We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So shocked when we got into our room (in a good way)”
Review of Hotel Furama

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Taiping
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Furama
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Taiping
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hotel Furama was great. If you need somewhere to stay at this location do not hesitate with this place.

Immacukately clean throughout. amazing beds and stunning room for its price range.

Amenities as described.

Nice interior design with plenty of art pieces to look at.

This place is only a breakfast offering short of a 3 start property.

Room Tip: room 201 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank VoyagerMV1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 59 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

From the outside it looks like a sleazy, cheap hotel but you'll be surprised with the inside. For RM105 on public holiday you get all these:
1) spacious room with comfortable bed
2) practical bathroom
3) lcd tv with 15 Astro channels
4) water dispenser facility, no worry about making drinks
5) no cafe but many food outlets within walking distance
6) most importantly, clean room

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished room (103).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NOR AISAH A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at the Furama last week as part of a cycling trip with 6 guys. Riding from Ipoh, we were a bit tired and upon arriving at the hotel, the pinkish color really put us off. To be fair, we just passed by the grandiose Flemington as we skirted the beautiful Taiping Lake Gardens.

But don't be fooled! The lobby is tastefully decorated and the service was top notch. What stroked me was the generous size of the rooms and they were so squeaky clean. Their Burmese staff obviously take great pride in their work. What was also nice was the cold aircon and complimentary water dispensers on each floor. The free wifi and computer in the lobby added to a great stay.

As cyclists, one of the most important feature in any hotel we stay in is the parking facilities. The Furama comes top here as they allowed us to park in a gated back area which was sheltered. All this plus a very reasonable priced rate of 85RM makes the Furama absolutely worthy of the #1 ranking hotel in Taiping.

Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lovethefold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

stay here one night in early Jun.Very good location, behind the green Taiping Lake, and it is very near to hawker centre. town area in between walking distance. hotel itself from outside look a bit old, but once you entrance, it is suprice. VERY CLEAN. standard room RM 85, superior room RM 106.hotel atmosphere are good. each floor contain owner collection of others country, especially sourvenior from Japan. The counter staffs, MR Foo and Madam Gan, were very friendly in helping and giving information. sure will stay there again if going to Taiping again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wlysolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The hotel outlook is well preserved. As you enter into the lobby you will be amazed the setting, the comfort and friendly staffs. The hotel rooms corridor are newly painted. It's just 3 mins walk to Taiping Lake. A huge food court just right behind this hotel and most area only walking distance away. It is strategically located in the heart of Taiping.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dina626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This was probably the best room we were able to get in this price range in Malaysia. Beautiful ensuite and very spacious, not the typical asian size. We were a bit suprised by the attitude of reception staff when first thing after arrrival (at around 7PM) we were told that we are an hour late and "we should have called" and got a bit of a lecture "but next time, you have to call". Also, they tried to tell us the room rate is actually 102 MYR instead 79 MYR which we had been confirmed before. We did not seem to happy about it so the rate magically changed to 82MYR. However, as said above, we liked the room a lot.The hotel is not far from the Zoo which we recommend (15 minute by foot) and close to the main street.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lenkagrundmanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Got a chance to stay in this hotel after trying to book others failed due to high occupancy.
Private Car Park with Security, Free W'less Internet, Good water pressure for shower. Very Clean, LCD TV, Free coffee & Tea.Walking distance to the Food Court & the Famous Lake Garden.RELA ( Volunteer Police ) roaming & guarding the vacinity at night. RM82 ( Peak Period Rate )this is a really value for money.Very helpful and honest staff to help you around.

Room Tip: As this is a only 3 storey hotel, do choose the lower floor if you have problem climbing the stair a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ZoolSaleem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taiping hotels
0.4 mi away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#2 of 16 in Taiping
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Panorama Taiping
Hotel Panorama Taiping
#9 of 16 in Taiping
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Taiping Perak
Novotel Taiping Perak
#1 of 16 in Taiping
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Legend Inn
Legend Inn
#6 of 16 in Taiping
80 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beverly Hotel
Beverly Hotel
#7 of 16 in Taiping
77 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tune Hotel Taiping
Tune Hotel Taiping
#3 of 16 in Taiping
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Furama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Furama

Address: No.30 Jalan Peng Loong, Taiping 34000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Larut, Matang dan Selama District > Taiping
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Taiping
Number of rooms: 32

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing