We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best time I had with my family”

Zoo Taiping & Night Safari
Book In Advance
More Info
$77.48*
and up
Private Tour: Orangutan Island, Taiping Zoo and Perak Museum from Penang
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best time I had with my family”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

A must visit place for family with young ones...
Still under some minor upgrading process..
But its 10x better than the condition a year ago...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sri Devasena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    93
    71
    35
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Taiping Zoo”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very nice zoo with a wide range of animals and proper space for them. Green and shaded path. Staff friendly. Nice pictures with pythons around the neck !
2 pleasant hours with friends and kids.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Serge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lush Gem”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

For me the best part of this Zoo was the lush greens that provided good shelter from the hot sun though some enclosures could use a trim. We are able to get a more intimate view of the decent animal collection including mammals large and tiny like marmosets, deers, rhinos, elephants, monkeys, chimpz, orang utans, panthers, goars, wallaby, giraffe, lions, flamingos, swan, camels, ostrich, gharial, sun bear, gibbon and much more... The lion, tiger, elephants, orang utans, panther, sun bear and otters were very attractive and entertaining with their antics. The parrots and monkeys batter gave us a good laugh and the otters were very excited to perform for us. The free roaming monkeys are quite friendly but be careful as they do have a tendency to chase if agitated. There also photo session with pythons MYR 10 a pic. Entry is 12 per adult

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KyraLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Still an enjoyable zoo!”
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Visited the zoo again after many years.

The Zoo is still a great place to visit, animals are active and fun to watch. A few cages no longer have any animal and are not well taken care of.

Be careful of the free roaming monkeys though. Some of them can come chasing after you, especially when they are in a big pack.

Helpful?
2 Thank alfredyeap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The best night safari”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The one n only night safari. My children enjoy it very much. Although overall places was poorly lit but my kids manage to recognize most of the animals. The tram also provided free of charge and will give you a 2.5km all round tour. We even took another round of tram tour. It took about 1/2hr to complete the tour.

Must go for 1st timer.

Only drawback is the toilet charges outside. 30 cents for adult n 20 cents for kids.

Entrance fee for night safari is rm16 adult n rm10 for children(3-12)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Goh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zoo Taiping & Night Safari also viewed

Taiping, Larut, Matang dan Selama District
Taiping, Larut, Matang dan Selama District
 
Taiping, Larut, Matang dan Selama District
Taiping, Larut, Matang dan Selama District
 

Been to Zoo Taiping & Night Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing