We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alia Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Kripis Studio(Pefkohori)(Great Value!)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ammon Garden(Pefkohori)
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Aloni(Pefkohori)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kopsi's Hotel(Pefkohori)(Great Value!)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$88
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kopana Resort(Pefkohori)(Great Value!)
$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bungalow White Apartments & Suites(Pefkohori)(Great Value!)
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flegra Beach Boutique Apartments(Pefkohori)(Great Value!)
$78
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kassandra Village Resort(Pefkohori)
$281
$163
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (650)
Filter reviews
651 results
Traveler rating
340
179
79
33
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
179
79
33
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolgolf buggypool barjunior suitehalf boardsaladshuttle busfantastic viewssteep hilla la carte restaurantguest relationswelcome drinklots of varietythe general managerall inclusive drinkslocal villagewalk up
Filter
Updating list...
422 - 427 of 651 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2008

We went to the Alia Palace in July 2008 with Thomas Cook for our wedding. We booked a 2 week stay and decided to splash out in one of the 8 executive villas they have.
What can I tell you, this is the best hotel the staff are so friendly and attentive, nothing is to much trouble, and always have a smile on their faces.
The villa is massive. It has a large lounge area, with fridge, TV, DVD player that also plays CD’s. A nice size bedroom with a safe. The bathroom has the biggest Jacuzzi I’ve ever seen, that also has a shower attachment over head, there is separate shower and ofcourse a toilet. The villa also has it’s own swimming pool, which is a lovely size, and nice wooden sun loungers with comfy cushions. The villa was cleaned everyday as was the pool.
The main hotel is fantastic. Breakfast was full of options, offering freshly cooked pancakes & omelettes, fresh fruit, yoghurt, bacon, eggs, cereals etc. You could sit outside & eat looking over the pool if you wanted. The main pool is lovely and is an infinity pool, words just can not describe it!
We went on a bed & breakfast basis, but paid a few times for the BBQ there., It was about 10 euros each and you could eat as much as you want with loads of choices
.
The Wedding:- I was a bit worried about finalising the wedding arrangements in Greece, as to be honest I made contact numerous times with Thomas cook weddings department when in the UK and found it very difficult to get through. |Even when I did, they couldn’t answer my questions & never got back to me!
Our rep in resort was good but had I known things that I know now, I would have just booked it direct with the Hotel, they were fantastic.
For example. We got married in Hanioti town hall which is about a 5 minute cab ride away and costs max 10 euros. Thomas cook wanted to charge us 90 euros for a taxi!!!!! We had 34 guests travel to Greece and a return coach journey was nearly |£300, .bearing in mind that the hotel is set up a step hill and a coach couldn’t get all the way up, so we would have had to make alternative arrangements for guests to meet at the bottom.
There was one lady at the hotel who was absolutely fantastic, Johana Moysidis (hope I’ve spelt her name right) We explained to her all about the cost, she arranged for us to have use of the hotels mini bus, and transported all our guests for free, and arranged a taxi at a brilliant price. Johana finalised our wedding meal, arranged for the table decorations, told people at the wedding breakfast where they were sitting and made sure everything was in place. Even up to the point when she finished her days work, she informed us she was leaving and directed us to another staff member should we have any problems. The wedding meal was out of this world, so much choice, with plenty of wine flowing, our own waiting staff and an amazing cake.
I can’t put into words how much we loved getting married in Greece, having our reception at Alia Palace & how wonderful Johana was. For anyone that is thinking of staying at Alia Palace and getting married, I would just book it direct with Johana. You will save a fortune & be guaranteed she will put 200% into making sure its an amazing day!!!. Plus you should book a villa, we recommend no 518, it’s set slightly back from the others
Also, Katerina who is a waitress there, she is definitely worth a mention too, such a lovely friendly person. She even stopped to discuss our wedding day when we bumped into her in the town…
In the main resort Pefkohori, you should eat in restaurant Toroneos. We went there about 5 times, the food is great. In the old town is a little café called Pauls Place, they do great sandwiches & is run by an English guy – funny enough his name is Paul!
Hanioiti is the livelier resort and everything is focused around the main square, it is ok there if want a livelier night out, but the restaurants are more expensive than Pefkohori.

The are only 2 things I will add ……there is a steep climb down and up to the hotel so probably not advisable for people with walking problems, but the views are soooo worth it!
There are taxis in Halkidiki but not as many as I imagined. So needless to say I walked a lot more than sometimes intended, but hey, when the nights are warm and you’ve eaten a lot it was probably a good thing!

Just to add, the greek camera man and video man did a fantastic job...very impressed!

YOU MUST BOOK IT AND STAY AT ALIA PALACE ITS AMAZING!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wishing3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

my partner and i stayed at the alia palace hotel, expecting 5star accommodation, im affraid we were very disapointed, as this hotel to us was a 3star,
we asked for peace and quiet, 5star, at travel agent, this came highly recomended by the assistant,!
room was ok, no kettle!
had to keep bathroom door closed at all times , as sewage drain that was in bathroom , smelt disgusting, also toilet paper had to be put in bin, as sewage piping from hotel would not be able to cope with being put down toilet!
there was a building site close by, that had dogs tied up and barked most of the nights! reccomend taking earplugs.
the appartment blocks are noisey, can hear everything going on in block.
food was ok, we did ask rep about lack of tea facilities in room, of which she replied, they mainly cater for german tourists!
we are not snobs, but we expected better from the hotel.
we made the best of our holiday, but we will not be returning to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lengor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel for two weeks from 25/09/08. Unfortunately we had a week of rain which put the dampers on the start of our holiday. The weather improved after that and turned hot, eventually. We hired a car and during the rainy period and toured the Cassandra peninsula. Most of the small villages around the coast were very quiet and lots of the bars and restaurants closed up for the season. There was not much to see or do. A lot of places were dirty and there was a quite a lot of graffiti everywhere we went.

As for the hotel, it is situated on the top of a steep hill, with fabulous views over Pefkohori from the reception, bar and pool areas. These areas were very well maintained and clean. Behind this complex and going further up a steep hill are four three storey apartment blocks, one behind the other. Each block contained approximately 18 rooms. We were in a ground floor room with a view towards the rear of one of the other blocks. Our room suffered from damp on most of the walls, but much worse where it backed onto the bathroom. This got worse as the weather got better and the damp came out of the wall. The wardrobe smelled and we left the doors open all the time to air it. If we had asked to move I am sure the hotel would have done this, although we could not be bothered to move all our stuff. The room was adequate but lacked tea/coffee making facilities. The TV pictures were poor. The bed linen was changed twice a week. The furniture and room required updating.

The greek hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The greek evening barman/waiter (Bobby) was great fun and always looked after us very well. He made our holiday. Most of the waiting staff were german, as there were150 german guests in the hotel and only 10 UK guests whilst we were there. There were no problems however getting the beds around the pool, and no towels were ever put out. Drinks in the hotel were expensive, but you can save 10% by putting food and drink on your room and paying it off at the end of the night/holiday. There was entertainment on only 3 of the 14 nights we were staying there.

We hired a car locally and went into Hanioiti most evenings to eat. The Rhontiko restaurant, just off the main square was excellent. Give it a try. Maxims restaurant in Pefkohori was also very good. We were told that all the remaining restaurants bars would close on 20 October. Don't go as late as we did.

Overall our impressions of the hotel were good, although the rooms were dissapointing as was Pefkohori.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Four-Go-Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2008

Our stay at the Alia Palace was great, more than we expected!!.
Views from the hotel are breath- taking. We also had the feeling that the hotel staff were there to help make us have a good holiday, which they succeeded in doing. We can only say that anyone who is looking for a peaceful holiday, whith good food, good staff and good service you will not be disappointed.
Susan & Dave.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daddy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

We returned from Halkidiki on August 9th after spending two lovely weeks in Hotel Alia Palace. (four adults and two teenage boys)
It is set out in a lovely hillside position and the view from the hotel is beautiful looking over to the lower town and the sea.The surrounding areas of the hotel is maintained well and a lot of care is given by their gardner and the owner of the hotel( who we did see quite a lot in our second week) the owner is "very hands on" which was also nice to see and he appeared to respect his staff. The hotel staff were exceptional they were polite, helpful and well organised.
The accomodation was very comfortable, lovely to have air conditioning, a fridge where you can store your cans of beer, coke or water. Towels changed every day and beds every other. An advantage was having a hair dryer in the bathroom and it worked very well i did not use my own.
We did not go full board but had breakfast every day, which was always fresh, hot (for those who wanted a cooked one) always fresh fruit and lots of choices and presented well. We stayed at the hotel for two evening meals 12 euros each which was of good value, one being the bbq night and the other an Italian night. You can eat as much as you wish and the food and presentation was of good quality and fresh.
During the day you could have snacks if you wished served between one and three pm and again good value for money.
The pool area was lovely, and the size of the pool was a bonus, there was never a shortage of any beds and again kept very clean and tidy. Great to have a bar in the pool area, yes you are going to pay extra but you are staying in a 4/5 star hotel, very good service and again very polite and friendly. If you charge to your room you have 10% off your bill which we tended to do.
We left the hotel in the evenings, a ten minute walk will bring you to the square, there are a few resturants there, there is a nice atmosphere around there and a lovely church. Walking down to the main sea front is very busy had some lovely meals, if you go u must try Foxys, and im sad to say unable to remember the other names there are a lot of places to eat and drink. Hired a car and went to some other beaches very nice and also drove to the other peninsula which is a must.
I could write more but i would spoil it for you. Go to Alia Palace and you will not be dissapointed you will come home relaxed and rested.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank manicterrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews