We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Cayo Santa Maria!”
Review of Melia Buenavista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melia Buenavista
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A Gem in Cayo Santa Maria!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I visited this resort May 2-7, 2014. As a travel agent, people look to me to make recommendations as to where they should go & stay. This is definitely on the go & stay list in my top 2 for Cuba.

This 100 room all butler resort is quaint, intimate and a little bit of paradise in the Santa Clara Cayos.

The rooms are huge, views are outstanding and the staff go out of their way to make sure you're taken care of.

The resort and rooms are exceptionally clean! The room attendants were amazing and creative.

I always have difficulty with pillows but they have every variety of pillow covered at this resort to improve your comfort level.

My butler Javier helped me complete some things in Cuba I was unfamiliar with but handled it professionally and with complete confidence.

This is a perfect resort for Honeymooners or couples just wanting to escape the rat race in exchange for peace and quiet.

I was in room 712 - Sunset beach room. Exquisite sunsets perfect for the romance in your life.

There are 3 beaches. West, middle and East. Food was great. You could have some buffet items for breakfast or a la carte if you prefer. I did use the room service on my departure since none of the restaurants had opened yet.

If you stay at this resort you can play at the 2 others if you like - Melia Las Dunas a 900+ room resort or Melia Cayo Santa Maria a smaller 300+ room resort. The shuttle leaves the hotel every 1/2 hour beginning at 10 am.

The staff and Sales Manager, Yuri were all delightful to deal with.


Thanks for making my well needed break a huge success!

Room Tip: rooms 712 or premier rooms 722 are both sunset rooms. The upper floor has a spectacular view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, General Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Sue,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share on Trip Advisor your true feeling concerning your stay at the Meliá Buenavista.
I can see that you really enjoyed your stay in our resort starting by the friendly and amazing of our employees. You can be sure we will extend , as usual, your praising words to all our staff, especially with Javier and Yuri, so they feel even more motivated to provide some really personalized and professional services.
Thank you also for mentioning the quality of our rooms and food and finally your conclusion: “This 100 room all butler resort is quaint, intimate and a little bit of paradise in the Santa Clara Cayos ...This is a perfect resort for Honeymooners or couples just wanting to escape the rat race in exchange for peace and quiet.” shows in small words why Meliá Buenavista is so special. I send you my warmest regards from the sunny island of Cuba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,777
    460
    193
    68
    34
See reviews for
144
2,008
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Erin, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had a fabulous time at the Melia Buenavista! This was our 9th trip to Cuba and definitely one of our favourite resorts.
The good...
The setting is spectacular! The three beaches, the two pools with floaties. The evening sunset saxophone serenade with champagne. All amazing. The rooms are very nice. I wasn't a huge fan of the outdoor shower- sometimes it was quite windy out and then it was chilly despite the 35C temps, however my husband loved it! Maid service was excellent, no complaints. We did order off the pillow menu and received our choices.
Service was outstanding at all of the bars and restaurants, regardless of whether we tipped or not. Room service was also very good- we always received our orders within 30 min which is quite acceptable. We have never had such amazing drink service around the pool or on the beach anywhere else. We really enjoyed meeting Lester in the lobby bar! We also enjoyed the snorkelling those days where it wasn't too wavy.
We were there for our wedding anniversary and our butler Michel arranged for a private champagne saxophone serenade on the snorkel beach prior to the resort session on the sunset beach. It was amazing.
The not so good...
The food was average. I think it is a step above a lot of the resorts in Cuba but our past two trips have been to the Melia Cayo Coco and the food there is outstanding. This is the one area the Melia Buenavista could improve upon. We did go off resort to the Las Dunas for Italian and the service was terrible so we chose to stay at the Buenavista for all of our remaining meals.
The butler system does seem to be hit or miss. We ended up having 4 different butlers. You are supposed to have 2 that alternate day to day. We found that they would do anything for you if you asked, but we didn't see much of them and aren't the sort to go looking...we are pretty low key and easy keepers! We would end up calling just to make our dinner reservations. I think it would be more appropriate to refer to it as a concierge service.
Despite the food, we would return. The setting was just spectacular and that is really why we travel south, to enjoy the ocean and the sun. And of course the Cuban people are so wonderful!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor walk out around the quiet pool. Absolutely loved it and would actually request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anmlfxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, General Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear travelers from Erin, Canada:
We heartily appreciate your honest review. Even when the services received have not fully met your expectations; you have been able to point out those aspects you have really enjoyed at our resort.
We are working really hard in the improvement of all our services and your opinions constitute a great help for us to orient our efforts. The food is one of the aspects we work the hardest at as it is a crucial point when it comes to satisfying our guest’s expectations, so we are working on replacing some menus and also a new Cheff is coming to take us to the next level.
As you wrote in your review is the people who makes the difference and I´m totally sure your next vacation in our premises will be expectacular.
Hoping to be able to serve you again in the near future,
Thank you for your contribution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My stay with my husband at the melia buenavista in cuba, wat the most excellent vacation weve Ever been on!!! And we stay at 5 star resorts!!! Everything was top of the line amazing!!!we discovered that contrary to popular belief...the food was awsome!!!the butler service was up and beyond Anything ive ever experienced, my men, butlers , esel an herardo, were stupendous!!even ran a bath for me and put fresh picked flowers in and around the jet tub! Wow!!! We will most definitely be going back!!! I /we absolutely loooove melia buenavista!!!service, food, pools, beaches, people, water, weather...theyve got it all!!!thanks again!!! Todd and Brenda Scarrow...kelowna, b.c. Canada

Room Tip: Oceanview junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank brendajean41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, General Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Todd and Brenda,
It is always a pleasure to hear from you.
We heartily thank the kind words you have addressed to our staff and services in general. Thank you for defending our values and encouraging our efforts by saying: “ we discovered that contrary to popular belief...the food was awsome!!!”… I am sure your next vacation with us will be even more pleasant.
Hoping to be able to serve you again in the near future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We spent another relaxing vacation at the Melia in April with great friends at this resort who we look forward to seeing each year.
Under new management and saw many changes since last year. We had the pleasure of sitting with the manager at a meal with other repeat guests and had some very good conversation. He is very proactive and always keeping things in check....gotta like that.
The staff are one of the main reasons we keep returning. Fabulous....we cant say enough about Gerardo..our long time friend and a great asset to your resort....Mary in the beach restaurant is a pleasure and very efficient and always has a smile on her face....the staff in the hotel lounge are super...beach staff the same....always had our favorite spot each morning and no problem to find chairs anytime of the day...
If there was one thing we had to mention it would be the food...think it has taken a step back. We always find something to eat but the beef was an issue on several occasions..just could not eat it...way overcooked...better selection of wines this year as well so being a wine drinker that was nice...
We love the small intimate feeling you get here....entertainment is very good....everyone remembers you and continue to give great service....We will keep coming back here and have no desire to go anywhere else ...hoping to make two visits next year.
Keep up the good work everyone ...Hola to all our friends.........

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubaloversNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear cubaloversNovaScotia,
Thank you so much for your review describing your experience at Meliá Buenavista.
It feels good to receive such nice comments regarding our resort. One of the areas we have worked the hardest in the last couple of months is the food. Even though we have already achieved some higher levels of satisfaction, we still have a few changes to implement. We are sure you will love it then!
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again for another memorable vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Amazing!

My wife and I celebrated our Anniversary at Melia Buenavista last weekend. We were completely in love from the moment that we arrived at the resort. We met with warm, friendly smiles. We were personally escorted to the room by the manager himself! I'm so glad we chose this resort as it made our trip so memorable. The grounds were beautiful and the beaches are gorgeous. The staff was very nice, and they definitely work hard to make guests feel welcome. We can not wait to go back to Buenavista!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Richard K,
The fact that you had chosen us for your anniversary feels very rewarding. Now, receiving such a nice review makes us feel honored. Thank you so much.
We heartily hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2014

we spent an amazing time at the Buenavista, its secluded location is a dream, the rooms are great (with an amazing outdoor shower!), an the staff really makes you feel welcome. A special mention to Jaume, the general manager, he was everywhere and always making sure we were having a great time and making the most out of our holiday, a big thank you to all the team back at the Buenavista in Cayo Santa Maria! :-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmenroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, General Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Carmenroses,
It feels very rewarding to hear that our services have gone beyond our clients' expectations. We'll extend your compliments to our staff and most particularly, to your butlers. Comments like yours constitute some good motivation for us to keep working to achieve our guests' satisfaction.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again for another memorable vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Melia Buenavista was everything that I expected and more. I traveled there with my boyfriend, his parents and his sister and her boyfriend. The resort is absolute paradise. The staff is amazing and the food is incredible! Who doesn't like beach side lunches filled with Champagne and grilled lobster? The best part about this resort is its size. You never have to fight for beach / pool chairs as it is small and there is enough space for anyone. There are no buffets, which is great. One person in our party has Celiacs disease and brought these little cards in Spanish that explained her allergies and they were accommodated easily. Our butler David was amazing and went out of his way to make sure everyone was happy. There were two servers at the resort that we especially loved and they were Lester and Seydel. Make sure you find them in the restaurants and sit in their section. Lester also works in the pool bar. This isn't a party resort by any means and the night time activities are pretty much done by 10:30 p.m. and then the lobby bar gets pretty quiet after that. This is the perfect resort for a nice relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: I would have liked to have a room that walked out onto the second smaller pool and will try and book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Nicole F,
It has been great to receive your opinions through Trip Advisor. We heartily thank your compliments and your detailed description of our facilities and services, which will certainly provide potential travelers some valuable information. You can be sure we will extend your praising words to all our staff, specially to Seydel , Lester and David, so they feel even more motivated to provide some really personalized and professional services.
We hope to see you again some time in the future in your new favourite vacation spot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Santa Maria
6.0 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
3.3 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,968 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#9 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,218 reviews
3.0 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#8 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
233.1 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Buenavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Buenavista

Property: Melia Buenavista
Address: Punta Madruguilla, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Buenavista 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located west of Cayo Santa Maria in a privileged ecological environment, and surrounded by beaches and coves. All-Inclusive five-star resort with 105 junior suites and suites, and the Villa "Zaida del Rio." Designed for adults over 18 years. An entire hotel featuring Royal Service. Recommended for couples, weddings, honeymoons and wellness/spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Buenavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Buenavista Hotel Cayo Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing