We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hotel fails to meet 4* benchmarks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sol Cayo Santa Maria
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
London
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The hotel fails to meet 4* benchmarks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

This is a budget hotel and for visitors from Canada & other short haul Countries is sold at very competitive prices and many visit for just 1 week and for them, as an all inclusive resort, may offer value for money. However for guests from Europe this Hotel is competing in the long haul luxury market and it falls short in this respect. The food is repetitive [meat indigestible], the rooms are not cleaned thoroughly, the plastic grids around the pool and the surrounding mortar are falling apart and should be replaced. This Hotels redeaming asset is the evening entertainment team who would not be out of place in London Theatreland.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thecanveyislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lati N, Gerente at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in writing us a review of your stay in our Trip Advisor community. In our effort to continuously improve the quality of our service we put a great interest in our clients comments as their perceptions are the most important to us as this is the only way to know what specific points we must focus our attention.
Our hotel is involved in a renovation process that will give us our structural conditions back. Please be sure that we work as hard as possible and we aim at delivering always the best possible experience to all of our dear guests. Nevertheless I would like to inform you that all the management team keep working with great ideas to apply at work to increase client´s satisfaction and our future clients may feel more comfortable.
We hope to see you very soon.

Best regards,

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    914
    485
    287
    172
See reviews for
619
1,102
178
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Sol Cayo Santa Maria. The hotel grounds are lovely and right on a gorgeous beach. The rooms are basic but fine. Bad points - the food, both myself and my partner suffered from upset stomachs the from about the 3rd day in and still have them. This seems to be a common thing in Santa Maria as other guests seemed to have the same problem. There is plenty of variety of food its just not very good quality. The other negative was the service from the staff at the bars especially the pool bar, they seem tp favour the canadians and you can be waiting a long time before getting served (tipping didnt seem to speed them up either)

Overall its a lovely resort for relaxation, great beaches and some fantatstic excursions just not great service and great food but we still had a fantastic holiday

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linzy093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lati N, Gerente at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your good comments. That is why our staff works for.
We keep working every day to give all our best to our dear guest.
We hope you can come back to Sol Santa Maria again.

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

Found the accomodation to be clean & the staff friendly (More friendly to the canadian travellers who bizarrely tip the waiters for pouring a drink they have already paid for ?)
Food was good although a little bit repetative by the second week and one day the hotel ran out of bottled water. We also noticed a woman, who we think her husband worked for the hotel or travel group, take all the freshest salad & fruit and put it into tupperware bowls. She did this every service !
Swimming pools are clean and plenty of loungers - The only down side to the pool area was the entertainment managers insistance on playing the same CD loudly every day three times a day !!! Very difficult to relax & read a book when "Follow the leader" is blaring out !
The piano bar is very good for sitting in the evening as it is air conditioned. You can also play a game in there called "who is nicking the drinks from behind the bar". Normally it was the maintenance man ! The rest of the evening entertainment was disappointing. We were expecting cuban style music and entertainment but it is mostly a dance troup who perform ballet everynight
Mistakes in the brouchere -
!) You cannot swim up to the pool bar - only around it
2) The gym is shut and used for storing the dance stage props
3) The spa and massage is shut
4) Never saw the scuba diving instructor for the free lesson

We would reccommend the trip to Havanna - You have to fly however it is a fantastic city to visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chopper1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuenasOmar, General Manager at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Dear Friend of Sol Cayo Santa María.

Thanks for your fantastic review, We hope to see you soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

Well the apartment was about 3 star the beach was fab, The food was basic all inclusive but it did have a 24hr bar well thats the good bits
Now for the bad.... the pool area has pot holes all over i fell into one and broke my leg this meant I needed moving to ground floor which has 4 broken steps to get into appartment, The walkways are not clearly lit at night and many guests had falls as there were steps all around the resort the access to the diabled toilet was up a step and the staff were avoiding me instead of being helpfull although there was a couple of good staff in the beach bar and reception bar. there was also thefts on the site with things going constantly missing from the rooms. my advise is chose another hotel

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAJONES62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lati N, Gerente at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your good comments. That is why our staff works for.
We keep working every day to give all our best to our dear guest.
We hope you can come back to Sol Santa Maria again.

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cayo Santa Maria hotels

Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

This was our first travel to Cuba, it was with the only purpose of rest and have fun ... on previous trips we stayed at the Melia chain ... Whereby we chose the hotel SOL CAYO SANTA MARIA ... we do not regret having done because rooms,facilities and overall service are first class ... beachfront, with facilities for children ... were some of our best vacations ... highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jldg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuenasOmar, General Manager at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Dear CHONSTAIN, Thanks for your review, I hope to see you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

I don't have much to say, except that it is a gorgeous place.

A vacation is what you make of it. There were some horrible, racist people riding with us on the bus home (staying at the other resorts thank goodness) and THEY were the bad part of the trip. I am ashamed that they represented Canadians in the beautiful country of Cuba.

The water was gorgeous - don't believe weathernetwork when it says it will storm every day. It didn't storm at all, so don't let that stop you from visiting in the "off season". The food is great, the staff is amazing, and sometimes you have to ask for water at the front desk but that's life.

Enjoy your stay here, it's very reasonably priced and the culture is not to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daisychubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuenasOmar, General Manager at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Dear friend of Sol Cayo Santa María.

Thanks for your fantastic review, we are glad knoing that we have covered your expectations. We hope to see you soon:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

This was my third time to the Sol Cayo Santa Maria. My stay was from May 21 to June 4, 2011.

Room

It would not be Cuba if everything was perfect. I did get a top floor room as requested. The AC went out a couple of times but was also fixed each time. The safe stopped working and was never fixed after three requests. I locked my stuff in my luggage after that. The ceiling fan did not work and I did not bother to report it. The house keeping service was good. Bottled water was delivered a couple of times. Being my third visit I am well known to the staff so there was no problem locating water when I needed it. Check-in and check-out there was a bell boy to assist.

Reception

OK for basic requests but if you need something specific done refer to Guest Services. I don't know her name but she is wonderful to talk with.

Food

I enjoyed all the food. Great fried fish at lunch one day in the buffet. As in previous times I found the carving station my main focus and then went for some sides. Again, since many of the staff know me, I had no problem with service, to the point where my table was made up with water, wine and sometimes flowers when I arrived for my meal.

La Picua, had the ribs one day, a little fatty, but good.

Pizza place, great as always, wonderful staff and atmosphere.

I did not have stomach problem until the last day. The sandwiches in the pool bar are great but I avoided the ones with meat, had only cheese and tomato, until the last night when there was ham in one by mistake, and I think that is what is causing my stomach problems.

Excursions

I took the Santa Clara/Remedios trip once again for something to do off the compound. Lunch was at La Concha this time, lots of food and great atmosphere.

Beach

The west end was not crowed at all. Never a problem getting a chair or shade. When I was there in December a lot of the beach was gone, but it has since been restored and is wide and enjoyable. We only had one calm ocean day, which was a bit of a drag, but the weather was great non-the-less.

Bars

What can I say. Nothing but great drink and top-notch service. Never a tip expected, but greatly appreciated. Again, knowing me, the staff were usually calling out my name miles before I actually hit the bar stool. Since I am learning Spanish they refused to speak English to me and were very helpful in slowing down, explaining, and helping me expand my grasp of the Spanish language.

Disco

I went to the disco one night. I guess I was not in the correct mood because I could not wait to get back to the hotel. Instead of spinning tunes and letting the crowd enjoy, it was run similar to another show at the hotel, loud people on the stage yelling things into a mic. Lots of under 25 drunk crazy kids. And the bus would not leave, it waited until closing so I was stuck outside for a while, I could have hopped a cab I guess, but why pay the extra when there is supposed to be a regular bus?

Staff

I would list all the great people I have come to know, but I would not want to leave anyone out by mistake if I can't remember or don't know there name.

Conclusion

Remember that you are in a different country. Things will be different. Maintain a certain level of alert in order to avoid potential negative incidents. Be kind to others and they will be kind to you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ottman81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lati N, Gerente at Sol Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your good comments. That is why our staff works for.
We keep working every day to give all our best to our dear guest.
We hope you can come back to Sol Santa Maria again.

Best regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cayo Santa Maria hotels
4.8 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,240 reviews
1.7 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#8 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#10 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,179 reviews
2.4 mi away
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
#12 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,374 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Santa Maria

Property: Sol Cayo Santa Maria
Address: Cayo Santa Maria | Villa Clara, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Cayo Santa Maria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an island paradise off the northern coast of Cuba stands the All Inclusive 4-star Sol Cayo Santa Maria hotel (300 rooms). Ideal for simply relaxing or for exploring the clear ocean bottom and neighboring keys that surround this marvelous Cuban tourist destination. Enjoy an unforgettable holiday with your family, all included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Sol Cayo Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Santa Maria Hotel Cayo Santa Maria
Sol Hotel Cayo Santa Maria
Cayo Maria Santa Sol
Sol Cayo Santa Maria Cuba
Cayo Santa Maria Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing