We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrating the New Year at Hotel Playa Cayo!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Celebrating the New Year at Hotel Playa Cayo!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Spent the week of December 26th, 2013 to January 2nd, 2014 at Hotel Playa Cayo in Cayo Santa Maria and loved it.

Resort: Layout is genius. Whichever building you're staying in, you are always close to something, so whatever your preferences, you will find your ideal spot. For quiet areas just a short walk from the beach: buildings 5 & 6 and 12 & 14. Want to be near the two main pools, but still close to the beach: buildings 7 & 15. There are also two lap pools surrounded by buildings 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5 and 8, 9, 10, 11 & 12: note that buildings 1, 2 & 3 and 8, 9 & 10 are closest to dinning areas, lobby and theater, so there is more foot traffic around these.

Room: Clean and spacious, as was the bathroom (stayed in building 6 with balcony facing east on jungle). Some minor issues with stained sheets and towels, but once you understand that these are delivered to the housekeepers in small rust-covered-floor trucks, you stop wondering where the orange specks come from. Mini-fridge was always stocked, towels and linens changed when requested. Our room was on the second floor and were never disturbed by noise coming from the room above.

Buffet and A la carte restaurants: Very Good. The buffet was huge, many ready to eat choices and several grill stations for meats and fish, a sushi station and a pasta station (which was really good...I suspect that the large number of Italian guests at this place may have something to do with it). Only went to the Asian and Seafood restaurants, both were no worse no better than the fare served at the buffet.

Bars: Lobby was the best of all! The bartenders and waiters there are super busy, but always in a good mood. There was a musician at the lobby bar every night which was very enjoyable.

Entertainment: N/A. I am not a fan of musicals, so I didn't attend any of the shows. I did however sit in the theater, it is enormous and the seating is really comfy. As for pool games, I could not pronounce myself, as I spent all my time at the beach where there actually was a DJ and games all afternoon for those who want to participate.

Beach: Wow! Beautiful, clean beach, with a new personality each day: one day still water, one day waves, one day high tide, another day low tide...it gave us a chance to see the beach when it was wide, narrow, calm, agitated. Beware that the climb down/up to/from the beach is quite steep, no matter what the day is like.

Overall this trendy but unpretentious 2-year-old resort, was a great spot for our Holiday vacation and a wonderful place to relax, soak up the sun and welcome the new year. The resort went all out on New Year's Eve and threw a huge bash and handed out gift bags full of party favors to all the guests! Thank you, to all the staff who took care of us, for a great stay!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank cap1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mareyi G, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest:
Greetings from Playa Cayo Santa Maria Hotel.
It is a pleasure to know that you loved your stay here. This is our reason to work, our guest´s smile is really important for us.
Thank you so much for sharing your comment on Trip Advisor.
We hope to see you next time & we will love to take care of you.
Always at your service,

Ms. Mareyi Gómez Montano. Customer Service Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,065
    2,347
    747
    191
    92
See reviews for
1,946
2,589
287
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were at Playa for a week with our 16, 19, 21 year old sons. Everyone had a wonderful time. The beach was beautiful, the rooms tidy and the food was decent. There were lots of pools. Pools for partying and pools for quiet relaxation. Throughout it all the Cuban people working there were lovely. We felt very safe both on and off the resort. My husband and I enjoyed the beach with plenty of chairs and 3 big, modern catamarans. My sons enjoyed the obvious (unlimited alcohol and the cigar bar). Bring money for tips-a few pesos here and there makes everyone feel happy.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mareyi G, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear guest:
Greetings from Playa Cayo Santa Maria Hotel.
I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria for your recent stay in Cayo Santa Maria.
We are pleased with you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve.
Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria the next time you're in Cayo Santa Maria.
Sincerely,
Ms. Mareyi Gómez Montano. Customer Service Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merone, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We spent one week in this fantastic 5* resort, from the 22nd to the 29th december 2013. It's pretty new, very clean everywere, great swimmingpools, elegant sunbeds, flowers and plants everywhere, well kept. Nice beach with white sand and blue see. You can have long walks, sunbeds, bar and snackpoint , sport equipments there. Rooms are very clean and very confortable. Bars, snackpoints and different restaurants everywhere. The staff is very nice, we met Arianna and Lazzaro in the seefood grill restaurant who work there, very nice people. Big choice of food allows custumers to choose from different types of food: Italian, chinese and others in different restaurants. It's an all inclusive resort even for alcolholics. it's very huge, big structure , well organised.. staff is very avalaible , you can eat and drink whenever you desire.
We advice this fabulous place

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mauro_katia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mareyi G, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear guest:
Thank you for your great review about Playa Cayo Santa Maria.
We are happy to know that you find our resort as a fabulous place & fantastic 5* resort.
Always you will be welcome here.
Best whishes for you,

Ms. Mareyi Gómez Montano. Customer Service Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We went for one week, from Dec 25th to Jan 1st 2014. Room was very clean, nice, modern. The beach is amazing. The food was great too. There is a cigar bar where you can have a cigar, drink and dance. The dj in the bar is very good and there were actually people dancing.
I really enjoyed the week at Cayo Santo Maria and would definitely go back.

Advise: make sure to bring enough money to the hotel. There is a place to exchange the money in CUC. You can't withdraw from a visa card.

Other than that, don't hesitate to go!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sistasalsera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mareyi G, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest:
If you loved Playa Cayo Santa Maria don´t hesitate to come back and please, let us know in advance.
Our Management Team & staff will be pleased to receive you next time.
Always at your service,

Ms. Mareyi Gómez Montano. Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Great resort. Great staff. Good food. Good beach. However, you WILL get many, many sand flea bites. "Off" & deet products do not work with these bugs. They are tiny, the size of a pepper grain, you can't feel them, but they leave a bite much worse than mosquitoes, which run a several day cycle, becoming very itchy, often with a pustule. Unfortunately, these sand fleas ruin an otherwise excellent vacation resort area.
Sand fleas are bad in Cayo Santa Maria & are even worse in Cayo Coco Cuba (been there too). They breed in any marsh or swampy tropical areas. They then go looking for a blood meal. Unfortunately, that's you & me. ALL the resorts in these Cuban Cayos back onto swampy areas of standing water.
We have also been to Holquin & Veradero Cuba where these bugs are NOT a problem.
No snorkeling worth mentioning off the beach. To scuba, you will be gone all day for 2 dives. Good crews, boats & gear. Only fair tropical diving though.
One in our group had a food poisoning incident, vomiting & diarrhea, probably from cross contamination in the kitchen.

The Good: Nice resort, good service, great staff

The Bad: Rough water, limited beach activities, really no snorkeling, limited scuba, no disco

The Ugly: Biting sand fleas, food poisoning x 1

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mareyi G, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest:
Greetings from Playa Cayo Santa Maria.
I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria for your recent stay in Cayo Santa Maria.
Your review help us to improve our service. Because your satisfaction matters to us, your comments and suggestions are always welcomed.
The management and the staff of Playa Cayo Santa Maria are at your total disposal and we hope you'll choose Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria the next time you're in Cayo Santa Maria.
Sincerely,
Ms. Mareyi Gómez Montano. Customer Service Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

First the bad news, apparently Thomas Cook are not going here next season but all I can do is recommend this hotel highly. This site can hold 2500 guests but when we were there early November there was 700 of us (as we were told by some of the staff) The site was immaculate and the grounds lovely, the room was large and the air conditioning worked perfect and serviced every day, the air con was a must which was necessary as the temperatures were up in the mid thirties every day. The staff were so friendly and helpful it was a pleasure to be there. access to a superb beach was easy and was what i would have expected from a Caribbean island. We took trips out to Havana and local towns and had no problems at all. The food was ok but considering there is still a problem with the USA and this is a third world country it was ok.

Room Tip: The place is a "butterfly shape with reception and main restaurants in the centre the pools mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mareyi G, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest:
Greetings from Playa Cayo Santa Maria.
Our Managment Team & staff thanks you for your excellent review as we are pleased that you enjoyed your vacations in our hotel.
Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria the next time you're in Cayo Santa Maria.
At your service,

Ms. Mareyi Gómez Montano. Customer Service Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, On
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

One by one:
BEACH: Need to mention they have a ton of shade at the ocean beach, making it perfect for both sun and shade lovers! The beach is not handicap friendly and I heard families with kids complaining about the 10-15 feet height difference between the two beach levels, as they had to permanently supervise the kids not get injured. The lower part is almost completely covered by water at high tide. Climbing up and down was absolutely no problem for the four of us (18-45 yo). The ocean can be wavy in the area, making it even more fun!

POOLS: The ocean area was so nice that we only spent limited time by the pools, so I cannot share an opinion.
ROOMS: Modern type rooms with rain showers and bed in the middle of the room. Everything in very decent condition and well cleaned by the maids.
BOOZE: The local draft beer is Crystal, way better than the Dominican Il Presidente. They also have a Beer Garden with bottled Crystal, Bucanero, and BECK'S!!!! Yes, genuine German beer in Cuba. The cocktails were better than the ones we had earlier this year in Punta Cana or Aruba, and their quality was consistent throughout the resort.
FOOD: This is the weak point of this resort! And you hear this from a family that believed one can always find something good to eat. Well, this resort proved us wrong and for the first time after visiting over 10 resorts allover the Caribbean we complain about the food: very limited variety, almost no salad options, the beef is chewing gum, etc. The lunch restaurant by the beach is a joke and we preferred eating grilled sandwiches from Rodney's hut at the beach, this being the first time our lunch choice was...sandwiches. I have to admit that they prepared way better choices for Christmas dinner, but that should have been the normal standard. They should bring an experienced chef from Dominican or Mexico and help them improve.
PERSONNEL: We received great service from A-Z and we want to thank them all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank calanudinsaguna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mareyi G, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guests:
Greetings from Playa Cayo Santa Maria.
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to know that you spent a great family time in our resort. We hope to see you next year.
Happy New Year Eve!!!
Always at your service,

Ms. Mareyi Gómez Montano. Customer Service Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cayo Santa Maria hotels
3.6 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
1,152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Memories Santa Maria
Grand Memories Santa Maria
#15 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
168 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Melia Las Dunas
Melia Las Dunas
#8 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
8,147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#9 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4,240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#7 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Address: Las Dunas 5 | Cayo Santa Maria, 50100, Cuba (Formerly Hotel Gaviota Cayo Santa Maria)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria 5*
Number of rooms: 769
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, South African Hotels, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Gaviota Hotels so you can book your Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing