We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic views, amazing baths, great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, amazing baths, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had a great two-day, one-night experience at Nonokaze report in Lake Toya.

Very friendly to foreigners.

We arrived at the hotel at 1pm and was told the room was not available until 3pm. We took public transit there ourselves, otherwise, the hotel shuttle (FREE!) from Sapporo station would have brought us in at check-in time. However, the hotel staff recommended us to see the sites (volcano + cable car ride) and upon our return, checked us into a wonderful room on the top floor.

The view was fantastic from the room. Tatami mats near the window and hardwood near the beds and entrance. The bathroom toiletries and product were Shiseido and very classy. We were able to wear our robes around the hotel - of which there are two different sets.

The baths on the top floor of the hotel were amazing - but even better was the roof-top bath overseeing the lake. We made sure to use the baths twice during our short stay. Once in the evening, and once again in the morning when the male/female sides switch (at 2-4am).

The buffet dinner and breakfast included in our room rate was also very delicious. A good mix of japanese, western and chinese cuisines. View from the dinning hall wasn't too shabby either.

All in all, it was a fantastic experience that we will no doubt repeat again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveltheblueplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    173
    38
    15
    8
See reviews for
256
156
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 during a weeklong tour of Hokkaido. Lake Toya, and this hotel especially, did not disappoint. The onsen alone was worth the stay here, but everything from the modern elegance of the lobby to our clean, modern-Japanese room made the stay luxurious. If you stay, make sure not to miss the onsen, like we almost did! It is the reason to go to Toya and to stay here. The views of the lake from everywhere in the hotel (lobby, restaurant, room), but especially from the rooftop onsen, are incredible. The only hiccup we had was the pricing of the hotel. When we called to reserve we told them it would two of us staying there and they quoted us for about 150 USD for the night. We liked the hotel so much that the next morning we decided to extend our stay another day, but discovered that that the price we were quoted was actually 150 USD per person! We were completely shocked, especially since we had already been in Japan for a week at this point, and nearly 5 other hotels, without this per-person setup. Needless to say, we did not end up extending our stay because of the doubling in price, but we would have if it was really the price we thought it was for the room (and not per person!) I wish they were more clear about their rates on their website. If you can afford it, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleensulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathum Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Visited this resort during our driving trip on Hokkaido. The hotel is clean and reception was fluent in English. All the guest rooms face the lake.

There are both indoor onsen and outdoor onsen which should try both. The hotel also has private onsent for a fee.

Buffet dinner was served in the ground floor which has both ready and cook meal.

The will be the place of choice for the next visit to lake Toya.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KanokC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is our fourth stay in Toya, but our first time in this hotel which was recommended by our friends living in the area. Very nice hotel with all you need for a short break. The only puzzle for me is the music, they played "Carpenter" all the time during our stay, don't understand. We like exercise, so the morning jogging around the lake is so nice. After exercise with onsen was perfect, the view from onsen or restaurant have the calming effect, wish we were there longer. The G/F were rooms and restaurant for families with pets, I watched the fireworks which was every night during summer in front of the hotel on the lakeside, the pets were watching next to me as well, love it. Do not recommend watching fireworks in your room, it's nicer to be with the others near the lake. Over all, very nice stay!

Room Tip: Not on 8/F, you will hear people walking around from the onsen which located on 9/F. The sky view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank einnac p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel is situatued in the center of the town and has a lovely view of lake toya. Rooms are complete with a tatami set up and has floor to ceiling glass windows which allow you to watch the daily display of fireworks at night. Needless to say the room was not just pretty but also very cosy and all in a very comfortable set up. We stayed here for 2 nights and definitely have no complains. Perfect for a weekend getaway if all you want its some solitude, spa and onsen. The 2 nights we spent were part of a 5 day free and easy drive around holiday in Hokkaido as we made our way from Sapporo to Hakodate and it was a very pleasant and relaxing stop. Nothing much around the town but the hotel has daily dinner buffets with a wide variety which also caters for kids.
Hotel provides full range of toiletries, as well as a few sets of attire (kimonos) to be worn to the onsen and around the hotel area (including dining) and sleeping pajamas (which were extremely comfortable!!).
Staff were also incredibly friendly and helpful and tried their best to converse in different languages (mandarin and english) aside from Japanese after enquiring where we were from. Extremely accomodating and hospitable!

There are two onsens in the hotel, an indoor one and an open air rooftop one which has an amzing view of the lake. Rooftop onsen could be bigger but suffices nevertheless. The onsens are opened throughout the day except from 2am to 4am when they do a cleanup and do a switch between ladies and gents so both can enjoy the different views and onsens on different nights for variety.

Located just an hour's drive from Niseko, I would highly recommend it as a stopover to recuperate after a ski trip!! Nothing much to do besides the spa and onsen so 2 nights would suffice.

Room Tip: Apparently there are 2 wings, request for the newly refurbished one on the spa side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayhayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toyako-cho
Toyako Onsen
The Windsor Hotel Toya
The Windsor Hotel Toya
#2 of 15 in Toyako-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Toyako Onsen
Kohantei
Kohantei
#5 of 15 in Toyako-cho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Toyako Onsen
Toyako Manseikaku Hotel Lakeside Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Daiwa Ryokan Annex
#3 of 15 in Toyako-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Noboribetsu Onsen
Noboribetsu Grand Hotel
Noboribetsu Grand Hotel
#2 of 20 in Noboribetsu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Toyako Onsen
Toya Kanko Hotel
Toya Kanko Hotel
#6 of 15 in Toyako-cho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort

Property: The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort
Address: 29-1 Toyakonsen, Abuta-gun, Toyako-cho 049-5721, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Abuta-gun > Toyako-cho > Toyako Onsen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Onsen Hotel in Toyako-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Travelocity so you can book your The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort Toyako-Cho, Hokkaido, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing