We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Loved it! Will go back for sure, everything was perfect for a relaxing family vacation, was there with my huband and our 7 yrs old daughter. The entertainment staff is great, rooms are very nice and clean. Resort is very safe and clean. Just finished reading a negative comment about this resort, I never felt presured to tip anyone, I even offered a tip to one of the girl of the entertainement staff because she did braids in my daughter's hair, she refused it !!! the staff at the Italian restaurant were very friendly. For shopping, there is a great Market (Pueblo) , 5 minutes away by bus from the resort they have amazing hand made crafts, much more than just Cigars !

Room Tip: Building 7 and 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francine_B155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge C, Director General at Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest, we are very pleased you have passed an enjoyable stay with us and give you our best service. Thank you very much for your comments. I hope you have the opportunity to return soon. Best regards, Jorge Calderín, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,072
    2,350
    750
    192
    93
See reviews for
1,949
2,596
287
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just back(June 8-15) from a great week at Hotel Playa Santa Maria.We had a great time-great weather/good food-something there for everyone's taste-my husband has Crohn's disease and he had no problem with the food/and the staff -every staff member we encountered from the receptionist at the desk to the gardeners working in unbearable heat-were exceptional/so kind and courtious and helpful in every way.Our room was lovely-third floor with a beach view in bungalow 1-clean as a pin and our maid service was super-if you needed any extras(soap,toilet paper,etc.) they were only too happy to get it for you.The beach was spectacular.Would recommend this resort to everyone.Only problem we had was the mosquitoes-make sure to bring fly oil if you are there in June-it may or may not work-but we were there when the flys were in season(none around in the spring).We would like to thank the staff at this resort for making our last minute getaway soo special.We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Third floors nice balcony/cooler breeze/nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge C, Director General at Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest, we are pleased to read a positive view of our hotel and service. On behalf of all the staff, thank you very much and we wish you be back soon. Greetings, Jorge Calderín, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

For my wife and me, our overall experience with this beautiful resort is: Excellent.

For us, this is the fourth time in Cuba and first time on this Island.
As experienced travelers, we are happy to say this: If you want to enjoy your vacation, go to the Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria.
We’ve spent two weeks, June 1- 15/2013, at this resort, and we are very satisfied! No complains!
This resort is ideal for couples and families, quiet and safe.

Rooms are clean and big enough. The food is fresh, clean and very tasty. Besides buffet, you can choose from four different a la cart restaurants. On the beach, you will feel like in paradise.
If you like to have your coffee, please go to the lobby. In the afternoon, you will enjoy live music.
Everywhere, service is very good. Each and every employee is so friendly and very professional. Everyone wants to help you.
We are very glad to learn that this hotel is the only one on Santa Maria Island, owned by Cuban Government.
We can say that management at this hotel is taking care of everything. They know how to do their job. Keep up with your excellent performance!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank Jahiel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge C, Director General at Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel. We are very glad to have been able to offer a good holiday. Your comments are important for us to continue improving our beautiful hotel and always make sure to provide the best service and products that our customers require. On behalf of all the staff, thank you very much and we wish you be back soon. Best regards, Jorge Calderín, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Background: Regarding the Caribbean I have been in Antigua, Dominica , Barbados, St Thomas, St kitts,St John , Virgin Gorda, Soggy Dollar beach, St Kitts,Margarita,Aruba , San Juan and Mexico Playa del Carmen.

Food: There is room for improvement, that being said Lunch and Dinner are excellent, Breakfast could use some improvement but overall for lunch and dinner is good. That being said the snack bar by the beach under Rodney has great sandwiches to enjoy the afternoon.

Rooms: State of the art facilities, brand new hotel , rooms are extremely clean , completely bug-free, extremely spacious , I was staying in an ocean front room , 2 separate bathrooms facing the ocean .Excellent!.

Staff: One of the friendliest people I have ever been in contact with. Starting by our amazing waiters: Boris and Luis Pedro, extremely professional and polite, impossible to find waiters like this in Montreal. Like anywhere in the world, you should tip accordingly as appreciation for the service. Animation Staff is great, we walk the whole beach and could say our resort had one of the best animations out there (Kudos to Yudy & her team).The sport water staff is excellent: Our captain Jorge brought us on several trips around the beach, many thanks to him. Some people complain about towels, we called front Desk and Abel had our towels ready in less than 5 minutes.

Beach: In terms of size ,the best I have been to.If you compare it to Trunk Bay or Cinnamon Bay , is on par in terms of water quality minus the mountains surrounding it ,However this beach is huge and you can walk for 2 hours at least. Snorkelling is limited, however the sand and waves are perfect.

Overall, Excellent resort for the price you are paying , you are really getting your money's worth.Having travelled extensively in the Caribbean I could say this is your best return per dollar.The cuban people are extremely friendly ,honest and humble. Can't wait to go back very soon. Many thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Literally just got off the plane and can't wait to go back
Everything was top notch, the food could of been a little better but there's definitely no chance of starving there
The pools are big and clean and wasn't any trouble with loungers
The management have been great too
Sending us little gifts each night and inviting us to a meal with them on Friday which was beautiful

And as for the beach, it's worth paying the money just for that
Loved every minute
10/10 :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stotty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge C, Director General at Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to serve you. His words in person and through this popular forum fill us with pride and encourage continue working full, trying to satisfy our customers. I hope you have the opportunity to return soon. Best regards, Jorge Calderín, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I just got back from this resort last night and I am already wanting to go back.
The overall experience was unforgettable; gorgeous clear blue water beaches, modern and clean resort, amazing service, descent food, and great atmosphere.
The staff was very friendly and courteous; I would like to make mention of a few of the wonderful staff members I had the pleasure to be served by:

- front desk manager Abel
- buffet waiters Boris and Luis-Mario
- beach bartenders Sergei and Jordan
- beach sandwich stand chef Rodney
- water sports specialist Jorge
- animators Katia, Lisandra, and Judy

I recommend this resort to anyone looking to disconnect from the daily routine and enjoy one of the most beautiful beaches in the world.

Sincerely,

VYR

Room Tip: If you want to minimize the risk of getting bugs in the room request an upgrade to 2nd or 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VYR_MTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge C, Director General at Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear guest: thank you very much for your review so positive. It is very satisfying for our team knowing that we have done our job. Please, when you choose to return, do not forget to contact us. Sincerely, Jorge Calderín, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This review will be useful to people used to travel in low/poor conditions (backpack style) --- just so you know where my standards are on the satisfaction scale.

After a while I've become a full-time employee with a lot of stress to pull off my shoulders once a year and discovered that spending some time in the Caribbean is just the right thing to do to rest. You just lay on the beach, eat, workout and sleep well - enough to recharge your health and energy! I was there with husband on May 25 for a week.

Food- A la carte restaurants are surprising. The staff is excellent and they know a lot about serving tables in a "sophisticated" way. I really enjoyed noticing that all the small details were taken care of by our server. The Garibaldi (italian restaurant) is really something compared to a hotel in Cayo Largo we also went to. Plus, the buffet offers a lot of choice and every thing was fresh, even though we were in low season. You can have pasta, omelet, sea food and meat cooked right in front of you so you just can't question the quality and the freshness. In the morning, we had fresh orange juice and yes - the coffee is good! First time for me ever in the Central America region.

Gym : A/C and 4 new treadmills, cold bottled water at your disposition, towels and 3 TVs - very effective workouts! Plus you can throw yourself in one of the nearby pools - there's like 8 on the site.

Beach: This is the best beach I have been to in my life. When there was wind, there were very fun waves, but we also had calm water at the end of our stay (a small storm passed off the coast at the beginning of our stay-- this can happen if you travel past May 15. Usually, the rain season is starting in June). Unlike other users we always had access to shade (other reason to travel in low season) with new beach chairs that were very comfortable. We preferred the right side of the beach, as on the left there was the restaurant, loud music and the bar. You can walk on the beach for 18 km so imagine a long band of white soft sand in each direction - paradise!

Snack bar : Excellent option for when you miss any of the meals, there is 24h service for food and drinks. The hamburgers are fantastic for an afternoon snack!

Rooms : The rooms were absolutely beautiful -painted not too long ago, everything worked and our king-sized bed did not curve in the middle which is a good plus for me. If I can give an honnest comparison, I could say it has a clean deluxe motel room layout + nice colors!

Overall, excellent experience with the nicest staff and please - don't forget to try the Mar Azul cocktail!

Enjoy your trip!

Room Tip: With Air Canada vacation you could enter 3 special requests. We asked for a quiet, second-floor king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank Joelle256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cayo Santa Maria hotels
3.6 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
1,154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Memories Santa Maria
Grand Memories Santa Maria
#15 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Melia Las Dunas
Melia Las Dunas
#8 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
8,147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#9 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4,244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#7 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria

Property: Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Address: Las Dunas 5 | Cayo Santa Maria, 50100, Cuba (Formerly Hotel Gaviota Cayo Santa Maria)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria 5*
Number of rooms: 769
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, South African Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Gaviota Hotels so you can book your Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing