We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at the Royalton, Cayo Santa Maria”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Christmas at the Royalton, Cayo Santa Maria”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Awesome resort! My fifth trip to Cuba and my wife's 14th trip to Cuba and this was the best for her. For me, this resort was equal to the Melia Cayo Santa Maria. A few different things about each resort but overall you would be happy with either. Rooms were great, we had an ocean view and it was a fantastic view. The service was amazing. I don't remember all the names of the staff but if the manager of the Royalton is reading this, my sincerest thanks to the following:
Ery, our butler - Wow! Provided a service better than any service I have received at any hotel.
Jen Lee (Jennie), entertainment guy, promote him and get rid of the Plastika female who is so condescending and extremely annoying. Jennie was superb. Always a smile and a helping hand and so good with everyone.
Emelio, works with Jennie - awesome individual and another genuinely nice Cuban!
Raydel - at the snackbar. Last year it was Madeleine at the Melia, this year Raydel. An absolutely delight to be near. A smile, great sense of humour and service beyond belief.
Bartenders, Yulie, Embry - not sure of the names but they work the pool bar near the snack bar and provide beach service. Always a smile and time to listen to all the crazy canucks.
About the resort, there were a few small hiccups. One was our shower stall, which sloped toward the shower door and not the drain. Not so bad except for the one inch gap between the door and the hinge which let all the water out onto the floor. Again, not so bad except the water goes somewhere and we were on the second floor which means eventually problems for the people below. No need to rip out the whole shower floor, just put a two inch lip inside the shower door and you will be fine.
Beach towels, a shortage of towels meant you had to use the same towels several days in a row. I am sure this will be solved with time.
Be aware that the snack bar has better service during the day than the Eggsellence restaurant. I found the service during lunch hour at Eggsellence very slow and the staff not always attentive, with the exception of an older lady, tall, slim with short black curly hair. She was great.
Midge flies, also known as No-no's, No See-um's or Sand Flies. They were bad. If you are not familiar with these things they sting like mosquitoes but several times worse. Bring Deet! Load up on vitamin B a couple weeks before you go - it helps. Bring an antihistamine - it will help with the itching. Do your research on Midge flies.
Bugs, insects are part of being in the tropics. Be prepared. I forgot the antihistamine and paid the price.
Overall, this was a great resort, great service, food was great by Cuban standards - make sure you go there with the right expectations. Cuba has sunshine, beaches, the most amazing, friendly people in the world but their resources are limited. They do absolutely amazing things with what they have but don't expect what you get in Canada - we are resource rich, Cuba isn't. Tip generously, it helps them.

Room Tip: Small resort, all rooms have a nice view. Some of the ocean, some of the pool, some of the gardens/v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar D, General Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear guests:

Christmas under the sun! What a great idea! Thank you so very much for your generous review, our staff will be so pleased and prout to read your comments! We are very dedicated to you dear clients and your comments clearly show it!

As for the flies you are talking about, we are glad you mention them as they are very common in all the Cayos of Cuba, including this one unfortunately. They are called jejenes and are almost invisible to the naked eye! They are not dangerous at all, but for some reason, many people have a small allergic reaction to them and get little red bumps just like a mosquito bite but no worries fellow travellers, nothing a little Benadryl can fix, ! Make sure you bring some bug spray, and you will be fine. Once again, no worries, they are not dangerous at all, just itchy!

As for beach towels, situation resolved! We have changed our strategy and have finally received the quantity we were missing. As of this week, beach towels are changed into clean ones in your room during turn-down service to insure that you always have a clean towel! As for service, new staff has been added and schedules revised so that we offer the best efficient service possible.

Thank you once again for your interesting and constructive comments, it is nice to read about the hotel but about Cuba as well, you are experts!

We hope to welcome you once again to Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, your Christmas and all-year round destination!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,331
    485
    169
    44
    15
See reviews for
211
2,288
44
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Royalton the second week it was opened. It was unquestionably an amazing resort. A week we will never forget! It is a contemporary, chic, well thought out adult only place with only 122 rooms on a large property. Because of the smaller number of rooms/people, this made access to all the restaurants, snack bar, swimming pools and beach lounge chairs uncomplicated and always available.Check in at the Royalton was beyond quick and flawless, wow, what a treat. Our outstanding Butler, Ery, a gentlemen to boot, insured that we were always being taken care of. Daymi, the princess of mixology at the upper pool bar, was a delight and we strongly urge anyone to check out her "Blue cocktail"!

The fully stocked with international brands piano bar was a great place to start the evening with an awesome alcohol selection and entertainment which was also a theme throughout the hotel in the evening. Of note was the synchronized swimming show.

The food was quite good and they did their best to accommodate any culinary requests you had. The lobster was fantastic to name but one dish! There really is 24 hour great dining at the snack bar named "Sunset". We did not arrive at the resort until 1230 am and found ourselves a little hungry. By 115 am my wife was eating lobster salad and prosciutto and toas and I woofed back a really good cheeseburger with fries! Meals were brought to you anywhere you wanted them (pool side, room, etc) at any time and drinks were brought to you anywhere including the beach.

The walk to the beach from the lower pool area only took less than a minute, the beach had security, there was a person to move and clean your always available lounger, the beach was pristine and the ocean was beautiful.

Every afternoon we came back to a spotless well appointed room with a towel artfully shaped in the form of an elephant, swan and other figures.Since coming back to Toronto, I have been trying to recreate these shapes with my towels however I am totally unsuccesful to date!

Make sure you visit Pueblo Estrella, and check out the artists and crafts. Most of which are only there one day as they rotate. Check out the spa that is like an oasis and go to the cigar shop and be sure to buy some of the hand rolled cigars as well as the well known labelled brands.

We were fortunate enough to be part of a symbolic Royalton tree planting opening ceremony and we so look forward to coming back and seeing the progress of our palm tree!

We found that the Royalton attracted a quality group of people aged mid 30's and up. It is a very laid back place but you can have all the action and noise you want at both the Memories Paraiso and Azul beside the resort that as a Royalton guest you have access to. There is also a disco and themed parties in the Pueblo late into the night.

We had an amazing experience and are recommending The Royalton to all our family and friends, This is truly a 5 star resort with exceptional service. The management team deserves a lot of credit for providing such an environment at such an early stage of the Royalton's existence. Well done Omar! Thank you for getting rid of the ashtrays at " Eggscellence" making the smoke free outside breakfast area that much more enjoyable!

In closing, "wow", "thank you" and we cant wait to return shortly to The Royalton.

Adam & Vicky

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
42 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco-Mazzucchelli, General Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear guests:

What a wonderful review, thank you so much for your generosity! Wow, it seems like such a long time ago that we were in our second week of opening, so much has changed since your departure that you will have no choice but to come back and visit us!

We have kept though our contemporary, chic, tranquil ambiance but have amped up service even more! We also have 7 new menus to keep you on your toes and each one is more amazing than the next! The sunset 24h grill keeps up it's amazing menu for those who wish for something different and as you mentionned, there is also the option of our sister hotels Memories Azul and Paraiso for great fun and other a la carte restaurants. After that it's back to your little peace of heaven at Royalton!

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Omar and all the Royalton send a warm hello and hope to welcome you back very soon at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, where being Royal is a permanent state!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at the Royalton from Dec 15th to the 22nd. We were a bit worried with it being a new resort, but got a great deal and decided to check it out. The hotel is brand new and I have to say...It is not only 5 star for Cuba..but it compares to our 5 start hotels in Canada.
The bus ride to the hotel is long..1.70hrs but worth the drive. The hotel is all modern with an infinity pool when you walk past the lobby, canopy beds to lay in the sun or shade all around the pool. There are 2 pools (no swim up bars) but both pools have a pool bar. The regular rooms are large and well furnished with glass and tile showers and soaking bathtubs in every room. The resort is small so walking around is nice and short. We spent a few nights in the Royalton suite and I have to say..this is the nicest hotel room I have ever seen. Its 2 floors with 2 bathrooms..2 balconies and a step in Jacuzzi hot tub on the lower balcony. The rooms are very clean and well taken care of by the maids. The view of the ocean from the suite is amazing, and you are treated like royalty if you stay in one.
The grounds are well kept as well and are being groomed and things added daily.
The resort is very modern and is stunning.
The resort does not have a buffet, but 3 a la cartes for very meal and everything we ate was excellent, not just for Cuba, but for here as well! You can get the buffet at the resort next door (Memories) but i dont suggest it. After having the Royalton food it will just be disappointing. The only downside is that the menu's limited. I assume they will be adding to them as they go, but it kind of gets a bit boring after the week, thankfully the food is amazing! lol
They also have premium alcohol like Jamison and beefeater.
The beach is only a short 2min walk from the rooms and is the most beautiful beach i have seen, and I have been to Cuba many times. The water is shallow, calm and crystal clear.
The best part of this hotel is that fact that its adults only. Laying by the pool was actually peaceful and relaxing. There is a beach bar...they only thing I would say is they need more staff at the bar to bring drinks to you on the beach. Most of the staff is very helpful, however I wish that the people working the front desk understood English a bit better as there was a bit of confusion over the phones while speaking with some of them. The head manager was absolutely fantastic however! Very impressed..he was helpful, knowledgeable, and truly cared about your stay.
For entertainment..check out Memories next door..they do lots of different shows nightly and are worth it. I found this hotel to be mainly an older crowd..so if you want to party a bit..go to Memories.

This hotel is amazingly priced for what you get, and Im sure the rates will go up..so get it cheap while you can! You wont be disappointed!

Room Tip: If you can get the Royalton Suite...you wont be dissapointed..well worth the extra money! And try to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank happyjbird1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco-Mazzucchelli, General Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guests:

Thank you! We strive on being the best hotel in Cuba and we are getting better and better everyday! You would be surprised at all the changes since your departure! Starting tomorrow we have a different menu every day in our a la carte restaurants! 7 diferent menus per week! Rest assured that your favorite will always be available, no matter what you feel like heating!

As for the language barrier, it is getting better and better every day! Most of our staff is amazingly trained in customer care and service, but we have to remember that the courses were given in Spanish! Although English is taught in school, there is no better way to learn faster than with working with our wonderful guests every day!

We are very happy that you enjoyed your vacation with us! In the name of the whole Crew, I send you a warm hug and look forward to welcome you to the best of the best, Royalton Cayo Santa Maria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Neither of us was really sure about doing an all-inclusive but thought we would try - needless to say we absolutely loved Cuba, the Royalton and all the people we met! We were sad to leave and excited about when we will be able to get back. Everything was flawless from the moment we arrived on the 16th until we left. Each day we were greeted by the staff that remembered our names and made sure all our needs were looked after. We can't say enough about the Royalton, except to say "take our word and go - you will not be disappointed!". Jordy, Eric and Daimy made this trip for us - it wasn't just the excellence in how they did their jobs but it was the genuine people who they are. It always brought a smile to have the opportunity to have a word with them! They are a credit to the Royalton and Sunwing Vacations. Thanks for one of the best vacations we've ever had!
PS - the food was great - we ate seafood everyday!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
39 Thank KiwiFromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar D, General Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear guests:

Paradise. We like that word. And that is exactly the feeling we try to give to every customer. That they are in paradise. Nothing makes us more happy than to see that we succeeded with you!

Your comments are so generous, thank you very much for letting us know how you feel about out new little gem! Everybody is dedicated to make your stay one you will always remember, from the moment you step in until we unfortunately have to say goodbye when you go home, but only to return again very quickly!

We work restlessly every day to keep your little paradise alive and well until your next visit. And our efforts are paying off. Things are improving everyday so quickly so that the next time you come, your paradise will be even more perfect!

Thank you once again dear clients, we look forward to peparing your next visit to heaven at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Let me start by saying this, I've travelled around the world and The Royalton is the first property I've ever taken the time to put up a review for. That should tell you something!

Before my wife and I travel we ask ourselves what we are looking for out of a vacation, the list this time went as follows;
1. Some peace & quiet. (we've worked 6 days a week for nearly 2 years)
2. A beautiful beach to walk.
3. A clean resort.
4. Great food.
5. Friendly people.

The Royalton had reviews that made us want to go and once there, we were FAR from dissapointed! The Royalton is remarkably quiet and restful for a resort and despite the two additional resorts available being rather "touristy" and loud, they do not interfere with the soothing bliss that is The Royalton. Don't get me wrong here, The Royalton is NOT boring! It's just that if you want to slow it down a little like we did at the time, The Royalton and it's superb staff will make it happen for you. If you want to 'play' and party like a kid, there are The Memories locations just a short walk away to do so. It's really the best of both worlds!

The beach is AH-mazing! There are about 6 or so kilometers to walk to the west of the resort and another 1 or 2 to the east. The water was clear and warm and the sand, very soft between your toes. Take advantage of the little known natural fish aquarium! I'll keep it a bit of a mystery to keep it from getting too crowded all the time but pay attention to the Pellicans, evryone knows that they eat fish right? :) You can walk in the water at about hip depth and be surrounded by millions, that's right! Millions of unique and colourful fish.

Describing anything in Cuba as "clean" can often be followed by, "for Cuba". NOT The Royalton! This place could be the freshest, brightest and cleanest spot on the planet! From our room to the pools, the restaurants to the beach bar it was obvious, everyone wanted to maintain the incredibly high standards of cleanliness that the management team had set for the resort.

As with clean, good food in Cuba is also followed by "for Cuba" more often than not. The food was amazing is a term that I do not throw around lightly but trust me, THE FOOD WAS AMAZING! Every little detail was catered to and if one small thing was requested by any guest we noticed, it was taken care of to perfection. There's a great variety too so go ahead, try everything! I did and anything that didn't tickle my fancy was MY fault, not the resorts!

As for friendly people, The Royalton staff and guests set the bar VERY high! We felt like we'd won the lottery of friendship by the time we'd left. How many places do you go for vacation and get a genuine invite to someone's house for Christmas Dinner? We were actually going to take them up on the offer at first because we were missing our family rather bad, but then we realized that the poor soul was going to drive in and back, 2 1/2 hours each way, just to make our Christmas a bit better. UNREAL! Thank you SO much for making us realize we had 'family' around us the whole time! There was also the Cuban festival at Remidios on Christmas Eve where a large group of guests went to experience the true taste of Cuban culture. Each one returned telling stories about what they saw and heard, what fun it was and to a person, how wonderful the people of The Royalton truly are.

I've tried to think of anything I didn't like or was dissapointed in and I think when you hear my one gripe, you're going to know that it is rather petty to tell the truth.
I missed Cuban music. There, I said it. The two pools are seperated by a fair amount with what seemed to be the "quieter" pool up top by the lobby and the other, just a short jaunt down the path to the center of the resort. Both are quiet and incredibly beautiful places to have a drink and relax or go for a swim when cooling down is required. My issue as little as it seems to be, (even to me!) was the background melodies being rather elevator'ish North American tunes by Celine D. or Elton John. I casually mentioned this along with a few others and PRESTO! The last 3 days in the afternoon Cuban Music softly filled the air and made my hips feel like swinging from side-to-side. This was NOT Cuban party music. It wasn't loud and obnoxious EVERYBODY GET UP AND DANCE NOW music. It was music that let you know exactly where you were and that's Cuba! Exactly where I WANTED to be at the time.

Having been to The Royalton in only it's fourth week of operation I do know one thing for certain, it's only going to get better with age! The staff and management wouldn't have it any other way. I could throw a list of names together to say thank you to but honestly, I'd be devistated if I forgot one name out of the dozens that made this trip SO very special.

So Royalton crew, ALL OF YOU,
Gracias por hacer que nos sintiéramos como en casa en su casa!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
60 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar D, General Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear guests:

We love the title of your comments! Mostly we are proud that we could have that affect on you! And even better, that you would take the time to write about us makes us gives us the chills! Thank you so, so much!!

We kind of like the sound of the 'Royalton Crew'! Makes us sound so cool!! We really love the way you have described our hotel and we sincerely hope that many will read your comment. It is amazing how our clients describe us so amazingly well, from top to bottom, from the lobby to the beach and even our music styles! And you are right, whatever you want, you will get!

Your generosity is overwhelming dear guests, we remember you well and miss you so already!! We loved your sense of humour! And yes, we will put Cuban music on when you are here, as you mentionned so well, it's not that we are boring, but the Royalton is really a hotel of relaxation, peace and quiet for hard-working clients just like you.

From the Royalton Crew, we thank you from the bottom of our hearts! Come back soon, we'll be waiting to create another amazing holiday for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Food/Restaurants: For Cuban standards the food was great. Some dishes were excellent while others take some more practice from the cooks to master. For example Sushi tasted like it was made hours earlier and taken from fridge which made the rise cold and dry and there was not as much fish as you might expect. However, more familiar dishes to locals were delicious and there was enough variation in the menus for us. Royalton Burger is great! We had no issues making the reservations for dinners when we wanted, which was all handled by our butler. Atmosphere in restaurants was great and service was spectacular. Sometimes there were small issues with the language, but nothing some extra communication didn't fix and friendliness compensated any lack in the language skills.

Room: The room was spacious and the bathroom was very stylish. We had a small problem with the shower though as it leaked easily to the bathroom floor (and there’s no drain in the floor). It seemed like an issue in the shower floor design as it wasn't tilted/dented enough to keep the water from overflowing, so we had to keep shower in low volume and sometimes even stop the shower altogether to avoid leakage. Something they can probably fix easily by adding a water blocker. Also there were some problems with hot water that you had to let it run for few minutes in the morning before getting any. During couple of days there were no water at all for couple of hours, but apparently that was issue with all the hotels in the area, not only Royalton. Luckily it didn’t affect any of our plans. There is also a safe in the room that is large enough for a smaller laptop as well and which is easy to use.

Service: From gardeners to managers the service was top notch. They were very friendly and wanting to help us even with smaller things. Bartenders and butlers were always easily accessible no matter where in the resort we were. Bellboys were always more than happy to give you a lift where ever you wanted to go. It was easy to exchange money at the front desk, while for credit card withdrawals you had to go to the Memories ~10min by walk or ~5min with shuttle. Chambermaid did amazing job in mornings and evenings. It was always a pleasant surprise to find out how the room was prepared while we had been away.

Entertainment: Entertainment group was very friendly and there was variety of activities, but we didn't have much time to participate on them. Each evening there was a different show/concert that was good quality, but we hoped they would have lasted longer to full fill the evening. The internet wasn't working while we were there, but it was nice to be off the grid for a week anyway so we didn't miss it a bit. We had one rainy day but there is a small gym shared by all hotels close by in the nearby "village" that we enjoyed. Couple of extra equipment would be nice though for more complete exercise. The gym had good air conditioning and staff kept the equipment clean.

Spa: The spa is in the village next to the hotel and is a small haven on its own. We can highly recommend getting a massage which was very relaxing. However, manicure isn't quite up to the Canadian standard. It was great that butler handled all the bookings and we had no problems getting the times we wished. The prices were quite high and close to the level you can expect to pay in Canada, but the 20% discount you get by booking through your butler is nice.

Beach: While the beach is shared between all the resorts, the Royalton section was quiet and peaceful. It was clean and well kept. The beach boy helped every time setting up and brushing the sand off the beach chairs and laying the towels. The bar service was also operating on the beach, which is great. The beach is long enough even for longer walks and we never even walked from one end to the other. Water is very clean and you can walk quite far until your feet doesn't reach the bottom.

We booked a 7 night package since we were a bit vary about the hotel being so new and we weren’t sure how well our stomachs could handle the Cuban food. However, it turned out to be such an amazing resort and we would have wanted to extend our vacation. While it would have been ok for the hotel, Sunwing didn’t have option to move the return date even for a fee, but they would have required us to buy full-priced plane tickets ($435 per person). That was a bit of a disappointment since they advertised the extension was a possibility, but next time we know to book a longer trip from the beginning.

Overall we were extremely pleased with everything! We were pleasantly surprised how well everything was operating considering the hotel just opened 3 weeks ago. The service is fantastic and we hope it stays that way. We highly recommend this to any couple seeking for some luxury and perfect relaxation. Thank you for making our vacation the best ever and we hope to see you soon!

Room Tip: Bungalow 06: Perfectly located next to the main pool, snack bar and the path to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank LJFinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco-Mazzucchelli, General Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guests:

Wow!! What an exhaustive review! A-ma-zing!! There is no need to say anything else about our hotel! You have mentionned it all!!

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our new little gem, it so important for us to know your opinion, your likes and dislikes so we can keep working and improving every day!

Your review is truly remarkable and makes it very easy for us to pinpoint what we need to work on! We will not comment on every point because this answer would be 3 pages long, but rest assured that all was commented with every department of our hotel and improvements will be made.

It is wonderful to read that you will be back as we were going to invite you anyways, just so you can see all the progress that we have been making!

Looking forward to pampering you once again at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, you close-to-home paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at the Royalton from Dec. 15th until the 22nd Everything was perfect except a minor plumbing problem that was fixed in short time. We were pleasently surprised, especially with the food, as it was better then expected. We have been to Cuba before and the food was average at best. The hotel being new has some growing pains but the Management and staff did everything they could to make our stay a memorable one. If you want to relax this is the place to go. The beach is outstanding and we were very fortunate to have perfect weather the entire week we stayed at the Royalton. We were also impressed by our pool side bartended Liondre who never left us thirsty and always had a smile on his face. I celebrated my birthday there and while we had just finished our dinner I was surprise by a very special birthday desert.Our room was wonderful spacious and comfortable and the wirlpool bath and large separate shower added to the luxury of our cabana. We were truly pampered during our stay as upon returning to our room one evening we were greeted by a bottle of chamagne and dark chocolate covered pares in our room.another of the many pleasent surprises we had during our stay I would have rated this hotel a five star but being new there are items the management and staff are still working on, and the Royalton will be the place to go in Cayo Santa Maria. Would we recommend the Royalton "Absolutely" In a short time I'm sure this resort will be one of the finest in all of Cuba.Note: A special thanks goes out to Julie for her professionlism, and making our stay exceptional. We will return in the very near future

Room Tip: Cabana rooms are close to the pool and restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar D, General Manager at Royalton Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guests:

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! As you mention, since we are just opening up our new baby, there are still some details to pay attention, but we work restlessly day and night to ensure your perfect vacation!

Julie and the rest of the staff thank you for your comments and still remember you well! You are welcome anytime and we will keep taking care of you just like during your first vacation! We are happy that you enjoyed the food. We go out of our way to be different than the other hotels in Cuba and your comments prove that we are making it work! Imagine now, our chef is working on 7, yes, 7 new and different menus to diversify and make sure you enjoy an amazing culinary experience!

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future to Royalton Cayo Santa Maria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Santa Maria
2.8 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
1,216 reviews
140.9 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
0.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
140.6 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#10 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4,306 reviews
230.0 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton Cayo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton Cayo Santa Maria

Property: Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Address: 05200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royalton Cayo Santa Maria 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and TravelUp so you can book your Royalton Cayo Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing