We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Week and Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Lower Sackville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Week and Great Value”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed 20-25 March.
Excellent job by Customer Service to accommodate previous requests. Check in was quick and efficient. Great room on the third floor in building #7 was clean and kept clean for entire stay. Bed was a bit hard - pillow a bit stiff as well. No biggie, though.
Grounds are very pretty and well-kept and it's well thought out with respect to layout and amenities.
Had to call for the fridge (water) to be replenished almost everyday. It did show up, but this whole process seemed like a bit of a shakedown? Not sure what's going on there.
Food was overall very good for me and good for my picky wife. Service overall at bars and restaurants was very good. However, to be fair, and understanding it does get busy, closer attention to detail regarding tableware and glasses is needed.
We did all 4 of the a- la-cartes and liked them all. Seafood and Romantic were our favorites. Arrangements that were made at the Romantic restaurant for my wife's birthday were very nice. Thank you Mareyi and Daniella.
Beach is amazing. There are shade wars but I think they have maxed out all the potential shade spots. The animation staff provides the option of an active and lively beach day.
Beach volley - watch out for the big rocks lurking just beneath the sand. I stopped playing after day 3 and a slightly bruised heel - not worth the chance. To their credit, they added more sand during our stay. However, something other than the band-aid fix needs to be done.
The pools are very nice with a lots of options. The swim up pool needed to be shocked and the sides scrubbed especially nearest the bar. This is a very busy place full of wobbly folks - Nuff said! lol!
Lobby bar has a very good selection. Seating was a bit limited in the evening, but as people moved about, we always found a spot. We didn't go to the theater but there is other entertainment.
This is a very very good resort and with a few minor improvements could easily be rated as excellent. Thank you to Mareyi and the hard working staff at Playa for an amazing vacation!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bobbyg-tippyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,099
    2,361
    763
    204
    96
See reviews for
1,986
2,609
291
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kentville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Very nice place ...very well kept ...being a middle aged women make service slow as the young men spend more time with the cute young girls . We enjoyed the food entertainment and all.
The ac in our room didnt work and our friends their tv did not work....loved the beauty but woiuld have liked to be closer to a town and be around the people who life their.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heatherkroezen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

First time in Cuba, the room was a lot better than the last two iberostar's we stayed in. The beach was incredible and the staff were very greating and pleasant. The food was good and there was a good variety. Special thank you to Yami, her husband and all the other people who made our stay a memorable one. Thank you for the excellent service that was provided for our family. The bus ride from the airport to the resort is 1.5 hours but was worth every minute of it. I really liked the fact that no one bothers you. It was the first time to Cuba and it wont be the last time. We will return.

Room Tip: There is a little more noise around the beach, so if you are miserable then ask for a room away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

my husband and I just came back from spending a week ,it was a wonderful vacation and everything was terrific,room was spotless the place was very good.It was first time being in cuba but it wont be the last .the service was excellant food very good thank you ray ,frances gaudet

Room Tip: very secluded on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frances G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This was my 5th trip to Cuba, and an extremely memorable one at that.

Hotel is approx 1.5 hour bus ride from the airport; however very beautiful towns you pass through and a very informative guide on the bus. Check in extremely fast. We did get lost in the dark trying to make our way to the lobby from the room but in the daytime everything makes much more sense.

Rooms: beautiful, large and comfortable. Ice cold AC, mini bar gets replenished.

Food: 5th time to Cuba, best food yet!!!! I am shocked and appalled at those who complained about this hotel's food. Not only is it good in comparison with other all inclusives, but it happens to be quite great. Fresh marinated fish (prepared by the fantastic Jorge who always had limes ready for us ), fresh marinated meats and chicken, sushi station, fried rice station, pasta station. Also, an amazing banana flambé! Alacartes had small portions but were quite good, look out for the beautiful green eyed Ernesto. Ice cream bar had a small selection but was a nice treat! Maidelin, her husband, and Oscar at the snack bar are incredible people who we miss greatly. They even prepared a soothing tonic water concoction when my mother wasn't feeling well the day of our departure.

Beach: crystal clear aqua water and white sand!!!!! Can't go wrong :) definitely need more palapa, but take a large hat with you and you will be fine :)

Staff: incredible staff... All the ones we named above and more. There isn't much to do at the resort at night so we spent a lot of our time with Oscar and the other resort staff... They made everything worthwhile. I do hope that management rewards them.

Don't miss the beach party once a week, lots of fun. Also... Lots of cats at the resort too, so cute! Overall an amazing layout, very modern and beautiful, great big rooms, hot water, ice cold AC, great food and amazing beach. Book it now you won't regret!!!

I do have two suggestions for improvement as I know that management reads the reviews.
1) overall cleanliness: room towels weren't always changed, were stained and the buffet staff simply wipe the crumbs of the tablecloths, often leaving the stains and spills. We did not see this at any other resort, and it really takes away from the classiness of the hotel.

2) animation team are quite bad- not friendly, not engaging, even when they brought you on stage you could tell they didn't really want to.. The shows were not the greatest and there was Minimal activity to do at night.... A small on site disco instead of the cigar lounge would be a fabulous addition.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nadine_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Me and my family stayed in hotel cayo playa Santa maria. We really enjoyed the resort the people are so good and the the service is excellent, and also the food , I'm highly recommend this resort.....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Divina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful week (March 21st-28th) at the Playa Cayo Santa Maria, we traveled with Sunwing and stayed in block 15, room 1544 facing West with partial ocean view (great location). This was our 11th trip to Cuba but first time in Cayo Santa Maria. I will keep this review short to avoid repeating too many of the great comments on this resort. We arrived around midnight, check in was great with valet taking us and our luggage to our room. The resort is clean and very well laid out. I was concerned with the size of the resort but everything organized, accessible and we almost never had to wait in line for anything, great job management and staff! OK, omelets and waffles did have some wait time, no problem and worth the wait. We had 5 a la carte restaurants with our reservations. The a la carte were good, but I have to admit our best meal was at the buffet where we could choose exactly what we wanted and the quantity. The next time I go, the buffet will be where we will have our dinners. Talking about food, the snack bar, the famous snack bar and their chicken fingers; we had them the first lunch and went back every day for more. They also offer shrimp and calamari. The beach, WOW, great beach, beautiful white powdered sand; the elevation difference makes for a nice view while in your chair, (lots of chairs, people reserving and not using the chairs does restrict availability). This elevation can be a problem for people with mobility issues, but they do have stairs. Now the staff, biggest part of the reason we keep going back to Cuba is the Cubans, the staff at the Playa are amazing, front desk, dining bars etc… Naming the amazing people would be too long, I will take a second to mention Henry and his contagious smile and very pleasant personality. We did not do any outside activities apart from shopping at the Pueblo la Estrella (I think). You can take the double decker bus for one pesos or a cab for 3 or 4 pesos. Lobby is equipped with Wi-Fi, 5 pesos for one hour, and it worked well for us. So much for short review… We completely enjoyed our time there and are listing this resort on the top of our list. People with negative reviews, I don’t know where they went or what they expected. We are sold and recommend this resort, if you are reading this review you are probably thinking of going, GO, you will enjoy : )

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank holli9078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cayo Santa Maria hotels
3.6 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
1,181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3,021 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#10 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#6 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,217 reviews
2.5 mi away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#3 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,598 reviews
1.2 mi away
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
#12 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Address: Las Dunas 5 | Cayo Santa Maria, 50100, Cuba (Formerly Hotel Gaviota Cayo Santa Maria)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria 4*
Number of rooms: 769
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, South African Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Gaviota Hotels and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing