We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We were a group of ladies that arrived on March 27 for 2 weeks, overall we were very satisfied with all aspects of the resort.
We were all in building 8, which for us was a perfect location. The rooms are large, we had 2 double beds, a small table, 2 night tables, and a long dresser, with 2 drawers at each end. The closet had about 10 hangers. Never ran out of hot water. The coffee maker in the room, made one cup of coffee at a time, but it had a small reusable filter, so if you want to bring coffee from home, no issues. I brought my own coffee mate. The patio door did have a screen. We were just seconds away from the lobby, main buffet, main pool. We didn’t mind the noise or activity that being in such a central location you would have. At night you could hear the music from the theatre and from the band when it was playing by the beer gardens. This was not an issue for us.
We were entitled to 4 ala cartes for each week and we did take advantage of this, It took us about 15 minutes to make our reservations each week including wait time. We went around 9:00 am in the morning. The service and the presentation of the meals was very nice. Our favorite would be the Romantica. A few of the ladies are sea food lovers and had lobster tail 4 times with no surcharge. When we were there, it was prime time and the resort was full, so when we ate at the buffet there were line ups for the different grilling station, but that is only to be expected. We really enjoyed the grill that made fried rice and the chicken that was at another grill station. The pasta cooking station was also a hit with our group. The food was good even in the buffet. Since we have eaten buffet many times through out our years of travelling, we know to get our cold dishes that are part of our meal, prior to standing in line, for fresh to made dishes, that way our meats were always hot. I found the red wine to be totally acceptable, it sure beats the vinegar that they serve in Mexico.
The beach, well it is spectacular, it is a two tier beach, with shade being on the upper part, you do need to get there early in the morning to be able to obtain. Yes the towel game is in evidence. We had quite a few days with huge waves , which were a lot of fun to play in.
The lifeguards were constantly having to blow the whistle to get people to come in. We seen them having to go and rescue two different times. One time it was a child of about 10 years old, and the second time a lady was being dragged out. It was a very scary few minutes. I don’t understand why people would even venture out that far with the conditions and the undertow. I won’t comment why a parent would let a child swim in those type of water conditions !! Anyhow, it was great to see that no one was worse for their adventures.
The towel game, I wish that ALL resorts, decide to deal with this matter, by removing towels that are saving chair with no other items being on it. I can understand that you get your chair and then go for breakfast, but ones that are still sitting empty at noon… is very annoying. Especially when shade is at a premium.
A few in our group did go to the shows each night and enjoyed them all, their favorite was Michael Jackson. In the lobby bar, every night there is a person playing the piano or a small 3 piece band. It was very nice. Also by the beer garden, they had a band playing there which we really enjoyed.
I would not hesitate to recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shining_star_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge C, Director General at Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments as positive, they always help us to improve. I hope you come back soon, I'm sure you will spend fantastic. Best regards, Jorge Calderín, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,513 - 2,519 of 6,624 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was our 2nd vacation at the PCSM, we were there in march 2013. The resort is beautiful, thanks to the gardeners who work very hard, the flowers are amazing. The resort as well as the public washrooms are kept quite clean. We love their beach, it is on 2 levels so you have a beautiful view & there are plenty of loungers & shade.We had a beautiful room in bungalow 12 with ocean view,WOW to wake up & see the ocean, if only we'd had a screen door, we could have slept with the sound of the waves, thank you to the girls who kept it very clean, we always had clean towels, clean floor, never ran out of toilet paper, plenty of hot water & NO BUGS! As for the food we were not as impressed as last year. They have more "a la cartes", but except for the Longina, Garibaldi, & El Panda, they are just snackbars with the same menu as lunch time but a little more fancy service. We ate at the Longina & were very disappointed , the Pineapple Pork was so hard you practicaly had to eat it with your fingers it was impossible to cut, the langouste was not tasty & was served with mashed potatoes also the waiter was very abrupt & impatient. Lunch is the best because you have a good choice of places to eat, pizzas, hamburgers, grill stations,chicken fingers etc....you can even eat on the beach, there's a little hut next to the beach bar with a very friendly cook, who makes paninis, tuna sandwiches,hotdogs, delicious! The buffet was ok with a good variety, there is often a supervisor checking on the staff, but perhaps they should pay more attention to the food, mingle with the guests & ask them their comments. Yes you do wait a long time in line but you can always choose something already cooked if your in a hurry. Although we go to Cuba for their beautiful ocean & beaches, not the food, they could easily improve on things such as how to cook bacon & how to cut meat. Anyway we didn't starve, the weather was great & we had a good time. Will we return next year? MAYBE...there are new resorts being built.

Room Tip: All rooms are good we go there to wash & sleep. We prefer 3rd floor rooms because we are early r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge C, Director General at Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for your review; it is very important that despite the drawbacks, you have spent a happy holiday. On behalf of management and staff, sorry for any inconvenience in “Longina” restaurant and on other ones; every day we are working of improving every detail and your comments will help us get better our service. I agree with you, do not miss the opportunity to return, I am sure you will enjoy an unforgettable holiday. Please contact us. Best regards, Jorge Calderín, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

great fun and sun for all, we stayed at playa cayo santa maria for two weeks feb 28th to march 14th/2014. here are some of our highlights.
1. stayed in building #15 poolside, very noisy at night due to the 24hr snack bar is nearby. try staying on the beach side if you want peace and quiet.
2. food is a lot better now in cuba, they have ketchup, mustard, salt/pepper, garlic, a-1 steak sauce/hp. the cooks do a great job in preparing your meal, there is always something to eat just maybe bring peanut butter as we couldn't find any.
3. staff: we had so much fun with all the great people that served us at the lobby bar, paul, david, yeon, sergio, magdalena and the rest of the bar staff. our maids in building #15 were great, always making towel art for us. a big thank-you goes out to the waiters/waitress at all the
restaurants. tipping goes a long way so leave a few cuc's for them.
4. the grounds around the resort are well kept, so let the grounds keepers know what you think and tip them a little as they don't get as many cuc's as the bar tending staff.
5. bring some canadian gifts for the kids like colouring books, pencils, cloths, etc.
6. overall i would rate this hotel a 4.5 star as there is a few things that they could improve on. beds are hard, bathrooms can smell as they don't have air fresheners in them. internet wifi is 4.50 cuc's for one hr and it doesn't always work well with your i-phones or i-pods. you don't need a 220v/110v converter, our i-pod, camera and hairdryer were able to plug into the outlets.
one suggestion i would have for the management is that their staff work very long hours and hard for there pay and tips, when things get busy and it will when the hotel is full, lend a hand to staff were it's needed just don't stand there yelling at someone that forgot to put napkins on a table. i would be glad to share more of our experience at the playa cayo santa maria if someone would like to email me via tripadvisor or marvinfox@sasktel.net.
have a great holiday!

Room Tip: building #15 is close to everything but don't ask for poolside if you want to get a good night s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is my 5th time at this hotel and all I can say is wow!!!

This great hotel just keeps getting better. They have made the beach more accessible with new stairs, updated all of their night shows, they now have live music in the lobby and also great music at the hotel disco in the Cigar lounge. The Djs do a really good job! They also have better activities during the day and early evenings. A big thank you to Lisdania, Marcos, Aniel, Brunet, Louis y Leo from the animation team…you are the best! Also, a big thank you to Aliesky, the best bartender and server (Italian restaurant) in all of Cayo Santa Maria.

The rooms are still very nice…stayed in many different blocks and never had a complaint. The food is very good…I always find something I like…just wish they had more fresh fruits in the morning.

I will definitely be back…See you all soon!

La senorita Stephanie :-)

Room Tip: All buildings are close to everything but 7 and 15 are the closest to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Steph6214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is my new favourite resort. Period. The former #1 involved a swim-up suite... so for Playa to become my new #1 without a swim-up, that’s saying a LOT about how awesome it is!

OVERVIEW:
For Cuba, this is a 5-star resort. Tons of pools, good a la cartes, great buffet, top of the line amenities, amazing staff and one of the best beaches in the world. If you can get it for $1500/pp taxes incl or less, you are getting very, very good value for your dollars. The rooms are well-equipped and have (almost) everything you need/want, the resort facilities exceeded expectations, the staff all aim to please, and there is very, very little worth complaining about. The resort and our stay weren’t “perfect”, but we all agree it was a 5-star vacation.

DETAILED REVIEW:

CHECK-IN: fast, efficient and professional. I had sent in requests prior and most requests were granted, including preferred building.

FOOD/DRINK: If food is a huge priority for your vacation, you probably should stay away from all-inclusive resorts and definitely don’t go to Cuba. If, however, you place higher priorities on things like pools, beaches, rooms, facilities, etc. then keep reading. You will always find something good to eat. There are enough fresh cooking stations to satisfy even picky eaters. The buffet had a good selection, the Asian a la carte was excellent (chicken appetizer, pork entree and crepes dessert), the Seafood is only going to deliver top marks if you like FISH (as in... the head still on...) as opposed to “seafood”. The Romantica restaurant has wonderful ambiance and good food. The Italian restaurant was our only culinary disappointment. The Caesar salad appetizer was tiny and the dressing was most definitely NOT Caesar (more like unpleasant anchovy dressing.. very fishy-tasting). The main courses were ok-ish... the service was sub-standard. We got seated promptly and there was a big show of seating us and preparing the oil/herbs for bread-dipping. Unfortunately we waited 20 more minutes and had to ask to get the actual bread. The waiter could not understand anything that deviated from exactly what the menu says (i.e. adding a topping to the cheese pizza). The entrées were ok-ish... portions quite small. Food timing was off – three of us had finished our entrees before two in the group even saw their plates. We didn’t bother with dessert.
But the Italian was our one-and-only disappointment. We loved the specialty coffee cart, the 24h snack bar, the ice cream parlour and the bars. The cooking stations at the buffet (pizza, pasta, stir-fry, omelet/egg, crepes, waffles, meat carving, to name a few) were excellent and worth the wait in line.
The ice cream parlour was awesome, serving not only ice cream cones but also commercial products like Drumstick, chocolate-covered ice cream on a stick (w/ almonds or peanuts), etc. All you can eat, from morning til evening!
The snack bar food was good. The calamari and shrimp are both tempura-battered. The portions were a little inconsistent throughout the week. The hot dog and hamburger offerings were not enjoyed, as both had foreign texture to what their would-be eaters were used to. The pizza is quite good, though.

ROOMS: Amenities were excellent, the room and furniture were in new condition, everything worked. The beds are quite firm, the pillows were fine and there was lots of space whether you were 2 or 4 in a room. The terrace was spacious with seating both inside and outside (some hotels only give you one set that you have to move in/out all the time). There were several English-speaking channels on the flat screen TV, 3 outlets that we didn’t need a converter to make use of, everything was clean and the housekeeping service was fantastic. The mini-bar stocker came the same time everyday and we could choose what we wanted in the fridge if we happened to be in the room. A note left with kind requests also worked like a charm. Our rooms were cleaned everyday and we were left with wonderful towel art each time. The room had a good-sized closet, a tiled rainforest shower in a large bathroom, free safe to use, lots of lighting and AC that worked really, really well.

FACILITIES: The resort layout is genius – everything is an easy walk or you can take the trolley. I loved that they opted for electric trolleys (whereas other resorts have had gas-powered ones which were quite unpleasant). The lobby is huge, filled with much-needed seating and is near other important things like gift shop, bank/currency booth, several restaurants, cigar bar and theatre.
The pools are plentiful, big and feature lots of lounge chairs. You don’t have to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve prime shade (resort was full and even at 8:30am, still prime shade spots available) and the pool temperature was perfect.
I can’t comment on the sports, fitness or spa, as we didn’t make use of them. Judging by hearsay from other guests, it sounds like all are very good.
The internet room is just for that – internet. No printers or business services and sometimes the lineup can be long if you need to use it. The internet was reportedly spotty and slow. I got a travel data package for my smart phone instead – best money ever spent, as I had 3-4G data connection all week.
Currency Exchange – usually quite a lineup, but I chalked it up to the dreadful process the clerk has to go through with each and every customer. NOTE: the process is now to issue receipts and have you sign for the exchange rate/amount before getting the money, which is now counted twice. Having read previous reviews making accusations of incorrect transactions until a receipt was requested – guess this new process is the result. I exchanged late morning and they still had small bills and coins.
Gift Shop – this would be an improvement area, though the gift shop is NOT run by the hotel – it’s a privately run store. Not nearly enough products, especially things like first-aid-type products, maybe some aloe gel for sunburns, etc. I personally would have liked a better selection of souvenirs, since there is only the gift shop and a jewelry vendor at the resort.

SERVICE: Other than one evening at the Italian restaurant, we enjoyed splendid service all week long. We had an incident in the group that required a little hospital visit – the staff were lightning quick and phenomenal. Guest Services even ensured I was accompanied to the hospital to assist with translation between patient and doctor. They took care of us so well and even followed up the next two days to ensure all was well (which it was).
The bartenders and wait staff are all well-trained, friendly and do their best. Sometimes they need to pay better attention to who was “there first”, but it was never intentional so I didn’t mind waiting an extra minute or two. The animation teams are SO dedicated and work tirelessly to make sure all guests are having a good time. The drinks were very tasty and we didn’t really come across anything they couldn’t or didn’t know how to make. The specialty coffees are FANTASTIC.
Front desk staff were very professional and always answered our questions. Customer/Guest Services were amazing.

BEACH: One of the best beaches in the world. I still can’t get over the colour & clarity of the water, the softness of the sand and the breathtaking views. As other reviews indicate, be picky about the path you take to get down to the water, but hopefully this is something the hotel will address when they can.

NOTES:
It gets quite cool at night – having a sweater or shawl is a good idea.
No face cloths or clocks in the room, so bring your own.
Email the resort in advance for preferred building/rooms and other requests. They will do their absolute best to oblige.
Buffet busy times: 9am-10am, 7-8pm (lunch we didn’t really see a majorly busy time, as many used snack bar or pool/beach grills)
Late check-out is worth it.
Get a travel plan/package for your smart phone – well worth the money and it’s faster than the internet the hotel has. I had 3-4G service everywhere, from room to pool to beach.
Everything in the resort is spelled out in Spanish, English and French.
If you get to the lobby after supper and can’t find a place to sit, wait until the show in the theatre is about to start – the lobby half-empties at that point.
I was unable to locate diet soda in the resort. Keep this lack of availability in mind if you prefer diet.

Special thank you to Hany in guest services for going above and beyond... amazing, incredible service!!!! Management: please express appreciation to Hany who made our experience so positive and when we return (soon) we will look forward to contacting Hany again.

We will definitely be back to this resort and look forward to being frequent repeat customers.

Suggestions for Management:
- Offer diet soda throughout resort
- Please have alarm clocks in the rooms
- Italian restaurant needs attention - food and service improvements are necessary
- Cooking stations in the Buffet restaurant - please move the cooking stations to the ENDS/CORNERS. The stations being in the middle means the line-ups go in front of the buffet counters and prevent people from being able to access the food.
- Beach access needs to be addressed. It is quite difficult to get down to the water.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank crymsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

It's our fourth trip to Santa Maria Island and first stay at Playa. As regular Cuba vacationers we have realistic expectations especially in the matter of Cuban resort dining matters. Despite a very long trip of 1.5 bus hours to "Cayo" from Santa Clara airport; the less overwhelming extent of resort development, near perfect weather, a great beach and perfect water conditions seems sufficient reward for the extra time en-route. The advertised rating of 5 stars may be a little aggressive for this nice resort but admittedly does apply to the extravagance of the amenities and facility, with many pools (4-5) to select from, an abundance of a la carte restaurants, the beer garden, ice cream parlor, tennis courts, and grand lobby and main resort common spaces.The rooms themselves are reasonably spacious, attractive and have spacious walk in shower.Unfortunately and surprisingly our many attempts(3) to email beforehand for a suggestion as to our preferred room level and building was ignored and we made the best of a ground floor with two double beds for a couple seeking a requesting well in advance a king bed and third floor. Hopefully you no need for TV viewing as cable service is very poor and the TV's jokingly tiny.
As I have reported in other recent reviews we forego the a la carte restaurants as they have always (in the past) proven to be a major disappointment. You will have to seek other reviews for any commentary on the restaurants, as we have, without fail, found them to offer nothing better than the buffet food, served with pretentiousness, and often requiring an embarrassing skulking away from the table to seek out the greater variety of the buffet; in which to mine for a decent meal.
So back to the meals; a la buffet: a decent enough breakfast could be found with a variety of meat options including bacon and a couple of egg and omelette serving stations which were generally overly busy and with frustratingly long waits. It would be very helpful if the grills were turned up from simmer to high heat so the wait could be substantially reduced, but such suggestions fell on deaf ears. The fresh orange juice squeezer was a hit and we did enjoy great fresh as the moment real orange juice, blended if desired with fresh fruit such a banana and pineapple. Always lots of cheese, and fresh bread or croissants; and not to be missed, the 2 overworked and under-performing toasters than need much patience and 2 or 3 runs through.
Lunch tends to be the same each and every day and you will have a challenge finding a respectable piece of beef or pork; perhaps just best to stick with the chicken. A real disappointment and surprise was the lack of seafood. Very little fresh baked fish being served, perhaps only 2-3 times over the course of a full week. Smoked salmon thinly sliced was however always on hand at every meal. My advise is to cut off just a tiny serving of what looks inviting to try right at the service counter so you can make a decision then and there, and not feel so bad or necessary as to leave a large uneaten selection on the plate for disposal.
Dinnertime was usually very similar to lunch with seemingly lots to choose from but on closer taste and look, little that will inspire your taste. Yes we did manage nevertheless to overeat and to put on a few pounds; so best just to say High quality properly prepared and served meals in Cuba are as rare as new luxury cars. This is however a review and as such I can only give this resort a 3.5 or "average for Cuba" rating on dining experience. We never let this small disappointment spoil our holiday or prevent us from returning again and again to the otherwise overwhelming great value of Cuban resorts.
Bar service was excellent and a good choice of quality liquors if you look and ask for them. Where else can you drink unlimited quantities of Glenmorangie 12 yr old with no premium upcharge? Cuban coffee is great especially from the bar expresso machines; and they will make some wonderful coffee based drinks at any time of the day for you (spanish, Irish, cuban, etc.) For a good breakfast coffee hit the lounge bar as the buffet coffee is much inferior.
A very busy March break holiday so yes beach and pool lounges were under lots of stress but we did manage to always scrounge up something when needed (without stealing anothers reserved space).
Evening entertainment at the Teatro ? well we did try hard to sit through a couple but just couldn't bear it any longer. Sorry a big thumbs down here (but then again it was pretty much as expected and hardly a concern.
Early to bed and early to rise for this mature couple So I cannot tell you anything at all about the success of the cigar lounge turning disco at 11 PM. It is a family resort with children and lots of teens and young couples; so I expect that it was well attended. Ask others.
I am sure we will be returning to Cuba many more times for our 1 week at a time sojourns for rest, perfect weather, lazing about, beach walking, and time to just rest and read books. If you find a very good buy or special deal to bring you to Playa Cayo, go for it; you won't go too far wrong as long as you keep in mind the value equation. Cuba does not compete on par with much of Mexico, Jamaica, or even The Dominican for its dining. It does however have equal or superior ammenities, faciliities, beaches, weather, safety and hospitality. For our next trip we will try something new; we almost always do. Playa is nice and served us well for the price. Speaking as a resort critic, it's just ok at or perhaps even slightly better than average, among those resorts rated online or rating themselves as 4- 5 stars

Room Tip: Have a look at the resort map; I really like the look of the 3 buildings surrounding the east pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is my 12th trip down south 4th to Santa Clara and 1st to the Playa Cayo.
We love coming back to this area because of the people and the beach. Here is our experience.
Check in: We had Private check in as VIP and got our room within 5 minutes of arriving at the hotel. The line up for non VIP did look quite long however.
Rooms: Our room was clean, new decor and we always had hot water and good water pressure in the shower. Probably the nicest room I have had in Cuba. Depending what block you were in would determine what time your maid would come to clean. We were in Block 5 and they came around 3-4pm daily.
Beach: AMAZING! Compared to 9 years ago when we were 1st here it has gotten a lot busier but not in a negative way. Every morning when we arrived at the beach there was a gentleman who would get beach loungers for us and set them up and clean them off. This was a fabulous touch! They also have many life guards as the waves can get pretty crazy. The water is beautiful and warm and clean. Walking along the beach is also fantastic and you get to see the other resorts.
Pools/Resort: There several pools to choose from. The one by our room was a little quieter with a bar in front of it. Very nice to swim laps or just hang out. The main pool was a lot of fun. They do several activities in the pool in the afternoon, lots of music and you can hang out in the very shallow part of the deeper end. The pool bar was fully stocked and the bartender Sandos has great service and was a lot of fun! The grounds are also beautiful and kept very clean. There are gardeners out every morning trimming and landscaping. Overall the grounds are not too big and not too small.
Food: If you have been to Cuba before you know about the food. Personally I stay away from meat and enjoy lots of seafood, pizzas, pasta, salads and fruit. We really liked the Seafood and Romantic A La Carte restaurants the best. The buffet is similar everyday but we always found things we liked and with 4 A la cartes and the snack bar we were able to change it up. On the Beach there is always a Ham and Cheese Panini hut run buy a gentleman named Rodney and that was a great snack.
Bars: All the bars were always stocked, they never ran out of anything. I was able to get Champagne, Baileys (cuban version Disco) Vodka, beer and a variety of Rums.
Service: The first 2 days of our trip we did notice a little bit of slow service at the main bar as well as at the buffet. Waiters not seeing that we had sat down etc. But after that we made friends with a few specific people and got AMAZING service. Shouts out to Pasquel at the main bar HE IS AWESOME!!!! The girls at Customer Service Yaima and Hany really made our trip extra special as well as their manager Mareyi. They reserved our restaurants, arranged for a photographer for a photo session and overall just made sure we were enjoying ourselves and happy with our stay.
Overall this was an amazing vacation for a great value. We would highly recommend it and look forward in returning soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sillywaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge C, Director General at Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

We are very glad to read you enjoyed your stay in Playa Cayo Santa Maria hotel and we really hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again many times! We are looking into your comments, which are very useful to us. On behalf of management and staff, I would like to thank you very much for this beautiful review. Sincerely, Jorge Calderín, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cayo Santa Maria hotels
3.6 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
1,269 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
3,089 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#10 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
4,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Melia Las Dunas
Melia Las Dunas
#8 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
8,344 reviews
2.5 mi away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#2 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,671 reviews
0.5 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#7 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria

Address: Las Dunas 5 | Cayo Santa Maria, 50100, Cuba (Formerly Hotel Gaviota Cayo Santa Maria)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range: $148 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria 5*
Number of rooms: 769
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, South African Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Gaviota Hotels so you can book your Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing