We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Windsor Hotel Toya
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic Luxury”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The view is simply majestic and overwhelming. Situated on top of a hill, it is the only hotel build at the top, giving one complete privacy and solitude. A perfect getaway from the bustle of city life. The restaurants are expensive but quality is impeccable. The room is spacious. The onsen is also big and spacious, although it is public but I was able to use it all on my own probably the hotel is also not crowded at the time I was there. There is a nearby pizza restaurant that served perfect Italian pizza and wine collection is comprehensive. The location is also near various must visit sites such as Mt Usu Ropeway, Hell Valley, Bear island etc. The hotel staff is also very friendly and helpful. Breakfast view at the restaurant is also fantastic with snow falling outside.

Room Tip: "Room on high floor command great view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    168
    68
    31
    23
See reviews for
238
157
16
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Yes, the view from this hotel is breathtaking. Located on top of a hill, one side facing the Ocean, the other side facing a beautiful vulcanic lake with a picturesque island in the middle of it, makes looking out of the window a real joy. And yes, staff is friendly and always looking after you, and yes, the rooms are beautiful and big, and yes, the lobby is georgous and luxurious, and yes, there is a great SPA and pool and a not sooo very special Onsen hot spring part (there much beter hot springs in that area). But then again, given the remote location (there is nothing you could reach by walking from there) and the really steep price they charge, I give it 4 stars.
It somehow is a 5 star hotel with a 6 star price. I would pay that amount money in Tokyo without hesitation, but in the middle of nowhere it is a bit hard to swallow.
The restaurants in the hotel are all on the expensive side. We just tried the Sushi Restaurant which was excellent (though not all choices from the menu were available that day) and also came with a hefty price tag. Again, I would expect and happily pay such prices in a top notch Tokyo Restaurant, but in the outskirts of Hokkaido (where fresh seafood is available in abundance and real inexpensive) the prices were just that little bit over the top.
Would I stay here again? No. But I also wouldnt want to miss the one time I have been here since it is a quite unique experience.

Room Tip: Choose Lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heiner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

From arriving to leaving the hotel, I never felt disappointed. The room was brilliant and well-equipped. Seeing view of Toya lake was the highlight. So stunning.All staffs was very professional and attentive. Food was very delicious. I did a spa every day, very relaxed. Staying at this hotel was a real heaven. It fullfilled my energy.

Room Tip: Wake up early to watch the sunset Try a spa in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TokkoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I only stayed 1 night in this hotel. We thought it was a little pricy when we booked it but the moment we entered the hotel, we didn't want to leave. The hotel lobby is definitely the most grand I have seen, with a stunning view of the Toya lake. After the valet parking, the staff let us sit in sofas by the window of the lobby, served us drinks and checked us in while we were seated (so not traditional way of checking in). The check-in staff even asked us for our plans of the night and the next day just to make sure they can make appropriate arrangements for us if necessary. We chose a lake view room. It overlooks the whole Toya Lake. I couldn't think of a better place to see the lake. We tried the onsen and swimming pool too, which are really great too. The staff are very polite. The highlight of the stay was really the breakfast. We had the choice of Japanese and French style breakfast and we chose French. It was indeed the best breakfast served. Services were very good too. The only thing, if I have to pick one, is their staff's English language skills. Some of them are quite good (like the guy who checked us in), but not everyone. This was particularly a problem when we tried to order something on the phone.

Room Tip: The lake view room is very good, and do include the breakfast. It's a little expensive but total...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BridgetteYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Good reception when arriving at the hotel. We booked a double room high floor (JPY51,000) with wonderful lake view. The room was small, bed and pillows comfy, old style furnishings and bathroom fitting did not impress.
The curtains did not provide effective blackout and we were awoken by intense sun around 5am.
Hotel facilites excellent, hot spa good although outdoor ladies section was closed for maintenance.
Dined in the Kitcho restaurant Arashiyama course which was good, though the Kyoto Kitcho experience was much better.
Breakfast in Gilligans was pleasant but refusal of waiter to provide poached eggs or toast was not appreciated.
Would we go back - to stay NO, to dine - YES.

Room Tip: Go for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nisekolad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent a night at this hotel on our whirlwind tour of norther Japan recently and were truly impressed with the establishment. In addition to the traditional Japanese hospitality we found almost in every hotel we stayed at, this one stands out with even more meticulous service and attention to details. As soon as we walked in the hotel, our jaws dropped at the expanse of the lobby and the view. We were greated and sat down in the lobby. We were offered hot drinks while they checked us in. We had a junior suite facing the lake. Amazing view. We got up at 5:30 am to watch the sunrise from our bed. Incredible experience. Amenities in the room were 5 star quality and no less. We were at the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. The food was amazing. The waiter took the time to explain the ingredients used in preparation of our meal! Just the simple rice was not overlooked. We were told it was made from a blend of 3 selected varieties of rice. We used the hotel minivan shuttle on a few occasions. The driver would get out of the car, and put a stool on the pavement to let us off the bus. What more can I say about this hotel! Truly amazing experience.

Room Tip: Get the lake view room if you do not mind the higher price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yimco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We traveled with family on a package tour that included a two night stay at the Windsor. Checking the normal prices, this would've been out of our budget, but if you time your travel right (off-season and non-winter) you can certainly pamper yourself on this mountaintop resort.

Service is top-notch. The staff and management's attention to detail even down to a comfortable crib and matching bathrobe for our 9 month old really gave us a taste of what it must've been like being a guest there during the G8 summit.

Dining there is pricey, with plenty of high-end dining options, including a michelin-starred restaurant to choose from. Personally, I'd skip lunch and dinner there and wander into the nearby towns for more approachable local meals.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whoisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toyako-cho hotels
Hotel Cocoa
#10 of 16 in Toyako-cho
12 reviews
Toyako Onsen
The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort
Toyako Onsen
Kohantei
Kohantei
#6 of 16 in Toyako-cho
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Toyako Onsen
Toyako Manseikaku Hotel Lakeside Terrace
Toyako Onsen
Toya Kanko Hotel
Toya Kanko Hotel
#4 of 16 in Toyako-cho
185 reviews
Daiwa Ryokan Annex
#5 of 16 in Toyako-cho
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor Hotel Toya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Hotel Toya

Property: The Windsor Hotel Toya
Address: 336 Shimizu, Abuta-gun, Toyako-cho 049-5722, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Abuta-gun > Toyako-cho > Toyako Onsen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels / Ryokan in Toyako-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Windsor Hotel Toya 5*
Number of rooms: 398
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Priceline, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Windsor Hotel Toya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Toyako Cho
The Windsor Hotel Toya Toyako-Cho, Hokkaido, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing