We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royalton Cayo Santa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Maple, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“relaxing vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

sucks that only sunwing offers this resort. worst airline ever

all the reviews i read before going on this vacation were all pretty much true.

the only thing to do at this resort is relax and eat great food
wish they changed up the lunch menu a bit, hard to eat the same food 6 days in a row
they also run out of items daily, our 2nd last day they had run out of half there lunch menu.
the good food like calimari, shrimp and avacado were there one day and gone for 2 days.

pools are a little small, after 12pm the water temperture was sauna like..

the resort itself was really clean, the rooms were very nice. no caribbean smell in the room.
bring bug spray...

no entertainment for the guest's at all. no sports or activites. well they had ping-pong and a 4 foot volleyball net.

this resort caters more to a mature crowd. 45 plus... im 30 and felt really outta place.

overall though, best vacation as of yet
weather was perfect, hot everyday.
beautiful lightning storms over the ocean every night.
lobster was really good,

Room Tip: i was in unit 0510 great view of the ocean close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank maurizio f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear guests :

Thank you for your comments. We have carefully analyzed and revised our procedures in order to always ensure your best satisfaction.

There are some points that we would like to point out though as for example the water temperature of the pool which is not regulated. You visited us in the hottest month of the year when every pool in Cuba and even the ocean becomes very warm.

We do have activities during the day, but they are, just like our hotel, quite calm and relaxing like stretching, walks on the beach, dominoes, Spanish lessons and History lessons. All you have to do is ask for them. There is also a small entertainment team that proposes these activities around the pool and every day.

We do not understand why you would feel left out. We have many different kinds of guests and the 30s is a big and popular category. Here at Royalton, every guest is treated with the same kindness and desire to please. Your satisfaction is important to us, and we do not discriminate against anyone.

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your opinion as it is quite important to us. We hope we were able to clear up some of the comments that you have made for our future guests.

We hope to welcome you once again to Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, your relaxing hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,220
    447
    157
    36
    10
See reviews for
192
2,162
42
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I, along with our daughter and her boyfriend, travelled to the Royalton in Cayo Santa Maria from September 24 to October 1/13. Upon our arrival at the Royalton, we were met by friendly staff, offered a cool drink, a cold towel and fruit kabobs. There is no formal front desk that you might find in most hotels so check in was done by our "greeters" who took our passports and had our room information to us within minutes. What a great concept!

We have been to Cuba over 10 times and by far this was the best resort we've been to. The food was excellent most of the time; there were a few menu items that were not great but overall, very impressive. Rooms are large and well-appointed. Bathroom had everything you needed; large shower, separate tub, privacy toilet, clothes line, etc. We always had towels, air conditioning worked like a charm and fridge was always well-stocked. We never had to ask for anything!

The service is also impeccable with one minor complaint which happened on the morning of our departure. We were scheduled to leave the resort at 6:00 a.m. and were informed that we could get breakfast at the 24-hour Sunset restaurant. Unfortunately, there was only 1 person working and although we sat there for half an hour waiting for him to take our order, it never happened. Couldn't even get a cup of coffee or juice. We left without having breakfast.

Although we had 2 butlers assigned to us, we really never had the opportunity to use their services. They were always there to greet us and always asking if everything was ok or if we needed anything. Nice touch.

Overall bar and staff service was very good. My only complaint is the red wine being served at the Sunset was way too warm. I know it's a silly complaint but really warm red wine doesn't taste too good no matter how good the wine is.

The resort is quaint and very quiet which is what we wanted. It never felt as if there were more than 50 people there. You could always find a lounger whether at the beach or poolside. That was definitely a nice change from other resorts that we've been to. Although I have to wonder if the same would apply in high season. I sincerely hope that it does.

We will definitely recommend this resort to our friends & family and will definitely return for more pampering.

Room Tip: We were in Bungalow 11 which was fairly central, closer to the beach and lower pool. We had a second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
10 Thank Helen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guests:

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! Your comments are so important to us. They are the ones who help our way to making sure you have the most wonderful vacation.

We have read your comments carefully and taken good notes of the incidents your mention. We were very sorry to hear about your departure breakfast and rest assured that we will revise our procedures. For general information, there is also the lobby bar that is open 24/7 so you can get a natural fruit juice or coffee with pastries on the way out. We will also check the wine temperature, although you can ask your waiter to chill your bottle out or even to put it in ice close to your table, it would be our pleasure!

We very much appreciate your comments dear guests, thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience!!

We hope to welcome you again to Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, your paradise in the sun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

From the moment we stepped off the bus we knew we found the place we would be coming back year after year. Hands down the Royalton is amazing. ...... The pictures on trip advisor are the real thing. Ya so what the pool has a few tiles missing big deal get over it. I love the fact you don't have to wear long pants for dinner after all we are on vacation not in the office, Omar and Julie don't change that rule. The staff WOW truly amazing is an understatement. ........ Yoldy, Ariel and Jennili all were amazing again amazing is an understatement. Omar and Julie are always asking if you need anything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The food was very very good. Thanks so much Scottie and Gig Hebert room 0508 sept

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hebes17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guests:

WOW!!!!!! Amazing right back to you! Your review is awesome thank you so much!!!!

First off, we LOVE that you mention that the pictures are true!! So are the comments and answers!! We are all about being real and honest! This way, when you arrive, you are not disappointed and you get exactly what you expect...and more!

Also, good news! The tiles in the pool are being fixed as we speak!! As you say, it is a detail, but unfortunately a construction default that had to be fixed to offer our clients the most beautiful pools in Cuba!

We are infinitely touched by your comments dear guests, we remember you well and are happy that we were able to create an unforgettable vacation for you.

We hope to welcome you back to Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, your wow-amazing hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We visited the resort from September 24 to October 1 on our honeymoon. This was our first time to Cuba, the country and resort did not disappoint!

This resort is truely a piece of paradise. The resort itself is beautiful, very elegant and luxurious and very clean. We stayed in one of the suits, we loved the privacy and balconies and the private jacuzzi was definitely enjoyed. Our maid did a fantastic job! My only complaint about the room was the firmness of the mattress but that is my personal preference, my husband prefers a firm mattress and found the bed quite comfortable.

The beach is simply perfect for swimming. White sand and crystal clear water, we spent almost every day at the beach. Our weather was perfect and the sun was very warm! However, there are lovely palm umbrellas on the beach that provided much needed shade and the constant breeze meant it was never too hot to enjoy the beach. The staff at the beach bar are fantastic, and the quesadillas were delicious.

The service at the resort was perfect. The staff were extremely friendly and truely aimed to please. Our butlers Mario and Noelvis were wonderful, they were a big highlight of our trip! The food was always good, and the ice cream at desert was amazing! Everything always tasted fresh and was beautifully presented.

The resort is quiet, which was perfect for us. There were daily activities and entertainment but nothing upset the tranquility of the resort. All of the events and entertainment could be enjoyed or not enjoyed as we wished. A vacation at the Royalton is a vacation of pure relaxation!

Thank you to the Royalton for making our honeymoon truely unforgettable. We look forward to returning to the Royalton soon!

Stephanie and Eric

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Stephanie-Kimpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear guests:

You cannot even start to imagine the joy we felt reading your review. A honeymoon is such an important event in our lives and nothing makes us prouder than to have left an unforgettable impression. Our little gem will forever be in your hearts! Wow!

Your kind words have touched us deeply. We are very much dedicated to the happiness and satisfaction of our clients. That is what the Royalton is all about. We are so pleased that we were able to connect to your and tend to your every needs.

Thank you once again dear guests, for this amazing review!! Your words are important to us and we could never thank you enough for sharing them with us!

We hope to welcome you again to celebrate your first wedding anniversary at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria your honeymoon hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just got back on Sept. 25 from the Royalton in Cayo Santa Maria. We had the best service from our concierges, Ariel and Voddy. Weather was fantastic and the resort is brillant. Food at times was a hit and miss, but overall excellent. I recommend this as one of the best all-inclusive we have stayed at for accommodation, drinks, food, and service. They will go out of their way to please you, specifically if it is a special occasion. Thank you to all the staff at the Royalton, great job.

R. Povey

Room Tip: Ask for a gardenview balcony in building 4 or 5 so you can see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GregoryP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear guests:

Wow thank you for your wonderful comments! We are so happy that you have enjoyed your vacation with us!

We appreciate that you mention the fact that our first goal is to please you, as this is exactly our reason for being! For us, you are number one and so is your vacation. It is great to read that you were able to experience this service first-hand!

Thank you once again for your great comments dear guests, they are very important to us in order to continue giving you the same quality that we are known for!

We look forward to welcoming you to Royalton Cayo Santa Maria your R & R hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

my friend and me so enjoyed this resort this is my 5th year of going to Cuba . all the staff from butlers to waitresses to towel and bars the maids all 5 star. we had the best holiday ever we will return. special thanks to Paul and his lovely wife for keeping us entertained they are the best . hope to see them again. I recommend seniors to look at this resort. the pools are the best we enjoyed the pool with the barbeque and a great social pool. see you again

Room Tip: room 0503 was great right by pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear guests:

What beautiful comments! Thank you for taking the time to post them! Your comments are our guide to survival! They are the ones who guide the way to continue making you happy during your vacation; we simply cannot live without them!

Thank you for mentioning that seniors should look at our little gem. Everyone is welcome here: seniors, youngsters, honeymooners, anniversaries, friends, families, birthdays, singles, the only thing you need in common is your need of tranquility and peace. Our Royalton is specialized in helping you gain back your strength in such a fast and high-rated life, no matter how young or old you are!

We very much appreciate your comments dear guests! It was a pleasure to read you!!

We hope to welcome you once again to Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, your wow hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful week at this amazing Resort. Special thanks to Julie, and all the wonderful staff, truly a great resort, from the staff, the rooms, the food was amazing. If you are looking for a week in paradise then this is the place for you. The food was outstanding, along with the service, The staff did everything they could to make your holiday one to remember, and this is definitely a vacation to remember. Can't wait to go back.
Peter & Adele

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank AdelePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar D, Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear guests:

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We remember you well and hope that you will come back and visit us very soon!!

We do our best every day to make sure that you spend an incredible vacation amongst us. We know how hard you work for your well-deserved vacation and we want you to enjoy every minute of it!

Thank you for your comments dear guests, they are very important to us!!

We certainly hope to welcome you back very soon to Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, your wonderful resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Santa Maria
2.9 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#7 of 14 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
84.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 14 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#2 of 14 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,479 reviews
230.0 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#8 of 14 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton Cayo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton Cayo Santa Maria

Property: Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Address: 05200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Royalton Cayo Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing