We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very genuine and authentic”
Review of Auberge du Grison

Auberge du Grison
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cormatin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge du Grison
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cormatin
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I’ve never stayed the night here since we used to own a house nearby but I’ve had lunch here several times during the last 20 years and I’ve never been disappointed. This is definitely a little hidden gem! Everything is very simple but it’s so genuine and sincere. The staff serving is a bit severe but not unfriendly. The food is basic and well prepared. There are several prepared menus to choose from and at least the cheapest is well worth it’s price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nilla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 33 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2012

I was invited to a wedding in Chapaize (beautiful roman church) near Tournus. Looking for a nearby hotel, I found the Auberge du Grison on, where else ? Tripadvisor. It was a couple of miles away from Chapaize and quite inexpensive.
The hotel is located in a small hamlet typical of Southern Burgundy, near Tournus (wonderful abbey, must see) and Taizé (another must-do if you are a christian, with a very moving Sunday service).
There are 4 or 5 rooms in the hotel. Mine was very plain, clean, quiet and comfortable. Nothing fancy, but at 35 Euros a night, it was exactly what I wanted. Throw in another 8 euros, and I get a perfect breakfast... Mme Large, the owner, was quite charming. I had driven a long way and arrived at 2PM. Too late for lunch, but I was starving: Mme Large prepared a platter of fromages de chêvre with a glass of the local Lugny, one of the Macon area's amazing vineyards, and charged me 7 euros. Life is good sometimes... I did not have lunch or dinner at the Auberge, and I am sorry I did not: that menu definitely called to my epicurian tendencies.

So... if you want to explore the Macon wine country, be a pilgrim to Taizé without sleeping in a wet tent, visit nearby Cluny or just enjoy the beautiful countryside of Burgundy, all without mortgaging the house, l'Auberge du Grison should keep you happy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewportEnzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

I know this is a 7 year old review, however I have just looked online at their page (only in French) and it looks like the same chef and the same lady who ran the hotel.
First things first - this is in the middle of nowhere - and it was so peaceful.
I don't like flying and refuse to do it, so myself and my old girlfriend and her friend got the train to London from Liverpool, Eurostar to Lille and met my good mate Mikkel (who also doesn't like flying!) in the train station after he had driven from Arhus, Denmark. We then drove to the beautiful countryside of Macon in Burgundy.
We arrived fairly late, about 9pm, and had missed last orders at the Restaurant, however the owners agreed to rustle us up something......and it was delicious...a sald of all things lovely, then chicken in white wine sauce.
We were a little concerned that the people who ran this place were a little wary of 3 fairly young English folk and a Danish lad. We were booked in for 4 nights at their (small) hotel above the restaurant. After a day or two, they seemed to like us (they genuinely seemed a little afraid of us at the start....the English reputation no doubt).
The hotel itself is cheap (in fact looking at their website it appears the prices have gone down since we last visited!!! I am assuming it is out of date, but maybe not.). The rooms are spotlessly clean, and ours was pretty small, but adequate. The bathrooms are a little bit weird. They are a kind of plastic pod in the corner of the room....a little bit like something out of a 1960s sci-fi B movie. But the shower did it's job. It was incredibly quiet at night and a lovely place to wake up.
Now the real deal - the food and wine - truly amazing. This is what I think is called teroirre cooking - traditional rustic food. Honestly it was so good. Really simple, but the ingredients and the way they were dealt with were fab. The entrecote with ratatouille was incredible and the creme brulais and chocolate mousse were delicious. The house wine, as you would expect from Burgundy, was excellent and cheap. Their coffee was almost as good as how the Italians do it, and the beer was the best pint of lager I have ever had, if I recall, it was called L'Eloise. I am a bitter drinker, however this was the tastiest lager in the world, and I have never seen it anywhere else.
The longer we stayed, the more the owners interacted with us. After a couple of days we asked about their pool. They seemed to keep it a bit of a secret and slightly reluctant to let us in. However they did and we had a right laugh in there. Eventually all the family joined us - the owners, the granny and the kids - even though I was the only one of us who spoke (basic) French, we all had a good time in there.
I genuinely think they enjoyed us staying there, and brought a bit of life to this sleepy village.
We had a couple of good day trips, to a cave, a lake and a fairly large town...can't remember any of the names!
All in all this is an excellent place. LOcals come from far and wide to eat here....and it is not surprising....the cooking is first class. The locals (including the owners) seem a little reserved, but are friendly in a quiet way.
If the prices are correct on their website, then this is an absolute bargain.
I am going to drive to the South of France/Italy next year and this will be an ideal place for me to stay over for a few more nights. I loved it!

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
3  Thank hooby-doobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Serrurier V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank berneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank capecoet71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle Zimmer sind sehr schön
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrbge179loe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cormatin
4.3 mi away
La Place Hotel Restaurant
3.4 mi away
La Filaterie
La Filaterie
#2 of 2 in Cormatin
8 reviews
0 mi away
L'amarre Aux Anges
L'amarre Aux Anges
#1 of 2 in Cormatin
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Grison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Grison

Address: Chissey les Macon, Cormatin, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Cormatin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cormatin
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing