We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treated Like Royalty!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Timmins, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Treated Like Royalty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Where do I begin? I have never been to an all-inclusive before and overall, was extremely impressed with the service and experience during our stay from Apr. 22-29/14. The room was great, the bed was awful. We had springs sticking out and were sore every day. Sandra was our maid and I am not convinced our floors were ever washed but she made sure everything else was clean. Our butlers, Diana and Yoldy were helpful and very friendly. They hooked us up with reservations (try the Cuban massage with rum at the spa- very cool experience), beer for our fridge, wine, food, etc. The restaurants were amazing! We ate breakfast at Eggscellence every morning. They food was so tasty!!! I enjoyed the poolside BBQ/ocean bar quesadillas (sometimes both) for lunch, then a Royalton burger (no egg) or BLT for my afternoon snack everyday. And to have everything brought to you by the friendly staff was awesome! I felt so relaxed and taken care of. Our dinners were fantastic at all 3 restaurants! And as always, service was amazing. I would often order a second helping of an appetizer or combine 2 entrees because everything sounded so good. And if you are wondering... yes, I gained about 7 pounds in 7 days. The food was just sooooo yummy! The staff that went out of their way to make us feel special were Diana, Yoldy, Sandra, Rolly, Yidiel, Yorkie, Mario, Lilly, and Frank (to name a few). Just a wonderful place to RELAX, be PAMPERED, and RECHARGE! I am so happy we chose this resort. My favourite feature... pool-side exfoliation massages! I had one everyday. What a treat to have your hands and feet exfoliated and massaged while you relax on the awesome bed by the pool. We met fantastic people, enjoyed the nightlife and drinks at the Royalton Café and Sunset Bar. The negative reviews I had read in preparation for the trip were absolutely NOT founded. I had an awesome time and can't wait to go back! My only concern was paying an extra 300 dollars per person for "oceanview" when we did not get that. We could see a piece of the ocean but had another bungalow in front of us. This room choice shouldn't have been an option if it wasn't available. We booked back in October so should have gotten what we paid for. Other than that, the service, treatment, food, drinks, and new friends made a huge impression on us and we highly recommend this paradise. The beaches are beautiful and amazing! Everything was incredible! Can't wait to come back!!!

Room Tip: We were in Room 1110 (bungalow 11) and had paid 600 extra dollars for Oceanview. We were beside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KathrynSwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Kathryn,

Thank you very much for trust in our company Royalton luxury resorts and for choosing our resort in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

What a beautiful review of our hotel, we love the title that you gave to us" Treated like royalty", that is how we are working everyday with all our guest and we are very very happy knowing that you are planning to come back.

We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director I Manager
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,260
    455
    161
    36
    10
See reviews for
198
2,200
42
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

This was are first trip ever! It was a wonderful experience!
We will return as soon as possible to enjoy another week of vacation.
The beach is spectacular and everybody was so kind!
Loved Aidania (waitress) at the snack bar.
Lionel and Aldo were there for everything we ask for. They were great!
5* Resort 100% !!!

S'était notre premier voyage à vie! Ce fut une magnifique expérience.
Nous y retournerons aussitôt que possible pour une autre semaine de vacance.
La plage est spectaculaire et tout le monde étaient tellement gentil.
Nous avons adoré Aidania (serveuse) au snack bar.
Nous avions Lionel et Aldo comme *butler* et ils ont toujours été super attentionnés.
Un 5* et un 100%.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melanie197730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Melanie,

Thank you very much for trust in our company Royalton luxury resorts and for choosing our resort in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

We are very happy reading that you had a wonderful week and you leav ethe names of the staff that make your stay unforgettable.

We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director I Manager
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

My wife and I were at this beautiful resort to celebrate our 38th wedding anniversary, April 24th. What's not to like about the beach and the two pools adorned with palapas and canopy beds always available no matter what time of day. My compliments to all staff for their effort to make our trip memorable. Good food, delicious drinks, fantastic musicians. The grounds were lush with vegetation and very well maintained. In particular, we would like to thank Yuliet who cleaned our room on a daily basis and left of kind notes and wonderful towel art. Our compliments to Aldo, our Butler. Your professionalism and quiet presence to accommodate all of our wants and needs made our vacation memorable. This is a resort that we will talk about to our family and friends for a long time. We have never been to a same resort twice. This may be the first. Congratulations, Royalton.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for trust in our company Royalton luxury resorts and for choosing our resort in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

We will share your beautiful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director I Manager
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

I selected this resort based on Travel Advisor reviews. Next time I'll pay more attention to the reviewers' profile. This resort is the darling of 705 and 519 groups. The single family may feel a little bit overwhelmed by beach chairs being mass "reserved" or excessive accommodation at dinner for groups. The table for two will likely be near the kitchen door or entrance. Also the use of mugs the size of half paper towel roll for drinks was kind of extreme.

Nevertheless the service was really exceptional. Everybody seems to thanks to Alex or Leniel. Yes, they deserve it but the real person behind all this is Miguel Sanchez the General Manager, running day and night with three mobile phones in hand talking to guests and staff. The second in command, the guy with glasses is also very hardworking. Without them your vacation will be at risk. The quality of service is first of all due to management. Better start thanking to Miguel as well.

The food is exquisite. Yes, there is no vulgar buffet, it is all a-la-carte service and dining in. I was surprised by fine foods including tuna steak, mahi-mahi or lobster. The service was generally very good, except one evening when a server probably on loan from sister resort Memories ruined it. But is was an exception. Accommodating large groups may create large islands of loud speaking and laughs which may cover the musicians.

The beach is ... not ...the second best in the Caribbean. Is is narrower than Varadero and the umbrellas are on only in one line, too close one from the other. The beach chairs are essentially in few cm of each other, with no chance of privacy. But the sand is white and water is blue, the magnificent Cuban turquoise. Only Curaçao has better water.

Now lodging... Well... Not luxury. Definitely! There are Cabanas and Bungalows. The bungalows have 6 rooms on ground floor and 4 on the upper floor. If you are unlucky to get a lower floor room in Bungalows 3 to 8 you will have exactly the same spectacular view like an interior cabin on a cruise ship. Your view will be reduced to a deep bush; you can not see the sky! Yes these rooms area cheaper but it does not worth the money. Go only if you have a guaranteed upper floor room. You do not have that many vacations to waste. Yes, you do not spend much time in the room... unless it rains. And sometimes it does. Inside the room it is obvious that initial design was maybe more luxurious; bathroom and closet are nicer but the rest of furniture is much cheaper. The rooms 1 and 6 are close to some utility rooms running ventilation and air-conditioning; these rooms are noisy. So upper floor or go somewhere else. It is exactly the same situation in the sister resort Memories. The maid service is also very good.

The upper pool is more elegant and quieter and the lady at the bar is really nice. No music, no BBQ at lunch time and no plates with mountains of food. Just the waterfall sound.

The piano bar is an oasis of many pleasures; they make some heavenly cocktails ... not mug size:)

Last tip: the exchange rate is better in the Pueblo at the bank than at the reception but it is open only 9-4 weekdays and you need the passport.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Calator438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on the internet and thank you for choosing our hotel in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

We are very happy reading your review of your recent stay with us, and thank you for said that the service was exceptional and the food was esquisite.

We will share your comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director I Manager
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I have stayed in other resorts in Cuba and Caribbean and The Royalton Cayo Santa Maria is by far the Best resort! The staff, the bartenders were excellent! My Butlers Lester and Ariel were so helpful! Our group of 15 were able to have dinner at 2 tables almost every nite which was great! The beach is fantastic! We all loved the resort!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Cherry M,

Thank you very much for trust in our company Royalton luxury resorts and for choosing our resort in Cuba, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

We are very happy reading that you have been in different resorts in the Caribbean and you found our hotel, the best.

We will share your wonderful comments with our staff and we hope to see you very soon in your cuban home, Royalton cayo Santa Maria,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Director I Manager
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was our second to The Royalton Cayo Santa Maria. We definitely love the excellent level of service we receive at the resort. The staff is very attentive to our needs and we truly enjoy being pampered. The food was great and its presentation admirable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ChristianeCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Christiane,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travellers on th einternet an dthank you for choosing us again as hotel where spend your holidays.

We are very happy reading that you called us a "Paradise", and we would like to see you soon in Cayo Santa Maria.

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Manager
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is our tenth time visiting Cuba, We have never stayed at the same resort twice. But we will now! The Royalton Luxury Resort in Cayo Santa Maria is way above the others we have stayed in.
If I could rate this resort any higher, I would. The resort is very nice, and well kept. A beautiful room,
that was cleaned daily by our great house keeper Dayami. Two beautiful pools with crystal clear water, lots of beds and chairs to lay in. Thanks to Frank and Lilly who kept us entertained. Our main bartender Osvaldo, was the best, and remembered what we drank everyday, which was amazing since we were a group of ten people. We also have to mention Alex, Yusen, and Sandy, they also did a great job with our group. Let's Talk about the food. Fantastic! We had gourmet food at all the
A la carte, you could order as much as you wanted and it was prepared fresh every time. It sure beats the buffet. Our compliments to the chefs and restaurant staff. Special thanks to Belkins, Tatiana, Dina, and our pool BBQ chef. There is a beautiful market beside the resort to shop at. Our Bell Boy Leniel was fantastic, he would make sure he picked up my father everyday in the cart to take him for dinner and the market. A very special thank you to our butlers Anna and Alex who arranged everything for us, even our surprise romantic night, xoxo. Thank you to Miguel for running such a fabulous resort. Thank you Mateusz for helping our group and talking to us daily. We will be back soon. Thank you for the best vacation ever Lori, Dale and Family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dale J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Dale J,

Thank you for trsut in our company Royalton luxury resorts and thank you for choosing Royalton Cayo Santa Maria.

We are very proud and happy reading your review, because you have visited 10 times Cuba and you normaly didnt visit twice a hotel and you did it with us. Thank you!

We will share your great comments with all the staff and we hope to see you soon,

Kind regards,

Miguel Del Fraile
Managar
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Santa Maria
2.8 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,240 reviews
3.3 mi away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#2 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#10 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#8 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
230.0 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton Cayo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton Cayo Santa Maria

Property: Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Address: 05200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Royalton Cayo Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing