We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Alia Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alia Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Pefkohori
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Alia Palace is a nice hotel. Like everyone says not a 5 stars hotel due to some rather small things (condition of the room, poor wi-fi connection, no drinks at dinner, etc.) but the ratio price/quality remains ok. The position to the town was ok for us, a 15 min walk it's a nice thing to do. The personnel is very nice, english speakers and very helpful. The rooms are very well isolated, with side sea view (a very relaxing view).
The view from the pool is also amazing.
I would recommend this hotel if you are not very fastidious. All in one, we had a pleasent stay at Alia.

Room Tip: choose corp A
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dragos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 624 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We arrived around 5 PM and were staying in Double Room with Partial Sea View. Registered at reception. Our room was at highest building block. Nobody suggested a help with luggage from staff. So we were dragging our luggage ourselves. In our block we were on second flour, no elevator. So again dragging and swatting.
Room is nice, but bathroom is to small. Toilet is very difficult to be used if you are higher than 1,80cm or have some more weight than Andrea Lima. You have hair drier. Not enough room inside, tub is old and everything is done with lack of attention to details (connection of sink, toilet, mirror, etc). In bathroom you have a pair of bathrobes and slippers.
The biggest problem in bathroom is drain in the floor, that is dried all the time, and than you have terrible smell from drainage.
Towels are changed every day as are sheets and pillowcases. Cleaning lady is very polite and room is cleaned every day.
Room is nice with LCD TV that plays media files from USB. Furniture is ok but old style. We had a problem with electrical panel with surges. It was making unpleasant nose (like buzzing). Next problem is position of air-condition on the wall. It is positioned in that way that air flow is directed at bed. So no way to sleep with AC switched on! There is electric kettle in room. Walls are not sound proof so at night you can hear your neighbors. And if they are taking shower at 1am, they will wake you up.
The best thing in room is balcony. Fantastic view, and what is strange, even when it is 33C outside, on balcony is 10 degrees cooler. And you have sun at balcony only late afternoon.
There is no working Wi-Fi at hotel. So if you need internet, this hotel is not for you. They have Wi-Fi network, but it is configured by some IT amateur. You can enter any router and even passwords and logins are by manufacturers default! I had to buy 3G Vodafon USB modem or leave hotel, that I almost did (but I managed to share from my laptop internet to other family members).
Breakfast is very good. There is a big variety of choices. If you are little bit late on breakfast it is not problem. Staff is very polite and helpful. Especially staff that is not Greek.
You have very nice pool at your service. Beach towels you can take at reception, and change them whenever you want for 1 euro charge. From pool there is a very nice view and always some wind so you do not fill that you are on stone hill.
We were with car, so there was a parking, but unfortunately not covered, so only 8 places with some artificial shade. The other cars were baking on sun. That is problem as it is not easy to enter the car that is 55C in saloon.
Hotel is 10 minutes from village Pefkohori, if you go down, and some 20 minutes to hotel from village (as it is serious uphill road, not very nice and pleasant when it is dark). We chose to go with car and park in village (and that is not an easy task) and walk 10 minutes to the car on horizontal road rather than to check ability of our hearts after tasty Greek dinners from local restaurants at uphill trainer.
Village Pefkohori is an dirty, and not nice place, overcrowded with tourist, especially on weekend days when lot of Greeks arrive from Thessaloniki.
There is a shuttle bus from hotel to the beach, but we never used it as we were with car and we were visiting beaches further away from village, as village beaches are well overcrowded. Outside the village there are some nice beaches but they are not even close match of Sitonia beaches.
At the and this is an 3 star hotel in which you have 4 star hotel breakfast and 5 star every day cleaning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BojanP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Like most places in Greece, you don't have to be a resident in a hotel to use the pool facilities - all they ask is that you buy drinks or eat there and you are free to use the facilities.

We were staying elsewhere in Pefkohori but it was my husband's birthday and we wanted somewhere with a larger pool, more facilities and with a bit more luxury so we headed to Alia Palace for the day. We arrived early at 9am and had breakfast (12 Euro per head) - it was great, a large buffet selection including a variety of cereals, baked breads, cold meats, cheese, salad, hot food, fruit and juices. The pool is huge with an infinity edge that overlooks Pefkohori on the east coast of the Kassandra Peninsula, so the view is absolutely stunning.

The pool area has a bar that serves a range of drinks - beers, milkshakes, iced coffee etc and they also have a full menu of food for lunch including pizza, burgers, gyros, souvlaki and salads.

A wonderful place to spend the day and we certainly intend to go back. The only loss of a star is for some of the loungers which need some maintenance and the shades are starting to look a bit tired.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superali99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirasgetis, General Manager at Alia Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

In regard to your review for the Alia Palace Hotel, It was a privilege that we had the chance to give you our services and we are happy to hear that your stay & services at our pool was up to the standards you were expecting.
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your afternoon and we hope that you will give us the chance in the future to offer you our full services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was our 5 year back at this hotel and this year we have noticed quite a few changes except for the staff who are friendly and wonderful.previous years it has been adult only which gave you the quiet and peaceful atmosphere to which it states it is,but unfortunately we did not find it so this year,you could not relax on your balcony or around the pool area as it was very noisy due to lots of children,also we requested the same room every year which has never been a problem but this year I phoned the hotel and requested the same room again and was told it wouldn't be a problem but when we arrived a request was not granted even though the room we wanted was empty.the place did not seem to be as pretty and tended to with flowers and pots as previous years,therefor unless it returns to adult only we will not be returning.mother and daughter.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heide M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirasgetis, General Manager at Alia Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

In regard to your review for the Alia Palace Hotel, It was a privilege that we had the chance to give you our services one more time and we regret to hear that your stay with us was not up to the standards you were expecting.
We always take care of our guests and specially our repeated guests which are valuable to us .The requested room we regret but it was not available due to the hotel been fully booked and at the requested room were already guests staying. Also it seems there is a small miss understating with the adults only matter, the hotel was adults only for a period of one season 2012 not before or after.
Though we will consider your comments in our effort to improve further our services and we hope you will give us the chance again in the future to show you our best of services.
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our family (two kids age 5 and 6) spent 10 great days in Alia Palace. When we arrived to the hotel, we were surprised! We paid for a family room but we were offered to move in to the private villa with pool.
Accommodation in private villa is very good, rooms and bathroom are spacious, great for families, but pool at the villa is 1,60 m deep so not suitable for small kids.
Hotel doesn't have children friendly activities.
Car is a must if you plan to go to better beaches. Hotel has their own mini-bus but only to the Pefkohori beach which is crowded.
Great for families with older kids but not suitable for small children.
Breakfast and dinner are very delicious, the staff is very polite and helpful. Our children always found something tasteful to eat although they are very picky.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MajaCyberCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirasgetis, General Manager at Alia Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

In regard to your review for the Alia Palace Hotel, It was a privilege that we had the chance to give you our services and we are happy hear that your stay with us excided the standards you were expecting.
We hope you will give us the chance again in the future to show you our best of services .Thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacations.

Regards

Dimitrios Mirasgetis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

i ll start with the good aspects of the hotel:
Nice pool and view to the village and sea below. Gentle and helpful staff, spacious room.

The negative aspects are the following:

The breakfast is definitely not a 5 star hotel breakfast, but a 3 star at the most. No fresh juices, the nutella was not an original nutella but something else and the cheese and ham for the sandwiches were of low quality. The food of the restaurant was bad as well. "Ntolmadakia" from tin cans and not hand made, turkey fillet half cooked, very simple dishes like spaghetti with cheese, some portions of fruit were rotten and in general not tasty food, which is the least you can expect from a 5 star hotel.

Also at the mini market there were no greek magazines, only foreign ones, which i find it shameful that in my own country and in a greek hotel i can not find a greek magazine...

Also the sun beds at the beach are not free for the customers of the hotel as advertised, since you have to buy obligatory a drink from the beach bar in order to use them...

And last but not least, low internet reception and only in the balcony and also 3 tv-channels in the TV (one greek 2 german) with very low reception quality (mostly waves in the signal).

Thank you, all in all
I would not recommend it especially because of the food quality.

Room Tip: Choose the ones with the view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vasili26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirasgetis, General Manager at Alia Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

In regard to your review for the Alia Palace Hotel, It was a privilege that we had the chance to give you our services and we regret to hear that your stay with us was not up to the standards you were expecting .We need to apologize for the difficulty you had with the Wi-Fi system. The issue is that our local internet provider has problems with the network in Pefkohori due to high demand and we already arranged to change the provider very soon to be back in normal internet operation.
Though your comments about the food are not objective due to the fact that we are an award winning 5 star hotel with the ‘‘certificate of excellence 2013’’,''holiday check best hotel 2011’’,''quality selection 2103 holiday check'', and other awards and all those nominations were made possible due to the reviews of our satisfied guests and we are thankful for that. We will consider your comment about the issue with the Greek newspapers and we need to state that we have an agreement with a beach bar by the beach of Pefkohori were we transfer our guests with our shuttle bus with frequent trips free of charge and the only obligation of the client is to purchase a a bottle of water. There is no charge for the sunbeds and umbrellas.
We hope you will give us the chance in the future to show you our best of services .Thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacations.

Regards

Dimitrios Mirasgetis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and I spent wonderful 12 days in Alia Palace, and we can give a recommendation to anybody who’s looking for quiet, clean and peaceful place for vacation, with high quality service. The staff is very friendly, attentive and helpful, the location is attractive and the whole complex deserves it’s high rating. Special credit goes to the hotel food, both in terms of quality and variety, and it was really hard to resist the extraordinary choice which was offered to the guests. In hotel offer is practically everything necessary for a peaceful vacation and relaxation, but if somebody needs some more action and dynamics he/she can easily walk down to the center of Pefkohori, or take advantage of free transport service organized by the hotel in a pre-defined terms.
The only problem relates to the quality and availability of the WiFi internet connection, which was most of the time unstable and problematic. Too many times we were completely cut off from the network, and connection was good only in hours when the guests supposed to be out. It does not seem like a big failure, but in the modern world when many people run or monitor the bussiness even during their vacation, however, it’s the problem that hotel management could and should resolve as soon as possible.
Except for the aforementioned lack our vacation in Alia Palace deserves the highest recommendations. We managed to fully recharge our batteries in the most beautiful and memorable surroundings.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dragan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirasgetis, General Manager at Alia Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

In regard to your review for the Alia Palace Hotel, It was a privilege that we had the chance to give you our services and we are very happy to hear that your stay with us was up to the standards you were expecting .Though we need to apologize for the difficulty you had with the Wi-Fi system. The issue is that our local internet provider has problems with the network in Pefkohori due to high demand and we already arranged to change the provider soon to be back in normal operation.
We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacations.

regards

Dimitrios Mirasgetis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pefkohori
1.0 mi away
Hotel Flegra Palace
Hotel Flegra Palace
#1 of 18 in Pefkohori
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#2 of 18 in Pefkohori
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Art Boutique Hotel
Art Boutique Hotel
#5 of 18 in Pefkohori
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Sani Beach
Sani Beach
#5 of 6 in Sani
3,242 reviews
6.3 mi away
Miraggio Thermal Spa Resort
0.1 mi away
Kassandra Village Resort
Kassandra Village Resort
#8 of 18 in Pefkohori
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alia Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alia Palace Hotel

Address: Pefkohori 63085, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Pefkohori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pefkohori
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pefkohori
Price Range: $82 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alia Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a tranquil yet stunning location overlooking the Cassandra Gulf. The Alia Palace Hotel is situated in Chalkidiki, close to the village of Pefkohori. The hotel is just 500 meters from shops, restaurants and the nightlife of Pefkohori.The hotel provides a free shuttle bus to town and the beach located 600-800 meters away. After relaxing on the beach or by the pool, treat yourself in the spa. Feel the benefits of a seaweed mask, massage or facial nail treatments, massages. Pilates, yoga and other activities like tennis court e.t.a. are available. Free access to the gym is also available. A mini market with tobacco, newspapers and the necessities you would need during your stay is there for you.Enjoy fine wine and cuisine of authentic Greek flavors at the 2 restaurants offering a la carte or buffet-style dining options. Drinks and coffee are provided at the poolside bar, while a welcome cocktail is offered upon arrival. Greek cooking demonstration and wine testing takes place once a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splitty, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alia Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alia Palace
Alia Palace Pefkohori
Alia Palace Hotel Pefkohori, Halkidiki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing