We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable setting, helpful staff, very clean.”
Review of Kohantei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kohantei
Tasmania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Unbelievable setting, helpful staff, very clean.”
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We arrived in taxis from the JrToya railway station to be greeted with the most incredible view from the lobby. On checking in we found our rooms to have the very same views over the lake, and they were very clean and spacious. We were in heaven. We spent two very energetic days walking on the many trails in the area and discovered we could have spent another two nights there and still not doubled up on places and things to see and do. The staff were always polite and helpful and thanked us profusely for not cancelling our trip to Japan after the earthquake and tsunami. In fact we have been getting this message everywhere we have been. It seems that the tourism industry is very badly hit by cancellations, even in areas hundreds of kilometres away from the devastated zone. We enjoyed our stay, were impressed by the inexpensive price of goods in the drink machines and souvenir shop, and found the buffet meals to be plentiful with a reasonable selection from which to choose. Some of us were able to sit in the outdoor spa on the roof of the building and watch the sun setting over Mt Yotei and all of that reflected in the lake on our doorstep.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    142
    85
    30
    21
See reviews for
143
59
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Only I can recommend this hotel is for the excellent view from the onsen (hot spring) at the top of the building. It's simply magnificent and you can forget about all the negative and old fashioned style about this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank W_and_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Our travel agent reserved this hotel for us. When we checked in during the late afternoon, the tour groups also came. Our first impressions of the hotel were bad. Even as we were walking to our room, an old musty smell hit us (presumably from the carpet?). We were shocked that the room was old, very small, with the same musty smell. It is badly in need of renovations. Cigarette smoke filled the air. We had no place to put our luggages. In the end, we put them on top of the armchairs.

There was a good variety at the buffet dinner. However, the big pot they served the miso soup in looked like it belonged to the junkyard! There were many scratches all over the pot, inside and outside. It makes you lose your appetite.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jadewee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Toyako-cho hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
197 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

I has the misfortune to stay at this hotel due to overbooking from the hotel I had booked.

Based on the pricing, it appears that Kohantei is comparable to the one that I had booked. However, when I first set foot in the hotel room, I was shocked beyond words. The room's carpet and the bed covers looks so dirty and the room is so small.

There is no non-smoking room in this hotel, hence, the room stinks and smell of smoke which irritates my lungs and throat. Even after we opened the window to let in fresh air, it was of no help as the curtains would have absorbed the smoke due to the hotel's policy of not having non-smoking policy. The furnishes in the room looked so old. Out of the 3 rooms that we stayed, the TVs in 2 of the rooms were not working. Even though it was June, the hotel did not turn on the aircon, hence, we had to sleep with open window. As such, we have to put up with noise from passing vehicles as we were allocated rooms facing the mountain on the 5th floor. The noise really disturbed our sleep and make it even more uncomfortable. I don't understand how can this be ranked 3/ 7 in Trip Advisor. Good thing I did not chose this earlier, but due to my misfortune, I suffered this experience.

The only nice thing in this hotel is the lobby and the onsen.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joltt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
74 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2009

We stayed at the Kohantei onsen hotel from 17 to 19 December 2008. We were looking for a stop in between Sapporo and Hakodate where we could break up our trip and we picked this hotel primarily due to the pictures of the beautiful outdoor onsen pools on its website.

We were somewhat deceived.

You see, the beautiful outdoor onsen pools as depicted on their website do exist, but only in the female section. So for us two guys, it was somewhat disappointing, especially when we had to learn about it only after we checked in. We should have done more research.

The only way to get to Kohantei from Toya JR station is via taxi (that is if you don't want to take the bus). The taxi stand outside the station gave an estimate of the fare to the Toyako onsen district to be ¥1,900, but the final fare was closer to ¥3,000.

Checking in was rather smooth though there were only two front desk staff available. By the time we were done, a line of about 4 or 5 had formed behind us.

The room was divided into a 'Japanese' section and a 'Western' section. The 'Japanese' section was fully tatami-ed, with a low table, seat cushions and a seriously retro looking CRT TV (with no English channels). The 'Western' section had a normal bed, a rather amusing lockable drawer (their version of a safe we assumed) and two arm chairs. The room was clean, though looked to be in a desperate need for renovation due to its wear and tear. The bathroom was small but adequate. There was an electric hot water flask in the room that made a lot of noise which we promptly unplugged.

The view from the room was nothing short of spectacular. We had a full unobstructed view of Lake Toya and Mount Yotei right from the comfort of our room.

The 9th floor of the hotel houses all the onsen baths. They are clean and very well maintained. The male section of the baths consist of an indoor pool, a smaller outdoor pool and an outdoor wooden tub that can accommodate a maximum of two people. By outdoor I mean without windows but with a roof. The baths are open 24 hours except between 9am and 11am everyday when they are closed for cleaning. We subsequently learnt that the male and female sections switch between 1:30am and 2:30am. There is also an outdoor feet onsen on the ground floor between the hotel and the lake.

For ¥10,000 per person per night, we were also provided with a sumptuous buffet breakfast and an incredible buffet dinner. The buffet spread consisted mostly of food produced right there in Hokkaido and is unrivaled in their freshness and taste. The restaurant where the meals were served was rather spartan and resembled a school canteen, but the food more than made up for it.

Kohantei is within walking distance from the pier where you can take a cruise around Lake Toya and also the Volcano Science Museum. Anywhere further, like the Usuzan Ropeway, will require a taxi ride.

As much as we loved the food and the view afforded by the hotel, we couldn't help but feel somewhat deceived by the photos on their website. Even then, we would recommend this place to our female friends.

  • Liked — The food and the view.
  • Disliked — Pictures of the beautiful onsen on their website is only of the female section.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ooFlaneryoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toyako-cho hotels
Toyako Onsen
The Windsor Hotel Toya
The Windsor Hotel Toya
#2 of 16 in Toyako-cho
522 reviews
Hotel Cocoa
#10 of 16 in Toyako-cho
10 reviews
Toyako Onsen
The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Toyako Onsen
Toyako Manseikaku Hotel Lakeside Terrace
Toyako Onsen
Toya Kanko Hotel
Toya Kanko Hotel
#5 of 16 in Toyako-cho
180 reviews
Daiwa Ryokan Annex
#3 of 16 in Toyako-cho
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kohantei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohantei

Property: Kohantei
Address: 7-8 Toyako-onsen, Abuta-gun, Toyako-cho 049-5721, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Abuta-gun > Toyako-cho > Toyako Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Onsen Hotel in Toyako-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kohantei 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kohantei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kohantei Hotel Toyako Cho
Kohantei Toyako-Cho, Hokkaido, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing