We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradisio for the braino :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sol Cayo Santa Maria
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Gatineau
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Paradisio for the braino :)”
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Heavenly!!! If you want to relax and be treated like kings and queens do not hesitate to try this resort. As stated by other, there is no bed bugs but plenty of sand fleas, just bring a lot of Benadryl. As everywhere else in Cuba expect to be amazed by the high level of service of every staff member, from the ground keepers to the managers. As the Eagles said in little known song!!!! ''They are programmed to received, but you never want to leave''... Thank you for the good times, Robert&Nathalie.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bobino666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lati N, Gerente at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Hotel Management and all the staff working at Sol Cayo Santa María, we thank you for publication on Tripadvisor about your experience in our hotel.
We are very happy to acknowledge that your experience was amazing and unforgettable due to our facilities and excellent service. In Sol Cayo Santa María we want our valuable costumers to enjoy memorable holidays.
We invite you to visit us once again so you can enjoy our facilities and remain at your disposition for any further assistance prior your return.

We hope to see you very soon.

Best regards,

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    925
    492
    288
    175
See reviews for
628
1,113
179
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

First time in Cuba and glad I experienced it at the Sol Cayo Santa Maria.
We found the 90 minutes bus ride to the resort very informative and a good feel for Cuba
I can't say enough about the service oriented staff at this resort, they made us feel like family, we were always greeted for our meals with hugs and smiles and given the best of attention like Champagne, Cappuchinos, wine etc...
The rooms were comfortable and consistent with a clean 4 rating, examples like clean towels but perhaps small rust stains on them or clean floors but with paint drops from the ceiling etc..nothing to affect a comfortable stay, everything worked and the bed was hard but comfortable and the AC worked fine and plenty of low pressured hot water.
The food was again adequate for a 4 rating in Cuba, good variety for the country, we certainly did not ever leave hungry.
The grounds were impeccable and the bars well stocked and great lunches like pizza and grilled sandwiches etc.
The pools were clean and quiet for relaxing because most people including ourselves spend the day at the beach, fantastic play in the waves and plenty of chairs and pallapas and great for just walking and splashing for hours.
The shows were great and the piano bar was great for relaxing, great liquored coffees.
We took the train to the Barcello area complex for bowling and shopping and snooping along the way at the other resort lobby areas and even though they were more luxurious than ours, they didn't have the warmth and cozyness of ours.
We loved the size of the resort and the friendliness of the staff and guest, you would see the same faces and would easily exchange reviews of our daily activities.
We highly recommend this resort and plan in returning next year with our daughter and husband and our first grandchild who will be over 1 year old then.
If you go, please tip everyone who brings a smile to your face from the waiters to the gardeners and the room maid, they are so appreciative and deserving..
Jean and Leigh from Ottawa

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JCLOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lati N, Gerente at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Hotel Management and all the staff working at Sol Cayo Santa María, we thank you for publication on Tripadvisor about your experience in our hotel.
We are very happy to acknowledge that your experience was amazing and unforgettable due to our facilities and excellent service. In Sol Cayo Santa María we want our valuable costumers to enjoy memorable holidays.
We invite you to visit us once again so you can enjoy our facilities and remain at your disposition for any further assistance prior your return.

We hope to see you very soon.

Best regards,

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

We stayed at Sol in January 2009 with two grown up children.
The weather was excellent, warm and sunny every day.
The bus trip from the airport in Santa Clara to the island takes about an hour and a half and the bus guide was very good, describing the towns and spots that we traveled through.
This road built on the sea is amazing, the beautiful shallow water and the small islands make the trip enjoyable.
Our hosts took us to the room very quickly and the vacation started in the evening!
Now, the restaurant was not too bad but very repetitive, same food over and over, like all other Cuban resorts we went to. We are not picky about food, we are also vegetarians, and did not go for a vacation to eat and drink ourselves to death, so we managed. One positive, they had some amazing cheeses.
The first walk to the beach, on the wood walkways, took us to a beautiful white sand, wide strip, with chairs and umbrellas. Highly recommended, best beach I saw in Cuba. The water is shallow close to the edge, and drops sharply about 10 yards further. So careful with small children!
The room was average, with large windows and comfortable beds. The bathroom has a wide panoramic window looking into the walkway between bungalows. Never understood why.... Needed to draw down the curtain down.
We went there to relax doing triathlon training. Bike, swim, run, in this order... To explain, we were starting at about 10:30 AM, too hot to run, so we biked. We took our road bikes, not too expensive to fly over.
The road over the water, towards the main land, the road to Caibarien is in very good shape, just a few bumps here and there, especially near the airport. On the way out, from the resort there is tail wind, on the way back there is of course head wind, about 30 to 40 km/hr. Good work out.
You can swim in the ocean if the water is not rough, and run on the road in front of the resort, it is about 7 Km out and back.

Now about the rat. Yes, a rat! In our room, two nights in a row. The first night it woke us up in the middle of the night. I called the reception to send some one with a flash light, after I had chased it around the room and bathroom it hid under the bed. Not sure if it got out or not. The next day the manager called us for a conversation and apologized, told us how thy fight the rodents by spraying and setting up traps, words, words, words, not sure about action, however he spoke no English... And sent a bottle of rum later on....
The next night, and the last of our stay, the beast returned and chewed on our soap bars. So we slept in another room. But the disgust stayed with us and spoiled the enjoyment of the whole vacation...

On the low side, the entertainment activities were short and not running every day, and the nightly shows were not really nightly.

On the bright side, at the piano bar there is a lady - Elvira Jover on Tuesdays and Thursdays - a real world class pianist, go and listen to her! She was a conservatory professor, too bad she can not travel and perform.
Also the traditional Cuban music Trio Alma, an excellent group of conservatory trained musicians.
So Mr. General Manager of Sol - Melia please see to have the rats trapped and chased away so they do not come into our rooms if we chose to come back.
Overall impression, good, but a three star facility at best, in our opinion.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Klapautzius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lati N, Gerente at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your good comments. That is why our staff works for.
We keep working every day to give all our best to our dear guest.
We hope you can come back to Sol Santa Maria again.

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil,ont.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

We wanted to really relax, enjoy the beach and have a restful holiday. We found this all inclusive resort suited our purposes, we would recommend to anyone wanting a really lay-back vacation. The rooms were fine, food was unexpectedly very good, and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annejohnlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lati N, Gerente at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Hotel Management and all the staff working at Sol Cayo Santa María, we thank you for publication on Tripadvisor about your experience in our hotel.
We are very happy to acknowledge that your experience was amazing and unforgettable due to our facilities and excellent service. In Sol Cayo Santa María we want our valuable costumers to enjoy memorable holidays.
We invite you to visit us once again so you can enjoy our facilities and remain at your disposition for any further assistance prior your return.

We hope to see you very soon.

Best regards,

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Just got back last night from a week's stay at this resort (Jan 24-31). We were staying in room 5007 which was nice, no frills but nice. The shower needs to be updated, as caulking arouond the tub is a bit old and mildewish (is that a word?).

Overall Resort
- nice quiet resort definely not 4 star all around. A good 3.5 star resort and if you paid a very low price like we did then it is worth it. We had hesitated going to Las Dunas for about $60 more each, and now if I could revise that decision I would probably do so.
- the resort is very clean. You can see workers raking up the grounds each day, cleaning the pool area, etc. No bad comments about this.

Food (overall very good)
- Buffet: suprisingly the buffet food was very good. My wife who normally eats little when we visit Cuba had a blast returning to get seconds plates each night. Selection was good, and quality was good, considering this is Cuba and you just don't compare Cuba to Canada (as we are totally used to our own way of cooking). The buffet was even better than the resort we visited in Puerto Vallarta last year.
- La Fontanella restaurant was very good. We both had and entrée, soup, main dish (Lasagna) and a nice dessert. No complaints about this restaurant, as we thoroughly enjoyed.
- Cuban Restaurant was ok. Ok because it was pizza. Don't get me wrong, the pizza was very good but this is not what I would classify as a specialty restaurant. Nevertheless we did enjoy our meal.

Pool
- although we spent most of our week on the beach I can say the pool was very well kept. We did go int he pool for a bit on Saturday, and we have no complaints here.

Beach
- we were able to get beach chairs all week, and that even on the nudist side (this was the main reason for our choosing this resort). But in all fairness the resort was probably half full or less.
- it was windy on most days so swimming in the ocean was limited, but that was not a problem for us, as we love to take in the sunshine. Something we did a whole lot of.

Rooms
- room (5007) was very basic. Very clean room except the shower does need some upgrading. The caulking was rather dark and should be replaced. This is not something that really bothered us.
- hot water was always available, and although the water was not coming out very strong in the shower it was more than ok for us.
- now for one of the the iffy issues:
My wife started showing many red blotches and marks all over her body on Thursday and Friday. She actually did go to the doctor on Saturday who said it was an allergic reaction and gave here some cream to apply. However after searching on the internet last night we can pretty well confirm at 90%+ the rash has appeared from bed bug bites. Bed bugs do cause allergic reactions in some (and that is why the marks appear). I have a few bites but not nearly as many as my wife. So last night our suitcases remained outside in minus 20 degree weather to freeze any critters in case we brought some home. The wife and I are freaking out quite a bit trying to make sure we have no bugs with us (only time will tell). Have now began washing everything we had in hot water to be on the safe side.
- although many warn us of this possibility of bed bugs you never really expect it. We have been on more than 15 trips to the Caribbean over the past 12 yrs (including 6 times to Cuba) and never experieinced this before. The wife will probably be seeing the family doctor later today or tomorrow.

Excursions (now the second iffy part of our trip)
- we took the day excursion to Two Colonial Cities (which includes a trip to Trinidad). Since the bus ride there and back is close to 3 hrs we brought along our iTouch devices with us. My wife always had hers with her as we had no watch to track time with.
- during one of our stops someone did go through our bags and opened three different cases to steal my iTouch. Funny thing is that they took the earphones and USB cord from my wifes carrying case and left my earphones in my case. Someone who obviously knew what to take (need USB cord to charge the device).
- we filed a complaint with our TMR representative (who was great by the way) and she escalated this issue to the regional director of the bus tour operator (Transgavionta). They did admit they were at fault, and that their contract stipulates they must gaurantee security if items in their buses (we had to leave some items as you cannot bring them inside museums). What will happen next? Will they re-imburse? Who knows. We now have to file an official complaint to the Montreal TMR office to keep this moving.
- our hopes of actually receiving any compensation for this loss are very slim. So that'll cost us an additonal $400.
- needless to say this did put a bit of a damper on appreciation of our trip.
- this however has no relationship to the hotel as the tours are operated by independent agencies.

Hotel
- check in and check out were a breeze.
- tennis courts and basketball courts are total mess. Not even usable.
- Internet is available at a fee, but be patient as it is extremely slow.
- Service in the hotel was amazingly great. At the main bar you can get most anything you like and they don't water down the drinks. Staff in the buffet and other restaurants were very courteous and service was great also. That is definitely a plus point for this hotel.

Overall I cannot say yet if I will recommend this hotel to those who know me and travel alot. I would probably not return here (because of the bed bugs) and next time we'll choose the Las Dunas most likely. Unfortuantely the down side is that it is very far from the nude beach, and that will be a negative for us. So Cayo Santa Maria is done...been there, done it. We'll move on to another location next year.

I did rate the hotel as poor because of the bed bugs. It seems to me this is enough of an issue to rate it this low. And the female doctor could have told us it was bed bugs, but that would damage the hotels reputation. Humm...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lati N, Gerente at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are sorry to read your comments in regards of your stay with us; normally everyone always enjoys our resort very much. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our service we put a great interest in our clients comments as their perceptions are the most important to us as this is the only way to know what specific points we must focus our attention.
Once again please accept our apologies for these inconveniences and I would be much honored to invite you once again to Sol Cayo Santa Maria showing you keep on trusting in our Hotel and in our Company and you will enjoy our new changes and renovations and at the same time you will give us the opportunity to change any negative perception you may have about us.

Best regards,

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cayo Santa Maria hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Sol Cayo Santa Maria from Jan. 22-29, 2010. This resort was great for the price we paid. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation its perfect. Its a small resort and quiet. The rooms are good minus the extremely hard beds, and no alarm clock. Food was good, but gets boring day after day but if you stick with the pasta you won't starve. The breakfast is the best, loved the crepes. The beach was beautiful! Best beach we've seen so far. The staff is very friendly! We'd definately go back. No real complaints. Oh and tipping is highly recommended!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdriedg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lati N, Gerente at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Hotel Management and all the staff working at Sol Cayo Santa María, we thank you for publication on Tripadvisor about your experience in our hotel.
We are very happy to acknowledge that your experience was amazing and unforgettable due to our facilities and excellent service. In Sol Cayo Santa María we want our valuable costumers to enjoy memorable holidays.
We invite you to visit us once again so you can enjoy our facilities and remain at your disposition for any further assistance prior your return.

We hope to see you very soon.

Best regards,

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississauga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2010

My girlfriends and I stayed here from January 22, 2010 to January 29, 2010. The beach is AMAZING!! It was very quiet which was nice because you did not ever have to fight for a chair at the beach or at the pool. The pizza and pasta at the cuban restaurant is the best! The weather was 27-30 degrees and sunny everday! Not a drop of rain!! The rooms are okay but clean, the staff are very friendly and the grounds are nice. The entertainment is quite nice every night as well. Go and you will have a blast! Be nice to the waiters because they are very appreciate of the tips they receive.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank cindy333Mississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lati N, Gerente at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Hotel Management and all the staff working at Sol Cayo Santa María, we thank you for publication on Tripadvisor about your experience in our hotel.
We are very happy to acknowledge that your experience was amazing and unforgettable due to our facilities and excellent service. In Sol Cayo Santa María we want our valuable costumers to enjoy memorable holidays.
We invite you to visit us once again so you can enjoy our facilities and remain at your disposition for any further assistance prior your return.

We hope to see you very soon.

Best regards,

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cayo Santa Maria hotels
4.8 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,349 reviews
1.7 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#8 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#9 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,218 reviews
2.4 mi away
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
#12 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,410 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Santa Maria

Property: Sol Cayo Santa Maria
Address: Cayo Santa Maria | Villa Clara, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Cayo Santa Maria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an island paradise off the northern coast of Cuba stands the All Inclusive 4-star Sol Cayo Santa Maria hotel (300 rooms). Ideal for simply relaxing or for exploring the clear ocean bottom and neighboring keys that surround this marvelous Cuban tourist destination. Enjoy an unforgettable holiday with your family, all included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Cayo Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Santa Maria Hotel Cayo Santa Maria
Sol Hotel Cayo Santa Maria
Cayo Maria Santa Sol
Sol Cayo Santa Maria Cuba
Cayo Santa Maria Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing