We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time was even better!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sol Cayo Santa Maria
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“3rd time was even better!!!!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Let me begin by saying I was somewhat concerned when we found out the buffet was going to be closed for renos during our stay. To our surprise it was a blessing because we ate at the a la cartes all week and other than the Italian you eat outside. Yes it is being updated and lighting is poor in places but I have learned to take a small LED flashlight on any vacation from my first vacation even to Mexico. As in previous reviews we go to the Sol for a week of rest and relaxation and I will be back next Dec 2014. The staff are attentive and bar staff never let us be "dry", the bed was comfy, shower was hot and we never went hungry. Our 20 yr old daughter came with us and enjoyed the Cuban experience vs the Mexico vacation in Jan 2013. We also went on the catamaran excursion and highly recommend it, the snorkeling, lobster lunch and crew were amazing. We had amazing weather as well our tans are envious of all friends and did not break the bank. If you want a break, go to the Sol for a week.

Room Tip: we have had both ground and second floor rooms, we prefer the ground floor now only because of no st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pgeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lati N, General Manager at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear pgeddie
Thank you very much for your good comments. That is why our staff works for.
We keep working in renovations to give you all the best.
We hope you can come back very soon to Sol Santa Maria again.

Best regards,

Lati Naimi
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    934
    496
    294
    177
See reviews for
637
1,126
182
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
saint john n.b.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Visited this resort from nov 4 - 7 2013. I have been in cuba 29 times and I have come to love the country and their people. this resort is in the process of being revitalized and with that comes inconveniences. the buffet closed after the first day and there were some pains associated with this. The italian restaurant was beyond belief. I would gladly fork out $50.00 cdn dollars to eat there again. The fried cheese and manicotti were supurb.The lobby coffee bar made the best cappuccino . Yes there were birds everywhere. what can you do? Gods creatures! Elsie at the beach bar was a sweetheart. The two storms we had washed up so much seaweed that the men could not keep up with it. The lifeguards were helping with the cleanup. SOOOOOOOOOO much hand work. They worked so hard . I can't believe people complained on this. Obviously they didn't see the behind the scenes tedious hand work. These people work very hard.
The rooms were old but adequate. If a problem was addressed it was attended to . If you use your manners and respect people you will get respect in return.
The people here are great and hopefully the renovations will be complete and people will once again enjoy the oldest resort on the island.
Hats off to Adolofo the latest manager who I know will do a great job. The staff were wonderful.
Always remember to take bug repellant everywhere you go in a tropical country.!
A holiday is what you make it. Even with the storms we had there is no place I rather be than in Cuba. This is the only country myself as a woman would travel alone and feel perfectly safe.

Cuba people . PLEASE DON"T EVER CHANGE!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank irishSaintJohnN_b_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lati N, Gerente at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review about your stay at Sol Cayo Santa María and for having chosen our hotel to spend your vacations.
In the name of the Hotel Management, we would like to express you how pleased we are to read that you had enjoyed your staying among us as your review shows us and we are very pleased for your positive lines referring our gastronomy , hotels beaches and the friendliness of our staff. This motivates us to keep working to make feel our valuable costumers a dream come true as we aim in Sol Cayo Santa María.
We kindly invite you to give us a new visit; please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival.

Best regards,

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Prior to completing vacation plans, I always turn to this website for "inside" information on rooms, dining and travel plans. Our stay at this resort in late November was surprisingly good. I have stayed elsewhere in Cuba, including 5 stars and 4 stars and this is a solid 4 star. We travelled by way of Sunwing. It is definitely worth the upgrade to Elite Plus. Not only is the boarding process and seat selection better, but the check in process late at night is extremely efficient for this category. Our bell man took us directly to our rooms and we were delighted with the size and cleanliness of this accommodation. Be prepared to walk. (I would guesstimate two miles a day) among dining facilities, bar and beach. The food is ok, breakfast and lunch are always the same. There is a lack of fresh fruit, salad and juice at this time of year. The beach was very windy and three of six days there had questionable weather. One major problem--my travel mate developed an extreme case of bites, diagnosed as "parasites." Unfortunately, he left his balcony glass door open on the first two nights...a no no. With the price that was charged, we could generally do no wrong. I travel often to Cuba and will return to this resort. The staff was exceptional. If you go to this resort with lowered expectations, you will be delighted with your holiday.

Room Tip: If you can swing an oceanfront room, that would be exceptional, but there is a huge amount of walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lati N, Gerente at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review about your stay at Sol Cayo Santa María and for having chosen our hotel to spend your vacations.
In the name of the Hotel Management, we would like to express you how pleased we are to read that you had enjoyed your staying among us as your review shows us and we are very pleased for your positive lines referring our gastronomy , hotels beaches and the friendliness of our staff. This motivates us to keep working to make feel our valuable costumers a dream come true as we aim in Sol Cayo Santa María.
We kindly invite you to give us a new visit; please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival.

Best regards,

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

When I arrived it was @2400h plus @ reception I received a card and map of the place. I was circling for one hour before a subject helped me find my room. The place is not well lit there for
impossible to locate at night. When the buffed closed the worst as just began. You have two female waitress that should cleaning toilets because of there foul mouth. I complain about meat
balls that they were very hard she replyed to go home and change my dog teeth and at the los locos cocos I requested chicken wings she replied in Spanish you will get the behind-I have been to Cuba @least 10 times and I bring many trinckets, gifts give out 300 pesos as a tips, and will never do that again.
Rancha Luna was better
Carl J
.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carl j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lati N, Gerente at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are sorry to read your comments in regards of your stay with us; normally everyone always enjoys our resort very much. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our service we put a great interest in our clients comments as their perceptions are the most important to us as this is the only way to know what specific points we must focus our attention.
Once again please accept our apologies for these inconveniences and I would be much honored to invite you once again to Sol Cayo Santa Maria showing you keep on trusting in our Hotel and in our Company and you will enjoy our new changes and renovations and at the same time you will give us the opportunity to change any negative perception you may have about us.

Best regards,

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cayo Santa Maria hotels

Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

After driving around Cuba for 2,5 week, we stayed at this place to relax for the last 5 days of our holiday. During our trip we stayed in 'Casa Particulares' most of the time, so this was a big change and one we did not like so much.

The good: the rooms are spacious, with a big bathroom with a nice bath tub. Always lots of hot water here. We even had a little sea view. Because of the many trees only the front row has good sea view

The bad: the food is absolutely horrible. The main restaurant was closed for restructuring, so choice of 1 of the 4 a-la-carte restaurants. In come cases the food was do-able, but sometimes really awful. Ended up with eating pizza almost every day.

More bad: the beach was full of sea weed and because nobody felt obligated to remove it, it was not pleasant to sit at the beach because of the smell. The personnel sometimes was nice to us, but we also found uninterested people and even drunk staff. One night in one of the restaurants it got so bad that the waiters were laughing, drinking and playing lound reaggaeton music, while the cooks were also serving the dinner to the people!

I guess it is a matter of taste if you like or dislike the evening entertainment they offer. 4 out of 5 night we saw tourists trying to do some dancing or silly games on stage, often containing drinking rum. Maybe it is just what you like. We did not. I would not recommend this resort, there must be better if you want to go all inclusive.

Room Tip: Only front row has sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ArnoutBroer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lati N, Gerente at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are sorry to read your comments in regards of your stay with us; normally everyone always enjoys our resort very much. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our service we put a great interest in our clients comments as their perceptions are the most important to us as this is the only way to know what specific points we must focus our attention.
Once again please accept our apologies for these inconveniences and I would be much honored to invite you once again to Sol Cayo Santa Maria showing you keep on trusting in our Hotel and in our Company and you will enjoy our new changes and renovations and at the same time you will give us the opportunity to change any negative perception you may have about us.

Best regards,

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larder Lake, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

My first time in Cuba.. Honeymoon, extremely excited to spend some relaxing time with my husband HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT there were more cats then people. We did not feel welcome there at all, there was no one to great us (unlike the the other resorts that we stopped by when dropping off others from the bus) food was horrible, rooms were outdated, the resort needs some really TLC. There was no hot water no matter what time of the day, the only good thing was the beach even then it was a mess.
Thank You Sunwing for allowing us to change resorts the next day....

Room Tip: please update your resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pamela e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adolfo F, Director General at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Pamela e,

We are deeply sorry not to fulfill your expectations at our resort. We are working very hard in our new renovations to make each customer´s stay more comfortable and are sure that if you come back again you will appreciate it.

Sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, On
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

My partner and I were there after having been there ten years before when it was quite new. Sadly like many things Cuban the upkeep is clean but maintenance is not North American standard and many parts of the resort are looking tired.
That having been said the people are great. Service was good. Cleanliness good but it is tropical so expect some "bugs" - we had a few ants, saw lizards....it is the tropics! If there is seaweed on the beach look out for sand flees!
The only negative were the birds in the dining room - even on food - that should not happen! They should hang a bamboo curtain to stop incursions.
The baach was beautiful and the bar tenders great.
The retail store staff were the only ones who seemed "arrogant at all" and do look out for their ringing in practices and charges/change.
Elsewhere everyone on the resort was fabulous! Servers tripped over themselves to be accommodating - just remember the homes as you drive in - they earn almost nothing - so tipping is how they make money - hence they favour those who tip! NO surprise there!
You also have access and use of the neighbouring resort - try it out!

Room Tip: Two floor unit blocks - if booking up there are stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Falccros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adolfo F, Director General at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Falccros,

Thank you so much for your positive opinion about us. We will also take into consideration your suggestion to avoid birds in our open restaurants. Be sure that our team will keep working hard to make every guest´s stay more pleasant each time. We invite you to visit us again and enjoy the new renovations in our buffet restaurant and rooms.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cayo Santa Maria hotels
4.8 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
1,181 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Memories Santa Maria
Grand Memories Santa Maria
#15 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
189 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#10 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4,271 reviews
1.7 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#6 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,215 reviews
2.4 mi away
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
#12 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Santa Maria

Property: Sol Cayo Santa Maria
Address: Cayo Santa Maria | Villa Clara, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Cayo Santa Maria 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an island paradise off the northern coast of Cuba stands the All Inclusive 4-star Sol Cayo Santa Maria hotel (300 rooms). Ideal for simply relaxing or for exploring the clear ocean bottom and neighboring keys that surround this marvelous Cuban tourist destination. Enjoy an unforgettable holiday with your family, all included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Prodigios Interactivos SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Cayo Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Santa Maria Hotel Cayo Santa Maria
Sol Hotel Cayo Santa Maria
Cayo Maria Santa Sol
Sol Cayo Santa Maria Cuba
Cayo Santa Maria Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing