooms with this hotel; but when I requested to use the wifi, I was charged RM10 for one hour! Even 1-2 stars hotels nowadays provide free wifi at common public area. And this wifi is only for one device, that means after I logged on to the internet from my laptop I can't access internet from my mobile phone using the same password, which is rather ridiculous. When I requested to print for one single-page black and white boarding pass, the lobby staff said it will be charged RM2 per page. It is not the RM2 that matters to me, but rather the inflexible service after my huge spending which quite puts me off. I think the staff could be more flexible with their services, sometimes the little favours that you do without 'charging' all the time is what keeps the guests coming back in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kent_chong88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Location is along a main road in BP. Glutton street looks walkable in about 20mins. Rooms need better maintenance. My room had a light not working. Toilet light was hard to find and the switch's button had dropped off. 2 access cards were provided but only 1 worked. Single sofa in room had covers that are ripped. Most frustrating would be that shower gel provided are in packets that are hard to tear open. Breakfast wasn't very good either. On the positive side, the service staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vthc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

As recommended by some of our friends, we went to have a look at this hotel in view of organizing a retreat or short get away for our company.

We had been there few years back, now returning, this hotel has just undergone a make-over. The room is spacious, clean & comfortable. We had a sunrise view from the room we stayed!

There is a small shop selling clothing from infant to adult, price starting from RM6 onwards, you may be surprised to find branded stuff there. Worth making a trip!

We enjoyed our 1 nigth stay with friendly hotel staff, hotel event organiser and hotel manager.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My company have our strategy meeting organized in Hotel Katerina, Batu Pahat. As our management team comprises of 1 Malaysia Team, we choose to find a hotel having an official Jakim Halal Certification and thus our final selection. We are indeed happy that the hotel delivered halal, tasty and delicious food and the servicing is remarkable as the banquet team is efficient and diligent. The hotel rooms been newly renovated is clean, tidy and a class of its own. I have to give them credit for their effort in improving so much and giving value to guest as the swimming pool and gym is a plus.

Room Tip: Choose a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oriental1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batu Pahat hotels
0.6 mi away
Pinetree Hotel
Pinetree Hotel
#5 of 14 in Batu Pahat
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystal Inn
Crystal Inn
#3 of 14 in Batu Pahat
41 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pintar
Hotel Pintar
#2 of 14 in Batu Pahat
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
B&S Boutique Hotel
B&S Boutique Hotel
#10 of 14 in Batu Pahat
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Landmark Hotel
The Landmark Hotel
#8 of 14 in Batu Pahat
48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#12 of 14 in Batu Pahat
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Katerina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Katerina Hotel

Property: The Katerina Hotel
Address: Hotel Katerina No. 8 Jalan Zabedah, Batu Pahat 83000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Batu Pahat District > Batu Pahat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Batu Pahat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Katerina Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Katerina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing