We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hasta Pronto, Melia Las Dunas.....”
Review of Melia Las Dunas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Las Dunas
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hasta Pronto, Melia Las Dunas.....”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We returned from our 4th trip to Las Dunas this past April 5th, 2014. It was GR8!

The new management team of Manuel & Guillermo are visible, friendly & welcome any questions and/or suggestions.

The resort is the largest, in terms of rooms, on the island of Cayo santa Maria. The beach is approx. 16 km. long & is one of the best in the Caribbean. It's a GR8 walking beach.

Rooms are clean. The International Buffet is large & offers a wide variety of food. Our choices were, lamb, rabbit, chicken, pork, beef or grilled fish, my favourite.

The a la cartes are very good, offering Oriental, Mexican, seafood, and beef in Isabel Y Fernando, the only restaurant where men must wear long pants.

The best calamari can be found at Los Caribes.

A Cuban restaurant was to be opened by mid April. We'll dine there next year.

The grounds are well maintained by the many friendly gardeners. Frank has always been our favourite gardener.

The lobby is a very "happening" place. Entertainment starts at 6:00 p.m. each evening. At approx. 7:00 p.m. the entertainment moves out to the square & then at 9:30 p.m. it moves to the theatre.

Be sure to visit the various snack huts located throughout the resort, but do not miss thhe beer garden.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are quieter, but try to obtain one on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Terry g:

We really appreciate your having taken the time to post this review describing in details how it felt to stay at our resort.

We thank your honesty and we feel very proud to acknowledge you look so glad about having spent your holiday with us.

Our potential travelers will certainly be helped from all your comments and recommendations and we very much appreciate the good advertisement you are making for us.

Do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit…

Best regards,

Manuel Rios
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,921
    2,943
    1,349
    568
    306
See reviews for
2,721
3,215
289
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,329)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is our second time back. First time was over 5 years ago. Beach is fantastic, food just ok, lots of options for dining. The sit down restaurants are much better then the buffet for dinner.
The rooms are very basic and in need of updating. The hotel is getting a bit tired and could use some renovations. It's very big with a family section and an adults only pool (which had a few kids in the pool area )
We traveled with our child (11 years old). Lots of families with kids of all ages , was great for kids. Good for couples also.
Entertainment was good, shows some better then the other. We loved the live music every night. The beach party was great. The entertainment staff is really good.
No snorkeling which was a bit disappointing for us and a few days the waves were a bit high, Yellow flag, which we enjoyed jumping in the waves.
The hotel grows on you. The first night we thought it wasn't great, by the middle of the week we really liked it, by the end we did not want to leave.
Don't expect luxury, remember you're in Cuba.
I have been a travel agent for 25 years, would recommend this hotel to most of my cleints and families. It's overall a good hotel, for a decent price, with a fantastic beach and pretty decent food.
If you are really, really selective don't go here it's not the Ritz.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank marisas68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear marisas 68:

We have been honored with your presence at Melia Las Dunas and we heartily hope this recent visit will not be the last one. I´m completely sure that the next ones will be even greater and you will enjoy more our services and offer.

Our potential travelers will certainly be helped from all your comments and recommendations and we very much appreciate the good advertisement you are making for us.

See you soon!

Regards,

Manuel Rios
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Travelled here from April 8 to April 16.
Overall it was a good time. Went with my family for my dad’s birthday.
Since we are used to going to Bahia Principe Ambar in Punta Cana, the resort definitely didn’t live up to that same level. But still, this is a great resort, especially for the price you pay.
Pros:
-Clean resort
-Best beach, ever!
-Never had trouble finding a spot at the pool or beach
-THE WORKERS!! Very, very nice and amazing!
-The drinks

Cons:
-No Wifi, and the internet café has the worlds slowest computers and internet. Takes 10 minutes to load one Facebook page. This is something that should definitely be improved, as we saw many frustrated individuals.
-The buffet area: The food is decent, and no one in my family got sick (usually we get an upset stomach anywhere we go). You’ll always find something to eat, but at the same time, I like to travel for the food, not in spite of the food. There isn’t anything that blew me away.
The buffet area is very cramped at times, as people are waiting for their meat or fish to be cooked at the grill. It can take 5-10 minutes to get your cooked food, if you decide to wait at the grill for it.
Also, it shouldn’t be too difficult to label the food. Most of the food isn’t labeled.
And last, the cutlery at the buffet area wasn’t organized. There was one large spoon for 5 different foods, so everything mixes together as you go to scoop-up your meal.
The A La Carts were quite decent! Italian, Romantica, and Sea Food were all good!

Would I go to the resort again? I would if I went with a big group, as the resort is nice and the drinks were great! So yes! Though some of these improvements can make a world of difference!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sako K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Sako k:

Many thanks for give us the possibility to know about your experience…

It has felt very good to read your review. We understand you have had a really good time, even when your experience has not been exactly as expected.

We will take into account every detail you are referring us and work very hard in the improvement of all our services……

Thank you so much for your comments. We will be looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Manuel Rios
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We travelled to Melia las Dunas in March. The hotel is ok, nice staff, nice beach, but what killed it for us was seeing coackroaches in the buffet(and was traveling with an infant). Luckily we saw the coackroaches the second day at breakfast, so we stopped eating there and chose to go to the grill and snack bars where food was done on the spot.
When we complained and asked to be moved to other hotel, The director, Guillermo had the nerve to tell us that is not his problem, that is us who have a problem... Anyways, he got us a la carte restaurants reservations for all nights (food was bad, but Italian restaurant was just gross).
We would never go back there, that's for sure, and i wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone!
Cheers

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andreeatke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorMLD, Director Residente at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest;
First of all; thank you very much for writing your comments about our hotel.
We hope to improve concerning some facts which you comment in your Review.
Any way we need to point out that we always taking care immediately all cases and complaints, in your case was attended for me specifically and I offered to you that gave us the opportunity to solve the problem. “Before your decision go to another hotel”
We gave you the room breakfast service every day with yogurt, fresh fruit, omelets and milk for your baby and all the things which you demanded, besides we organized the dinner in our restaurants a La Cart so you were calm down and more safety for you and your family.
At the same time we want to clarify that we follow a stricter plagues control in all our Restaurants so this episode is completely unusual in Meliá Las Dunas
Our main goal is the satisfaction our guests we never refuse our responsibility, we always try to assume it and help to our guest for enjoying into the hotel such as we did with you and your family.
We hope you understand that the finality is cover with the expectation from our clients that was our singles propose. We would want that trust in us if you decided come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

If you want an honest review continue reading....place is amazing. Beach is comparable to Grace Bay Club in Turks and Caicos. That is huge. Compare one week in T&C and to here and you will book right away. Resort is large and modern and well taken care of. Food is great. Staff are all friendly.I would only say the negative of the trip and has nothing to do with resort is the OBNOXIOUS and RUDE french canadians. I have never witnessed such disgusting behaviour from people. I have traveled across the Europe, Canada and USA and have not come across people like this. If you can handle this then cuba and and of course this resort is your place.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe19761976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Joe19761976:

Thank You Very Much for your review, I am very happy to see that you had such a great vacation with us, I hope I can see you in a near future...

Best regards,

Manuel Rios
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this resort having heard that Cuba's resorts are not up to par with other Caribbean islands. Our room was bungalow 28, top floor and was very comfortable and cleaned daily. We were central to the lobby, buffet, pool and beach... loved our location. Group of 8, moms and daughters. The beach was hard to beat....lovely white sand and turquoise waters.... clear as could be for easy access. Some days the wind blew up the surf. Lots of beach chairs and Palapas, everywhere,,, at the pool and beach. Never had a problem getting chairs or shade when needed. A La Carte restaurants were the best I have had in comparison to other places like Mexico or Dominican. Went to them all. And they made your reservations for you which was excellent! It was in our welcome package. Buffet was fine. Lots of local fruits and vegetables. Enjoyed the soup daily for lunch! No complaints on servers or bartenders.....just the reception desk folks as others have mentioned are not overly friendly. Maybe that's there way to keep everyone at a distance... not sure. But not very helpful. Cappuccino in the lobby bar...yum..Worst part of the vacation was the airport of Santa Clara..Cuban customs make you feel like a criminal, and do not talk at all. Lineups horrendous at departure. 2-1/2 hours to get through check-in, pay your departure tax, and then make your way through Cuban customs lineups. Hot....that was the downside......The $25.00 airport tax per person...they would do well to make some improvements at the airports. I would have second thoughts about going back to Cuba because of the airport experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Judy C:

Thank you very much for considering Melia as your vacation company, that make me real proud of the service ant most specially of the staff that provide it here in Las Dunas!!

Thank you very much for your great review and comments!!!

Do not hesitate to contact us if you decide to give us the chance to receive you again.

Best regards,

Manuel Rios
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Loved the Cuban people, food and beach. I enjoyed working out everyday to Randy's Pilates. Thank you for your hospitality I will certainly love to make another trip there.

April was a good time to go, not to hot and seems to have less of a crowd then the January February months.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave7842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorMLD, Director General at Melia Las Dunas, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Dave7842:

First of all many thanks for take your time writing on trip advisor...

We are so happy to see that you finally enjoyed your stay with us. For sure that we will share this review with Randy.

Will be a pleasure to receive you again.

Best regards,

Manuel Rios
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cayo Santa Maria hotels
4.3 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#9 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,966 reviews
1.2 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#8 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
1.9 mi away
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
#12 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Las Dunas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Dunas

Property: Melia Las Dunas
Address: Cayo Santa Maria, Caibarien, Villa Clara | Jardines del Rey, Villa Clara, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Las Dunas 5*
Number of rooms: 925
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magic and Legend unveils an ancient story that goes back in time to 1492, with the discovery of America. Melia Las Dunas, a 5 star resort, All Inclusive, ideal for your vacation with your Family, Reunion & Incentives, Weddings, Honeymoon Distinguished by the variety of services, the inviting atmosphere and the confort of its facilities, Melia Las Dunas offers the vacations of your dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Melia Las Dunas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Las Dunas Hotel Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Hotel Las Dunas
Melia Las Dunas Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing