We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Lovely!!!”
Review of Melia Buenavista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia Buenavista
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
nova scotia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quite Lovely!!!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a very peaceful and relaxing vacation at the MB-We arrived at the resort very late at night along with one other couple and check-in went very quickly and smoothly,however it would have been nice to have that welcoming drink that they advertise.
ROOM-the rooms are very clean and spacious-the matresses are very hard but no big deal to us-the outdoor shower is absolutely fabulous!!!!
SERVICE-the service for the most part is outstanding,they are all very eager to please you-and although we tipped often,we were never made to feel as though it was expected-the butler service is not its all cracked up to be,they are usually hard to find and unless we were trying to make dinner reservations,there was really no need for one--they did draw us a bubble bath on our anniversary which was a nice touch.
FOOD-We felt the food was very good,probably the best we have had in Cuba--we never went hungry-the room service was great,food was hot and arrived on time.
BEACHES AND POOLS-the swimming beach was beautiful and it aws never difficult to find chairs under a palapala no matter what time of the day it was--pools were very clean,warm and again,plenty of seating.
SPA--highly recomend the serenity facial and massage
Over all experience---just what we needed,if its R&R that you are seeking you will absolutely find it here-we would definitely return.

Room Tip: all rooms are about the same and the resort is so small that they are all close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bootgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Bootgal,
We have been delighted to receive your review. It feels very rewarding to acknowledge, through your words, that you found exactly what you needed while staying at Melia Buenavista. We will extend your comments to our staff since they would certainly be very motivated by your praising words.
Thanks again for your contribution and be certain that it will always be a pleasure to have you as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,834
    468
    194
    68
    34
See reviews for
151
2,058
46
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The Melia Buenavista is a lovely and quiet resort with great beaches. You never feel crowded and will always find a beach cabana. The staff are courteous and go out of their way to please you. Our butlers were David and Gustavo, both of whom did a great job looking after our needs. The two pool areas are super, pool volleyball at 3 pm is a great way to make friends and drinks are always served with a smile. Try the chicken from the pool Bar BQ, a Piano Bar cappuccino with Caribbean Cream is wonderful and a loaded pizza is a treat. Our travel representative arranged a fishing trip with a local guide and it was the experience of a lifetime catching snapper and barracuda. The only downfall was intermittent Wi-Fi service made it tough to stay current with email. Nonetheless, we had an outstanding vacation and recommend the Buenavista.

Room Tip: The ocean or pool view rooms are worth the few extra dollars over the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Neil H.,
We really appreciate your posting this review describing so lively how it felt to stay at Melia Buenavista. We feel very proud to acknowledge you sound so glad about having spent your holiday at our premises. You can be sure we will extend your praising words to all our staff, especially your butlers, David and Gustavo, so they feel even more motivated to provide some really personalized and professional services. Needless to say: it will be an honor to have you back, once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I am a bit upset at what we payed for this package. First we were not greeted with any drinks ok.. fine, but we were not even directed to where would could get a drink. We were just told to sit and wait. After the long bus ride you need a drink and its hot! Even 4 stars have drinks on arrival.
Rooms are very nice all have good views. But our door was left open by the maid one evening. We came back from dinner and our room door was wide open!! For anyone to enter. We were not impressed at all. Our butler told us sorry but our room and a few others have issues closing. Not a good excuse at all. We had no issues closing the door.
Dinning was all e la carte for dinner. The food choices were very poor. Our first night was only sea food for app's and main dishes. This was not great for me because I am not big on sea food. Cuban and Mexican night was a bit better, still only 2 choices for main dishes. Breakfast and lunch are ok not great. They only had bacon 2 days out of the 7. Room service was a bit of a joke. We called for it one evening but they were out of 3 of the 4 dishes listed for room service. One night we tried the buffet at Melia los Dunas it was a zoo! Don not go, we saw at least 45-60 people waiting to get in to dinner buffet. And they do not have A.C.
The beaches were nice and clean. Great to see fish! We were offered drinks at the beach.
Pools are nice needs a bit of repair but still I would rate them a 9 out 10. Bartenders were very nice and often took orders for drinks. They play the same Euro beats elevator music at the main pool everyday. Its so bad and it did not make me feel relaxed at all. I would rather Spanish music any day seeing we are in Cuba..No stawberry Daiquiris or lime at all. Everyday they said they would have it tomorrow. I have always had the slushy style drinks in Cuba but not at Buenovista. One thing that irritated me was no bathroom tissue in any washroom stalls at the breakfast/lunch buffet bathrooms for 2 days!! This is not 5 star luxury, if I cant use the washroom.
Entertainment was ok nothing really special. They did play music with dinning often, that was nice. Night life is not good at this type of resort for those who want to party late.
They offer a bus to take you to a little man made town to buy hand crafts.
The butlers were ok but a few days we did not see them and had no idea of where we were to dine for dinner..lol. They did have fruit in our room which was very nice and they ran a fancy bath one evening.
Overall I did expect a bit better service for what we payed and better food in general. We have been to Cuba ever year for 4 years so I have had better at past resorts. I would return but for less then what we payed.

Room Tip: All rooms have nice views of pools or ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, General Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Emily T

I very much regret you have not had a positively memorable experience at our resort. We have very carefully studied all issues mentioned in your review and so far, several corrective actions have been put into practice in order to avoid similar occurrences in the future. We really appreciate your help in identifying our improvement opportunities so we are, eventually able to provide a truly professional service feeling to all our customers.
We would be really honored to have once again as our guests in the near future. Please let us know in advance the date of your next booking for us to give you for granted a good service for your holidays.
Thank you so much for your contribution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

WOW.... My husband and I just returned from the Melia Buenavista PARADISE..... we transferred from the Playo Cayo Santa Maria. I would like to start my thanking Rodolfo from Air Canada who made the transfer fast and painless.. and our Butler (Joel) who greeted us at the Hotel upon our arrival. This resort is fabulous... from the waiters to the staff at the restaurants and the reception. This was our 12th trip to different countries in the Caribbean and we have to say they are number one with the Iberostar Grand Bavaro in Punta Cana.

The 3 beaches each have there own charm , the rooms are beautiful and clean and the outside shower is wonderful.

We will be back for sure

Thank you
Anik and Mario

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottawa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Anik and Mario,
We have been delighted with your review about your 12th Caribbean experience. It feels really good to acknowledge what your feeling has been in relation to all our facilities, our natural scenery, and our staff performance. We very much appreciate your having taken the time to share your experience to such extent. The rest of the traveler community must have certainly benefited from the first-hand information you have provided them. It would be a great pleasure to have you, once again as our guests to enjoy some really special vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, UK
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

A smaller, more exclusive (by Cuban standards) resort than the rest. Go with an open mind & don't expect 5 star wider world standards - & then you'll enjoy it. Nice ocean side suites though a bit tatty in parts, great friendly staff, perfect snorkelling, lovely pools & the best ever sunset spot with an amazing saxophonist & a sparkly glass or 2 to watch the rays disappear. The restaurants do struggle to keep up standards with the limited ingredients available to them - but the Navigatore one is the best. And the hotel cat population keeps you entertained every evening as the kittens chase about the place. The private butler service for the suites doesn't offer much in addition, apart from showing you to your room... Would have liked to take home the kittens - & the saxophonist! Oh & expect to meet lots of Canadians - their resort of choice...

Room Tip: Ours was an oceanside suite with patio - room 1512
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frazers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Frazers,
We really appreciate your having taken the time to write this review. It feels very rewarding to acknowledge, through your words, that you found exactly what you needed while staying at Melia Buenavista.
we hope to be able to serve you again in the near future.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

After reading all the fantastic reviews about this place we booked a six night stay as the perfect high point ending to our amazing honeymoon trip around Cuba. The perfect place to unwind and relax after spending 10 days travelling round and staying in various places along the way. Oh what a disappointment was in store for our last days on the Island that had so far shown us great hospitality, fun and fantastic food in every other place we had stayed from 2 star to 5 star hotels. We must have gone to a different resort to the reviews we had read prior to booking.
We arrived around 15.30 to be told our room would not be ready for about 45 mins - our allocated “butler” suggested we have some lunch. He escorted us to the buffet restaurant and said for us to return to reception when we had finished. On hindsight after seeing the food displayed without any covers or chillers and ants and flies crawling over it, we should have packed our bags and left then, but decided to give it the benefit of the doubt as it was nearing the end of the lunch service. We chose not to sample the food on that visit.
We headed back to reception as instructed and met our “butler” who showed us round the complex which comprised of 3 beaches, two pools, 3 restaurants, BBQ, gym and spa (which was really good), then on to our junior suite room. The suite was well appointed and clean, if a little jaded and worn in places considering the age of the resort. Towels and linen were washed but not to a high standard. Our butler led us through how the resort operated; our mini bar would be restocked daily; we had to book our evening meal in advance either through him, his counterpart or via reception – we would be given a slip saying the booking had been made, no slip no dinner – we only ever received one slip. He advised that we had been booked into the “fish restaurant” that evening. This was the buffet restaurant where breakfast was served and one of the 3 lunch venues. We expressed our concerns after experiencing the lunch session and were assured it was à la carte, not buffet and all would be fine. We asked that he book us into the other two restaurants on the resort for the next two evenings.
Staff/Service
With rare exception the staff were apathetic, unhelpful and in some instances plain rude, which was a complete shock after our experiences elsewhere on the Island.
On our first full day I requested from our butler two bottles of water along with a further two to be delivered daily for the duration of our stay and also ordered different pillows from the “pillow menu”. After waiting for the majority of the day (roughly 8 hours) I telephoned 700 (Royal Service) to find out where the items were, to be informed that nothing appeared to have been ordered and they were sorting. After the pillows were ordered and I was told by the maid to order the water through room service, I went to reception to find out what was happening. They informed me that I’d only just ordered the items. I explained that I had been up to reception that morning and had ordered via our butler who assured me that it would be done. The water eventually arrived. The water saga continued for our entire stay despite requesting daily that we have 2 bottles delivered, preferably in the morning. We resorted to picking up bottles of water from the bars. Surely the whole point of a butler is for them to check daily that everything is to your liking, not to put in an appearance as you are leaving in the hope of receiving a tip.
The room service staff were the friendliest as was our maid Barbara.
As my husband is an avid fisherman we had chosen Cayo Santa Maria as it's one of the best places to fish in Cuba. Only not if you are staying at this hotel as, again, unfortunately no one was willing to assist in where to go or how to get there – all they did was to telephone a travel rep who wanted to charge extortionate prices to fish off shore which was not what we required. Again we found it strange, the lack of assistance from staff after experiencing staff going out of their way to help in the previous locations.
Food
The food at the MB was the worst without exception experienced during the whole of our stay in Cuba – it’s totally understandable after staying here why there’s the general impression that food in Cuba is bad – it’s not, the food is good in Cuba, just not here.
Breakfast – buffet with food laid out with no chillers or covers. There was no egg station – various dishes had to be ordered from the menu and could take anything up to an hour to arrive. Coffee, if you didn’t request “American” consisted of your cup being taken to the bar for the barista to make your coffee. If you asked for a refill your cup was taken again and left with numerous other used cups. It was a lottery as to whether you got your original cup back or someone elses. The bar area was also where all the ordered food was placed along with the dirty items collected from the tables. There was also the issue of one cloth cleaned all tables/chairs/mats/plates/cups/glasses even cleaning the bird dirt off tables and chairs from the outside seating area. It wasn’t changed just carried on being used to “freshen” up crockery and cutlery where people had eaten and left and to polish the glasses ready for the next unsuspecting person to be seated.
Lunch – (buffet) same as breakfast with the food laid out with no proper hygiene of coolers or covers. Ordered chicken and rice. Patiently waited for its arrival. It arrived, one deep fried chicken drumstick and a tablespoon of rice! (BBQ) Food here slightly better but still swimming in grease. (Room Service) pizza reasonably edible and the fastest most pleasant service by far.
Dinner – The majority of the time, the food was inedible with very limited choice that never changed together with extremely small portions.
General
The overall location of the hotel is fabulous. There are 2 beautiful pools (although people are allowed to eat, drink and smoke IN THEM), three white sandy beaches. There is potential for this to be first class resort and true 5 star resort, but for us it wasn’t a patch on other 5 star resorts. As it stands at the moment I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone. Sadly our stay here totally marred what had been up to then, a truly amazing honeymoon trip round Cuba.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank ABC4691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear ABC4691,
Receive our most respectful greeting from sunny Cuba.
We heartily appreciate you honest review. We understand we were not able to meet all your expectations in several aspects but we thank your giving us the chance to identify these improvement opportunities and use your valuable comments as a starting point to improve our services. Please, accept our apologies.
There are some relevant aspects, however, that I would like to mention. For instance: Meliá Buenavista does not have a defined fishing area. Being part of a natural reserve, there are very specific regulations for many environment-related aspects including fishing. That is why you were derived to the Gaviotatours rep. after showing your interest in this activity.
Regarding the coffee at breakfast, we would like to clarify that the second cup of coffee is always served in a fresh cup taken from the top of the coffee machine. The dirty one removed from the table goes straight to be washed.
Once again, we apologize for the inconveniences and thank your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Outstanding vacation, in the outstandig place, best service ever.
We were looking for something unique and special in order to finish our 14 days Cuba road trip. It was without a doubt one of our utmost experience.
Amazing staff, extremelly professional and dedicated to make your stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabrizio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Fabrizio L,
It has been a pleasure to acknowledge, through your lively review, how pleased you felt with our facilities and services. It is very rewarding to receive such nice comments which certainly stimulate us to continue working in our service quality.
Be certain that we will be honored to welcome you back and provide you another memorable holiday. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Santa Maria
6.0 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
1,181 reviews
3.3 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3,021 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#10 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4,271 reviews
1.7 mi away
Iberostar Ensenachos
Iberostar Ensenachos
#1 of 1 in Cayo Ensenachos
5,286 reviews
3.0 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#6 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Buenavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Buenavista

Property: Melia Buenavista
Address: Punta Madruguilla, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Buenavista 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located west of Cayo Santa Maria in a privileged ecological environment, and surrounded by beaches and coves. All-Inclusive five-star resort with 105 junior suites and suites, and the Villa "Zaida del Rio." Designed for adults over 18 years. An entire hotel featuring Royal Service. Recommended for couples, weddings, honeymoons and wellness/spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Buenavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Buenavista Hotel Cayo Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing