We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good vacation other than SANDY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“good vacation other than SANDY”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We also just came back on the 26th and other than Sandy hitting it was a great place to be
On our buikding I was hearing the siding fall down during the night (we were on the 1st floor) but they were very quick to gather it up the next day when it calmed down.
We are very happy that we met some of the nicest people and the best workers ever Yes the pizza is to die for you must try it!
The Melia Cayo should be very proud they have such curtious and polite people working for them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marty&Marlena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia S M, Director General at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, April 23, 2016
Dear customer,
Thank you for your review, by the sound of it you had a great time!
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the resort and our service.
We hope to see you back soon, here at your second home, Melia Cayo Santa María!

Kind regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,685
    1,413
    644
    328
    199
See reviews for
905
2,099
155
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Granby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We visited the Melia Cayo Santa Maria from October 19th to the 26th. We had a relaxing vacation. Arrived on Friday afternoon. Beach towel awaited on our bed. Hurried to change into our bathing suits and hit the beach. More than enough long chairs for every one. The beach is amazing, warm water (86 degres)! Algeas picked up daily. Buffet is good, lots of choice. Maybe not as hot as it should be but very nice. French restaurant really not that great. Japanese restaurant is good but the cook is making more noise than you would be expecting. Bartenders are great and always happy to serve you drinks. Entertainment staff are asking you to participate at the activities but if you say no, they will not insist. Nice variety of activities ranging from waterpolo, dance lessons to aqua fitness. By the end of the week, hurricane Sandy hit in Holguin (300 km away) so the waves were bad, beach was closed. Our only problem was water dripping from the ceiling when the storm got bad. We enjoyed the pool (in between the rain stroms) When the sun came out, everyone rushed to the pool and the party started. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are not that quiet because of the activities going on in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jinny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia S M, Director General at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, April 23, 2016
Dear customer,
Thank you for your review, by the sound of it you had a great time!
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the resort and our service.
We hope to see you back soon, here at your second home, Melia Cayo Santa María!

Kind regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just returned on Friday night. Everyone knows by now that the weather was not what we hoped for but no one can be blamed. The first few days were nice so we were able to take advantage of the beautiful grounds of the hotel.
The trip from the airport was decent although we arrived at night so there was not much to see.Reception was fast and friendly. We asked for an ocean view which we sort of got. We were on the 2nd floor facing the ocean although the trees are very high so it wasn't the best we have had. Very large comfortable room kept very clean.
.
Even though it was close to midnight we went to the snack bar and had pizza which was delicious.
Customer service is close to the best I've seen. Called on 2 occaisions. Got ready to wait for at least an hour but they were at our door within 10 minutes
Although the beach is beautiful I would not consider it the nicest I have been at. We travel to the Carribean 3 times a year so I have become quite critical of beaches. Clean white sand but the beach is short so that when high tide comes in it comes right up to your chairs. Plenty of chairs and a fair amount of shade although most of the umbrellas have lost a good part of their coverings even before Sandy. After Sandy hit, there were not many usable ones left. ( but we didn't need them).
Pools are beautiful and very well kept. Everything is very clean but starting to be in need of repairs. I would hope that they start to fix some of the tiles around the pool and the aluminum siding on the buildings, if not the beauty of the hotel will deteriorate quickly.
Food in general was okay. We did not go hungry. The Cappacino was outstanding.
What makes this hotel is the grounds and the staff. They are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Yes there are always one or two that aren't but you shouldn't let that cloud your opinion.
Entertainment at night was ok. I am sure that my opinion of daytime activities would be different if the were not caught in the middle of a hurricane.
All in all a relaxing, wet vacation!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseeker88_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco B, General Manager at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Sunseeker

I am proud that you, with a huge knowledge about Caribbean, consider nicely our resort, there's a point that you mention that is very difficult to find in many places, they are the grounds they are really great and we work on them everyday.

The bushes, palm trees...and because this season was very rainy, they look lightly green, when you enter the hotel you can notice it.

Our pizza at the snack is an added value, our clients say they love it.

Hope you give us the possibility to improve your thoughts about the hotel in the future.

Best Regards

Paco Benito
General Manager
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Four if us arrived at the melia on the 7th oct after long flight with a two hour delay, but all part of the experiance . We were transferred quickly and tour operater on the bus was very hepful and friendly, when we got to the hotel ws greeted with band playing and offered cocktail drinks we all found the hotel well maintained rooms were lovely we were in block 2525 and our maids were very good room kept clean and tided every day and little towel disply and notes from here were lovely. The food was good always felt there was plenty of choice and enjoyed every meal i had, we tried the four al carte restrurants,enjoyed them all but felt the italian one was a little bit of a disapointment the french and the japanese were fab. All the bar staff and waitors were excellant very friendly and could not do enough for us our juan carlos works his socks of and the young chappy well done to the both of them. Our entertainment team what can we say fab, they made our holiday experiance so much fun Kenia, Denise, Enersto fab and great fun and the boys who took aqa gym, footie , and water polo everyone made sure we had a great time. The beach was lovely was great for snorkling, sunbathing and long walks. The trips that we went on catamaram excellant value for money and also the visit to the three towns enjoyed every minute. All four of us share the same veiws our holiday was fantastic the only negative thing we would have to say is you poured our rum to strong need two weeks detox now we are home. Would definently come back and recomend this hotel to all .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AyrshireChico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco B, General Manager at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Ayrshire

You know, you mentioned something we look for, to make you feel home.
We know how important holidays are for everyone so the only thing we have to do is to succed what you look for, some people look for sun, others for fun, others relax, others culture and we can give you all of them.

Thank you again for your comments and hope you return home very soon.

Best Regards

Paco Benito
General Manager
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We just returned from the MCSM yesterday the 26th, and have tried to get our review completed while all is still fresh in our minds!!
This was our first visit to Cayo Santa Maria, however our 9th visit to Cuba, a destination we hold special.
I guess we are fortunate to have been in Cayo Santa Maria in the past week vs. our more usual haunt in Holguin, as Hurricane Sandy appears to have hit it hard. While we cannot hide our disappointment over the poor weather with only few days of sun, we certainly tried to make the best of it and have tried hard to not have the rain influence our overall impression of the hotel. We knew full well from being somewhat seasoned Cuban travelers that October weather can be iffy. We were a tad disappointed that the hotel did not have much planned activities in the event of rain.
Our first impressions were magnificent. MCSM may be one of the best laid out facilities we have been to, not too big but not too small. Grounds were well maintained and pool area kept very clean. The swim up bar was a great place to hang out, even in torrential downpours!
The beach is beautiful as most comment, and we were told 10 km long! Also would like to note how clen it was, very little to no litter seen, which has not been the case at some other beaches we have been to.
We stayed in room 1718, which we found to be an excellent central location in the row of buildings near the beach.
Coffees were excellent, and pizza, hamburgers and hotdogs at the 24 hour restaurant near pool were very good.
The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, as good as any of the hotels we have been to in Cuba. We tip consistently but never felt it was required.
Due to low occupancy levels, the a la cartes were limited to just the Tuesday and Thursday, which was initially disappointing but not a big issue and understandable. We attended the Japanese and the Mediterranean, and rank them both as solid 4 star restaurants.
While the ride from the airport was 90 minutes, we enjoyed it. The guide was informative and friendly.
We took in the catamaran trip which was a blast.
What we didn’t like?
Attended the restaurant nearest the beach for lunch twice early in the week, and it was a big let-down. Having lunch off the grill sounded very attractive, and smelling the bbq firing up certainly built our anticipation. The fries were excellent, porch chops were almost all fat, and the meat was mostly flavorless and dry.
The service level in the buffet, while friendly, was not very attentive. We sat there on a few occasions for 10 to 15 minutes before being asked if we wished something to drink, and this while plenty of staff were on hand. We were never asked if we wanted a refill. The buffet was hit and miss. Daniel fried up an excellent omelet and was wonderful to chat with. A true gentleman and someone I would truly like to get to know better!
Our room was not dirty, but not as clean as we have experienced elsewhere.
Not sure we will be back given other hotels in this price bracket, primarily due to the food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LeafFansGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco B, General Manager at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Leaf

I really appreciate your comments.

It is true that last week due to the storm, we had some points specially because of staff not coming to work because of problems with buses caused by the storm and of course we understand that you choose Cuba because of the weather but we did our best trying to reduce the damage.

You say something important, the hotel is not very big but not too small, great size to be known but to have many different options.

Thank you very much and I hope you give us the possibility to change that smal not so good points about the hotel.

Best Regards

Paco Benito
General Manager
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and myself visited the hotel Melia Cayo Santa Maria Cuba from 7th - 21st October 2012
The hotel and grounds were excellent and well maintained, the staff helpful and friendly.
The beach was clean and sunloungers freely available. The food was acceptable and the catering staff and bar staff were always smiling and ready to help in anyway.
Really enjoyable holiday, we hope to return one day.
Mr & Mrs Aspinall

Room Tip: Had block 14 which was handy for restaurants, pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco B, General Manager at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Manny

I am very happy that after your stay, you want to come again and you already become part of the big family Melia Cayo Santa Maria.

I really hope to see you very soon.

Regards

Paco Benito
General Manager
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Lets start with the comments, my partner and i booked the Melia Cayo Santa Maria with Thomas Cook as a last minute deal, booked 3 weeks before departure. Then we decided to check out the hotel on Trip Advisor, and to our shock read about all the bad things listed by other visitors. All i can say is that once we arrived after a very long trip (delayed at Manchester 2 hours as we were told the long wave radio wasn't working) we were informed of our coach number, handed an envelope with our check-in details, room keys etc and boarded the coach. ok it was a 90 min journey but the coach had air con and we had a can of Cuban beer on route. Once we arrived at the Hotel we were met with cuban dancers and a glass of champers we even had the restaurant kept open for us to eat after we had freshened up. We took a short walk to our room we stayed in block 17 (room 1726) and found it to be clean, brightly coloured (cuban style) and overall very nicely laid out. As for some complaints about having to find your own room! Come on there were plenty of signs all well lit and it's not the north face of Mount Everest that your being tasked with! We found ours easily enough and the cases were delivered to our room by the bell boys soon after arriving. We then went after showering to the main buffet and had a great selection to choose from given the meagre meal served on the flight we were hungry. We then went for a drink in the bar area and had vodka and orange (Smirnoff as well not some local stuff). After a well uninterupted rest that night we took a walk around before Gorge's (TC's Rep) Greet Meet. We found that the room was very close to the beach which is superb and the sea is so clear and warm it has to be one of the best locations i have ever experienced. The staff at the hotel are so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. You were allocated 2 x towels which were exchanged every day for fresh ones and there was no need to get up early and pick your beach spot as you were guided to a brushed down sun lounger every day. The beach bar was excellent and so were all the other restaurants and facilities on site. Don't get me wrong we still overheard some people complaining but in my eyes if you want to spend 2 weeks by a pool drinking and eating then go to Spain, as you really need to go out and about in this wonderful country. We like so many others took a short plane trip to Havanah and to be honest it was as good as expected(watch out for the Cigar sellers a quick "no thanks" normally sends them packing) but not too exciting but hey we went to Cuba and can say we went to Havanah too. The Dolphin Swim was a highlight and would highly recommend this to anyone as long as you can swim an are not afraid of being lifted out of the pool by the dolphins (see my pic). What more can i say! remember that Cuba compared with other resorts is fairly new to tourism and you have to take that into consideration but they are getting there!! We found the MCSM to be a excellent hotel, well kept grounds, friendly staff and a fantastic beach. Oh as an additional point while we were there the sea tide brought in tons of seaweed but this was cleared over a couple of days by the beach staff (Well done). As for mosquitos ok yes you get bitten but your in a tropical enviroment with lots of other creatures about too and the hotel does send a spray round everyday but we got bit to peices in Havanah so what!! All i would like to say is that we enjoyed every minute of our time at MCSM and the only complaint i have is with Thomas Cook who decided to make a few extra quid out of everyone by getting you to pre-book your seats before departing to Cuba, This meant that both my partner and myself were sat alone on the outbound flight but thanks to a very nice CUBAN official we were checked in next to each other on the inbound flight. We even spoke to a couple who were on their honeymoon and she had never flown before were sepereted by Thomas Cooks get extra cash quick scheme (Not Good). Cuba is a great place to holiday and this resort and it's staff are highly recommended to all, Remember this site does have negative reports and as a Yorkshireman i'd be the first to complain but after my initial views and reviews of this hotel all i can say is that it isn't justified. If you didn't enjoy your stay here well it's because your to blame not the hotel. You were in Paradise and even that isnt good enough for some people. Ignore the reviews and judge it on your own merits. I would just like to say thank you to the Manager and all the staff for making this holiday one of the most enjoyable ive ever had and i hope to return very shortly.THANK YOU ALL

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the beach but to be honest it's not far to walk from any,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Spencer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco B, General Manager at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Spencer

Thank you very much in advance for your comments.
I use to say that a Hotel is like a city and it is very difficult to please everyone but we try our best to give our guests what you found.
Cuba is a great place and you have to come open minded, you have to enjoy all beautiful things I am sure you will find and don't forget that you are on holidays, relax and have fun.

I hope we have the possibility meeting again.

Best Regards.

Paco Benito
General Manager
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cayo Santa Maria hotels
4.5 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
1,176 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Memories Santa Maria
Grand Memories Santa Maria
#15 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
185 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3,019 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#3 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,597 reviews
1.4 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#6 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cayo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Santa Maria

Property: Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Address: Jardines del Rey, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#4 Spa Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cayo Santa Maria 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an island paradise off the northern coast of Cuba stands the 5- star All-Inclusive Meliá Cayo Santa María hotel, especially designed for families, surrounded by beautiful beaches and lush tropical vegetation. This property (358 rooms) offers facilities for incentives groups and a special wedding and honeymoon program. A perfect complement for an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Cayo Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Santa Maria Hotel Cayo Santa Maria
Cayo Santa Maria Melia
Cayo Santa Maria Cuba
Santa Maria Cuba
Melia Cayo Santa Maria Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing