We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view”
Review of Flemington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flemington Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Taiping
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was there for one night for a business trip. We have chosen the premier room as the price is still within our limit, hence we had the luxury of the lake view that would not have been available otherwise.

Breakfast was so-so.

Room Tip: Make to ask for the room with lake view - it's worth the extra ringgit you have to pay.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank SaifNahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
There are newer reviews for Flemington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 304 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

The location was excellent, it just right in front of the Lake Garden and about 10 mins walk away from the popular Taiping Zoo and the environment was so "GREEN"!!
The hotel was not big but it was well equipped with swimming pool at the root top with glass panel as a wall which give you the feeling that you are swimming on the air. There was a bar beside the pool called "Sky Bar" which you can enjoy yourself with drink and music. The hotel do have a "Mini" Car Park at the basement which carter for around 30 cars but you need to have good parking skill to parked your car there otherwise you can park your at opposite of the hotel which just at the side of the lake
The staff is very friendly and helpful. The buffer breakfast serve in the hotel was nice. The restaurant in the hotel serving some nice local food for lunch and dinner with reasonable price.
You can rent a bicycle at the hotel to cycling around the lake side.

Room Tip: Room facing the lake
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mervin64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Was there on New Year's eve, what a bargain for a great view of the lake (and also the fireworks at night). I booked a premier room, it was actually very small but I was prepared not to expect much from a small town hotel.

The only hiccup is the very unfriendly front desk stuff, talking to me almost in the tone of anger when I asked about the latest time for checkout. The hotel should really improve on that as that spoils the whole calm experience of Taiping.

Don't bother with the hotel food, just head on to the usual suspects - Yut Sun, Nagaria, Bismillah / Ansari Cendol and many other places suggested by other reviewers.

The lake is also breathtaking, it makes Taiping a simple yet very relaxing place for a break.

Room Tip: book for premier room to get the lake view. if you come in a family you definitely need the suite as...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minmin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The location of this hotel is strategic, facing the lake garden, and about only 5 minutes to zoo taiping and maxwell hill. make sure to be as early as you can if you want to go up the hill as early 7.30AM. Room is okay and breakfast is average as i was there in the last minute decision, so can't choose any other rooms type.
Don't forget to try the yong tau fu at the food court near the fire brigade station. McDonalds also located in the Lake Garden area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mahadzir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had chosen this hotel because of the review on tripadvisor, and it didn't disappoint me. We booked through phone and inside my heart I was prepared that the booking will not be fulfilled as we only had a booking code and doubt the hotel will really reserve for us. That was what had happened to one of my friends when he booked a hotel in KL thru this way. So we had prepared for the worst actually. But when reaching the hotel, I was surprised everything was in order, by given the booking code, the staff immediately check us in and know clearly what exactly we had booked. One nice thing about the hotel is that I had booked is a double room with extra bed on the first night(because that was the only one room left that day) and the next day changed to a suite which is bigger. But after staying the first night, we felt it was too troublesome to change and called the receptionist, she even suggested us to keep to this double room to avoid the trouble to check in and out of the rooms although we had booked the suite already. And they did not charged us for the cancellation of the suite. That was very kind of them.

But one thing was the staff at the reception were not very friendly. Two chinese staffs, one which is a bit plump is okay and helpful, but the other chinese lady who is slimmer, never even want to lift her eyes to look at us, not even a single moment!! Her attitude was cold and proud, no smile at all !!! That kind of attitude is very rude as a front line customer service personnel.

Cafe staffs during breakfast were also rude too but the few waiteress during dinner time was great and helpful. Serve with great smiles. Carpark security guards are courteous too.

The location of the hotel is great as it is near to the Zoo, Maxwell Hill, eateries and many other attractions. The best is that it is just in front of the Taiping Lake which many people went there for jogging and walking in the morning. The scenery around the hotel is fantastic!!!

Room wise, it is quite spacious although mine was the smallest category, with an extra bed it is still very comfortable. But the room can see some wear and tear due to heavy occupancy rate.

Most wonderful place in the hotel is the swimming pool on the roof top. While swimming in the pool, you can at the same time enjoying the nice scenery aound the hotel. Very quiet, not many people using the pool although the hotel was full. After swimming, my hubby ordered beer to quench his thirst, drinking while appreciating the nice scenery ard us, it was awesome!!!

We took our dinner at the hotel cafe the second night. Food is great, price is cheap, lots of varieties. But buffet breakfast is a bit disappointing, as the taste is not nice especially the fried noodles and kway teow. But it's a 3 star hotel, so not much to be expected.

In all, if you want a hotel with great scenery ard it, near to most of the attraction and eateries and the beatoful lake, this is the hotel you should choose. Price wise is reasonable. Just don't expect to get a 5 star service in a 3 star hotel, then you will feel satisfied.

Room Tip: Ask a room facing the lake, that will be very nice!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clanceroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Good hotel, but rooms are a bit small.. the location was good. However the cafe staff are unfriendly and inefficient. The food choice is not good, so DONT eat in the hotel if you can help it... go out for your meals as there are many choices around.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The good is about the town, and the location of the hotel, which is in front of a beautiful lake garden. To enjoy this, do not choose superior room else you will have to have the old worm apartment on the left. Hotel food is OK and very cheap.

Now the not so good. Room is average. The workmanship can be better especially the toilet. But then maybe hard to find experienced contractor in this town? TV channel is limited an no cartoon. Parking is not so convenient. It was big but no lift to lobby, only stairs. So remember to drop off your bags before parking at basement. Oh yeah, on my visit, the bell boy was missing. So hurt my back and it still sore now.

Hard to assess against others as I never stay in other Taiping hotel.

Room Tip: Only 5 floors. There was a Chinese Restaurant on 2nd, which might host some dinners and noises. Choo...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonni3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taiping hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Taiping Perak
Novotel Taiping Perak
#1 of 16 in Taiping
49 reviews
0.8 mi away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#2 of 16 in Taiping
56 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tune Hotel Taiping
Tune Hotel Taiping
#3 of 16 in Taiping
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Beverly Hotel
Beverly Hotel
#8 of 16 in Taiping
75 reviews
0.8 mi away
Legend Inn
Legend Inn
#6 of 16 in Taiping
77 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Taiping Perdana
Hotel Taiping Perdana
#11 of 16 in Taiping
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flemington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flemington Hotel

Address: No. 1, Jalan Samanea Saman, Taiping 34000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Larut, Matang dan Selama District > Taiping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Taiping
Price Range: $33 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flemington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flemington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing