We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst holiday of our life”
Review of Xenios Port Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xenios Port Marina
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Pefkohori
Certificate of Excellence
Kosice, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The worst holiday of our life”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I would like to warn everybody who booked this hotel!!!Me and my fiancee booked this hotel for 10 days because it looked nice on the pictures. When we came there the reality was absolutely diferrent. The rooms are far from reality on the pics. Not clean, dust on the floor, the bed sheets are horrible with holes. The balcony door and window absolutely no security , anybody can easily open. Prior to our arrival we asked for a security and the hotel director sais the hotel is absolutely safe and they have security guy who goes around. On the 4th day we came at night to our room and we found the bathroom window broken on the wall, we entered a room and we found the room in a big mess. Somebody robbed our room!!! All bags were opened, the thieves searched everything so they must have spend there min 30 min.They took our jewelry, gold, watches , laptop, bags with personal things and the wallet with all the card and my documents with passport and our car keys.!!! They turn all the room upside down and nobody has even noticed!!!The hotel is rotten and we believe that it was cooperation with somebody from the hotel...as they know in which room are expensive things . The same night they robbed also another rich greek client so my greek fiancee and the other greek guy and his wife were the only rooms they were robbed. Hotel was full of russians, serbians, makedonians and nobody touched their rooms. The hotel staff was very arrogant, nobody tried to helped, the director was the most arrogant and useless person we ever talked to. Only thing he said that he can not do nothing.We had damage of 5thousand Euros and all he said was : I can not do nothing.!!! We were scared to stay there 5 minutes as the thieves had our car keys and we had to watch the car all the time.They director wasnt even enough respectful to return us the money for the whole stay at least as a comensation.We had a disastrous holiday so we would like to warn everybody who is thinking to stay in Port Marin, please dont!! Hotel is full of cheap people , there is no safety , anybody can open your room very easily and take anything he wants. The cleaners can not be trusted either.And if somebody robb your rooms or attack you in the night the director will only say I can not do nothing!Please never go to this hotel!!!

Room Tip: no rooms is good there as your life is in danger and there is no safety
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Ivetta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    40
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
46
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I sugest to not book this hotel. We have booked 1 month before from hotels.com and when arrived to Port Marina Hotel they has told that no free room for us and sent us to another hotel.
We have paid 5 nights for All Inclusive and the other hotel was Half Board. After 3 hour calls with hotels.com and Port marina Hotel back and again back hotels.com they offer us to turn back 100 euro.
Definitely if you decide for Port Marina Hotel think twice because you will get another hotel and you need to spent more money that you have provided.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ersi_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at Port Marina hotel two times for last two years. This is hotel very close to Pefkohori, but away from crowd and noise; with large swimming pool, small restaurant, and parking space large enough for all their guests. The price was more than good for high season, and we got studio for three people, large and comfortable, clean bathroom, towels changing every day, and a sea view from our balcony (we were in fourth block). The beach is about 400 m away, but if you have car, you can go every day to another beach, since the best beaches are very close to this hotel. And there is a small nature marina for boats near hotel.
The only thing that could be better is the kitchen equipment - some things are missing, and if you want to prepare food by yourself, maybe you should bring with you frying pan and pot!
Everything else was great, and the staff was very polite and friendly.

Room Tip: If you want sea view, ask for room in fourth or fifth block, on the second floor. Also, room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank edobosarevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

During our recent trip to Halkidiki and Thassos we planned to visit solely Sithonia since most of my friends from Northern Greece warned me that Kassandra is more touristic with lots of people and not nearly as nice beaches as Sithonia. Despite this and since we would make the drive to Halkidiki anyway, we decided to spend just two nights in Kassandra as well before heading to Sithonia so we were looking for a reasonably priced hotel that would also be willing to offer accommodation for such a short period (I experienced 2 cases in studios where the owners declined to offer us their empty studios since they were waiting for somebody that would spend more nights with them). We booked Port Marina online and paid EUR 46 per night for a studio that could sleep 3 persons (one double bed and one single). I consider this to be a really reasonable price especially given the fact that we were right at the peak of the tourist season (second week of August).

In terms of location the hotel is situated not in Pefkohori but in Paliouri, which is a 5 minute drive away from the really busy and noisy Pefkohori, which I really disliked. The hotel is located very close to two very nice beaches the nicest one being the one close to the old Xenia Hotel also mentioned by a previous reviewer.

Check in was very fast and in less than 5 minutes I had filled the registration card and was holding my room key. The two young people on the reception were polite and although we didn’t have much interaction during our stay, they left me with positive impressions.

The hotel is comprised of a number of blocks (I think I counted 5) within a large piece of land and our room was located in the very last one. While our block is far from the reception, we could drive our car and park right outside the block so we didn’t have to carry our luggage all the way there. While I read that there had been problems with finding a parking space, I have to admit that every night I was able to park my car right outside our block even when the hotel seemed to be full.

Our room was really spacious and despite the fact that we had booked a studio for 2, the room had two beds (one single and one double) and even then there was plenty of space to move around the room. The view was amazing since we were on the third floor (no lift) and our reasonably sized balcony was overlooking the sea and the small bay right across the street from the hotel. I was glad to see that the room was very clean although the appliances and the bathroom were rather old and in need of replacement/refurbishment. The kitchenette was equipped with an old and noisy refrigerator as well as an old kitchen hob (didn’t use the latter). The ashtray was missing a piece from its side and despite the fact that we are not smokers and didn’t use it, it really shouldn’t have been there if it had been broken (not that we cared too much to be honest). The air condition was working without any problem during the whole of our stay and so was the TV (old 14 inch one but good enough to watch a bit of the Olympics).

We didn’t use any of the hotel facilities (restaurant or pool) since our breakfast was comprised of freshly baked pies from Lemonis’ Bakery in Pefkohori (probably one of the few positive things to remember from Pefkohori) and we were always heading to the different beaches around.

Overall we didn’t face any problems during our stay and given the very low price that we paid, I think that we got reasonable amount of value from our stay in it. If we had to pay EUR 60-70 for it then we would really have a different opinion and would have gotten 3 points instead of 4.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TreasuryMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Having always in mind the amount of money that you pay for a hotel room, I would say that Port Marina is a very good choice for young travellers or families.

It is situated just outside Pefkohori, very close to the most beautiful beaches of the area.

The rooms are ok, nothing special, but well airconditioned and spacious.

In matters of cleanliness, we received everyday cleaning, and our towels were changed every two days, despite the fact that we left our room very late in the day.

The staff is more fiendly than polite, rather unprofessionals I would say, but not in a rude way.

We did not try breakfast but we had some snacks by the pool and they were tasty and not over priced.

The pool is probably the most impressive advantage of the hotel. It is very big, deep and wide, ideal for swimming, and never crowded!

Overall, I would definately recommend this place for its more than reasonable prices and good amenities, especially to young travellers who seek a place to stay in Chalkidiki.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank abyayala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at Port Marina hotel for a week at the beginning of August.It was chosen based on it's location (some of the best beaches of the area are very close to the hotel).
The rooms are spacious and include a small kitchen that you can use for cooking (stove only - no oven) fridge and basic kitchen utensils are available. A coffee maker would have been nice but was not there. Bathroom was ok with shower cabins with good water pressure. Air conditioning in the room was one of the strong points.From what i noticed all rooms have beautifull sea views over the gulf and balconies with a table and 2 chairs , there is plenty of parking space inside the hotel. The pool is nice and appeared to be clean .
Other than that please mind the following :
1) you need a good pair of legs to get around the hotel, it is buid uphill as connected 2 storey houses , no elevators available.
2)Cleaning needs some attention, they changed the bedsheets after 4 nights (after we threw them on the floor to make a point)
3) Reception desk clerks (at least 3 of them ) are rude and unhelpfull.We had asked for a double room , since they had no avilability they suggested a family room (that cost extra) we said yes , only to find out that family rooms have single beds that you cannot even push together since they are nailed to the floor. When we complained about it the answer was that it is our problem and not theirs as they never promised a double bed (they could have told us when they sold the family room to us - why would a young couple want a family room with single beds????????? ) after a long confrontation they moved us to another room after two nights but we still paid extra for the room we never asked for.
4)The hotel is situated on the main road of Chalkidiki , so there is a lot of traffic.Walking around on that road is not a good idea as there are no pavements.
5)Soundproofing between the rooms is non existant! We could clearly hear the conversations of the people in the next room.
6)You will definately need a car to get around , to and from the hotel. They had a small buss service but we didn't use it so i don't know if it is convenient to get to the beach or the nearby villages.
All in all this is a hotel aimed at families with young children that want a cheap option near the good beaches. I would not suggest it to couples or singles.
Tip: If you are in the area go the beach at the old Xenia hotel , a lot of beach bars but the sea is worth it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Katerina_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pefkohori
2.1 mi away
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#1 of 18 in Pefkohori
343 reviews
2.3 mi away
Alia Palace Hotel
Alia Palace Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pefkohori
554 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Aeollos
Hotel Aeollos
#7 of 18 in Pefkohori
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Art Boutique Hotel
Art Boutique Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pefkohori
93 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hanioti Village Resort
Hanioti Village Resort
#4 of 25 in Hanioti
241 reviews
7.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Polichrono
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xenios Port Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xenios Port Marina

Property: Xenios Port Marina
Address: Odos Pefkohori-Paliouri, Pefkohori 630 85, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Pefkohori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pefkohori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Xenios Port Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy and lovely hotel Xenios Port Marina 3* is located on the first "finger" of Halkidiki peninsula Kassandra, in 105 km from the Airport of Thessaloniki and 3 km from the small village Pefkohori. You will really enjoy the magnificent views from the hotel on the opposite peninsula Sithonia and uninhabited Island Kelifos. The hotel area is 1200 m2 and features, 6 buildings with 90 comfortable rooms with sea and garden Views,a large swimming pool, bars, restaraunts and facilities for children. Find a gorgeous sandy beach with a sun beds and umbrellas just in 300 metres from the hotel and enjoy your summer vacations full of fun and happiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Xenios Port Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xenios Port Marina Pefkohori, Halkidiki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing