We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”
Review of Melia Buenavista

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Santa Maria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melia Buenavista
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We visited Cuba for our honeymoon trip and we booked at melia cayo santa maria. But as a gift for our honeymoon we stayed at buena vista. This hotel is the best we've ever stayed. The room was suite. It had a jacuzzi and a shower at the balcony. the aircondition was open 24hours/day. The bed was very comfortable.
The maid was cleaning every day the room and they change the towels 2 times the day. They also privide the towels for the beach.
The food was amazing. lobster, shrimbs and fishes were mainly the food.
the staff was very helpful.
there is a spa too. i had a stone massage and it was very relaxed.
You can also visit the other hotels or melia which are next to buena vista. There is a bus every 10-15 minutes. But we enjoy so much our stay to buena vista and we didn’t visit any other hotel.
this hotel really make us feel like our home and make our honeymoon unforgetful!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EleniDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Director General at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Eleni,
It was a great pleasure welcoming you to Buenavista. We are delighted to read that you spent a most wonderful holiday with us and found the accommodation, staff and ambiance of the resort very pleasant.
Thank you for the compliments & recommendation about our resort and we look forward for the opportunity to serve you again soon in your Cuban home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 889 of 2,686 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

me and my other 3 friends we spend one week from 21 -28 June 2013. We are amazed by this resort . peaceful , clean ,excellent service , food , super clean room . special thanks to the management and our butlers Lucas & Javier . This resort exceeded all of our expectations . we re looking forward to come back again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmetohu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Representante de Calidad at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear four from Toronto:
It feels very rewarding to hear that our services have gone beyond our clients' expectations. We'll extend your compliments to our staff and most particularly, to your butlers. Comments like yours constitute some good motivation for us to keep working to achieve our guests' satisfaction.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again for another memorable vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband & I spent 2 lovely weeks at the Melia Buenavista arriving on 02/06/13. From the moment we arrived to our departure all of the staff could not do enough for you. Our butlers Javier & Lucas ensured they met up with us each morning to find out what reservations we required for evening dinner & if there was anything we wanted in our rooms, nothing was too much trouble for them.

The photo's Thomas Cook have used in their brochure of this resort do not do it justice, the gardens are more mature and well attended with beautiful colourful flowers, the gardeners work very hard and do an excellent job in maintaining the grounds.

The whole setting is peaceful & tranquil and if you don't want to get off your sun lounger Oresto the pool barman was always there to get you a cooling drink, (lovely fresh cocktails) or some lunch he cannot do enough for the guests and his work ethic is to be commended.

During our time at the hotel it was only 50% - 60% occupied which meant that sun loungers were easily available all day, at either of the pools or the 3 beaches, many mornings we were the only 2 at the "busy" pool until around 11am. There were no problem getting clean pool towels every day. We spent most of our days around the "busy" pool where there was some activities, but only if the guests wanted it, there was no pressure from the animation team to get involved, Zavvi & Lilly were available if you wanted to get off your sun lounger to do aerobics, dancing etc, but it you wanted peace the beautiful "quite" pool was an excellent alternative.

We had chosen a pool room and we were given an 2nd floor room overlooking the "quite" pool, we couldn't have asked for anything better - we are not ones for sitting on our balcony, so a sea view wasn't a necessity for us. The outside shower, I must admit I was a bit apprehensive but the area was well screened and if anyone could see anything it would only have been shadows, but there was a bath & shower head inside if it bothered you that much. Our room did back on to the main road (100 - 150 meters away), but I can assure you someone would need a telescope to see you in the shower from the main road, so don't let that bother you & its only the occasional bus/car which goes by.

We enjoyed the food in all 3 restaurants available to us and never struggled to find anything to eat. Breakfast was plentiful and cooked to order, lunch a choice of 2 sit down restaurants, pool BBQ and pizza, club sandwiches etc served to you by Oresto at your sun lounger with a cocktail or refreshing cold beer what more can you ask for!! Evening dinner although only 2 restaurants available we found plenty of variety. Just 1 small point of criticism, more local sourced fish please. We did eat at the Japanese at Melia Cayo Santa Maria which was lovely and tried to book their French restaurant but they had closed this also, so check these restaurants availability when you arrive & book in advance. We also went to the Romantic restaurant at the Melia Las Dunas we were disappointed in the table we were given (tucked in the furthest away corner of the room) and no champagne (cava), this restaurant was too big too be romantic!!. and there were children misbehaving!!! We didn't hang about either of these hotels after dinner as we could not wait to get back to our lovely air conditioned bar for after dinner drinks. Whilst the restaurants are air conditioned in these two hotels the lobby bar area's are not!!!!

The main evening entertainment is local musicians who play a variety of music and the bar giving the guests an opportunity to mingle & make new friends from around the world. The bar area was relaxing & excellent choice of international brands and I also have to mention the friendliness of the bar staff, particularly L'Orvis.

I cannot finish without mentioning the dreaded mosquito!!! Yes they were there morning, noon & night so take your deet. But credit to the resort thy fogged twice a day to keep the blighters at bay and to be honest when we met back up at the airport with guests from other hotels we seem to have faired the best.

By the way the weather was beautiful: one morning it rained until 8am by 9am it was gorgeous, 2 afternoons it rained for 2 minutes and the occasional shower early evening or during the night. I never had to use the umbrella in my room. So don't let the weather charts for June put you off.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shalog3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Quality Control Representative at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear British Travellers:
We really appreciate your having taken the time to write this review with such a detailed description of our facilities, services and staff. We feel very proud to acknowledge you feel so enthusiastic about your recent vacation at our premises and we hope this will not be your last visit.
As you may have surely noticed our resort is located in a reserved natural area. Consequently, we are very much engaged with the protection of the environment. That is why the procedures for insect control are restricted to environmentally-friendly products and methods. The summer season always increases the presence of mosquitoes, especially at specific hours of the day and most likely, by the beach.
Thank you for all your kind words and the good promotion we may from them.
We hope to receive you again for another memorable vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Two of us travelled to Melia Buenevista in April 2013. I have been to Cuba once before and stayed at another Melia (Cayo Coco) but did not like it very much. My expectations were lower because of that and because it’s Cuba as everyone says... Not only this resort exceeded all of my expectations but it was one of the best all-inclusive trips we ever did!!!! (That includes a 5 star in Mexico). I loved every minute of it!!!

BEACH: The best part was the 3 stunning beaches that belong to the resort: they are small but beautiful, each offering a different view and vibe. Because this resort is the last one on this side of the island and 3 km away from other resorts, there was no pedestrian traffic like in the other resorts. Go for a walk and you will see. We spent most of our time on the middle beach where snorkelling was the best (take your own gear if you have it as the resort doesn’t have gear to rent). The coral reef is 1 min swim away and worth exploring. Having said that, do take water shoes as the bottom close to reef is a bit rough. The beach with the bar stretches for miles past the resort, connecting to the other resorts for anyone that likes long walks. You can take a free shuttle, bus ($1) or a taxi on your way back if you are too tired to walk back. Taxi is about $4 to 5 depending on how far you go.
Getting a sunbed was never a problem; there were always plenty to choose from still at 10am. The sunbeds are very nice: wooden with sturdy umbrellas- a very nice touch, just like 5 stars should be! None of the beaches are crowded with sunbeds; there is plenty of room between them so it feels like you have the beach to yourself. How can you not love having your own piece of paradise 10 steps from your room?!

ROOM: Great! We opted for the regular room (not ocean view) and were super happy to see that we were on the ground floor and stepping from our balcony we were literally 10 steps from the beach! Not an ocean view but better! Ocean view rooms are on the 2nd floor. The room itself was beautiful and large with a walk-in closet, outdoor shower, Jacuzzi tub, pretty decor, very comfy bed. I was 100% happy with it. By my standards it was 10 out of 10. The bubble bath with flowers and Champaign prepared by our butler one evening was a very nice touch! I asked (with the help of a tip) the person refilling our mini-bar for Champaign delivery to our room every day at 5 pm and it was there.

FOOD: Overall I was nicely surprised with the food. My hubby is a bit of a picky eater but he didn’t complain once, which was a relief . Breakfast was good and plentiful (all eggs tasted really good, like the organic farm eggs), lunch was only so so (more salads and fruits would be nice, lunch laves a room for improvement in my opinion), dinners were very very good! One of the dinners we had at the International restaurant was superb: lobster for me and gnioki for hubby!!! We felt well fed throughout the week. For those who worry about the food in Cuba: don’t -if you are staying at Buenavista. The red wine at dinners was also very good. Drinks were superb, especially mojito made by Orestos (main pool bar). Service was great at dinner but lacking at breakfast (this could be improved on as well).

STAFF: very nice people are working at Melia B. Everyone was very friendly and seemed happy to be there. I was always met with a smile when asking for anything. I enjoyed talking to the staff and learning about life in Cuba. As for the butler service, I don’t think they are necessary but its a nice touch. They take your dinner reservations and help you with things you might need but honestly you can do all those things yourself by calling the reception or asking anyone else. But, since we did have a butler we did use his services as much as we could. All things requested (like breakfast in bed, restaurant reservations etc) were delivered and we were happy with, so no complains with butler service. I like to tip when I go away so I think it worked well for us.

ENTARTAIMENT: we are not big on shows at night so this resort was perfect for us as it didn’t have any. There was nightly entertainment in the bar which was lots of fun! Local band that played a few times was great; the singer has an amazing voice! If you like shows, there is a free shuttle to 2 larger sister resorts that have that.
The sax player on the beach at Sunset was there 3 times while we were there, we really liked that!

WHAT needs to be improved: few things around the resort are starting to look tired, nothing major and can be easily fixed with fresh coat of paint. I’m sure most people would not even notice. Lunch menu at the pool BBQ; not a lot of choices and run out quickly. Few more food options would be nice. Service at breakfast: Melia please do something about it! Waiting for coffee for 20-30 min should not happen at a 5-star. Maybe making coffee available for self service would help.

RESORT OVERALL: Beautiful, small and cozy. It doesn’t feel crowded; about 5 min walk at max to anything. The grounds are very nice and clean but not as green as some other places like Mexico etc. It is on an island and all the fresh water is delivered from the main land so it only makes sense that they will not be wasting it on watering grass. It is a quite resort, no loud music blasting by the pool or beach. Time seems to stop when you are there. We are a couple that loves to entertain and have fun so we were a little worried reading all the reviews that it will be too quiet and boring but it wasn’t so! Your vacation is what you make of it and ours was absolutely perfect. With less craziness (like the large resorts have) we had time to re-connect with each other rather than chasing from activity to activity. We relaxed like never before. We also had lots of fun and never a dull moment! The staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome at all times, we made friends with other couples and made great memories. This resort is perfect for you if you are looking for nice relaxing place away from the chaos of everyday life, nice beach and beautiful sunsets! I would not hesitate to recommend it to any of my friends (I already did). We are going back for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paulusia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Quality Control Representative at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear couple from Toronto:
We heartily thank your honest, detailed and matter-of-fact review. For sure, your having taken the time to write it will help other travellers when choosing their next holiday destination.
We understand there will always be some less strong points to be improved and we are certainly focusing on food as the most important one at the moment. In this respect, personalizing menues seems to be working well, so far, with the help of our butlers.
Looking forward to receive you, once again, at Melia Buenavista for another relaxing vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This has to be the best resort hotel in Cuba, it simply cannot be faulted. I thought the lack of any watersports would be a drawback, but having stayed there realize that having them would detract from the purpose of this hotel which is to provide superb food and service in some of the most beautiful surroundings one can possibly have. For those who want the watersport facilities they can be accessed at a sister hotel further down the beach easily reached by free shuttle buses. However the snorkelling is superb, a guide is provided for those less confident and one can spend many happy hours enjoying the many varieties of fish to be seen in the crystal clear water.

The Management should be congratulated on having achieved pretty much perfection. From the beauty of the surroundings to the superb quality of food, entertainment and service, this hotel cannot be bettered. The only slightly jarring note was the standard of dress among some of the guests who could not be bothered to dress appropriately for dinner in the evenings. This is a pity when all the staff are immaculately turned out.

It is worth mentioning this resort is particularly well suited to those with disabilities or mobility problems, having special ramps providing easy access to all areas including the beach. There are disabled toilets provided and I noted the staff are very helpful assisting more elderly guests on to the beach and around the hotel

The entertainment requires special mention. It is of the highest standard, with a Symphony Orchestra and School of Music in the nearby town of Santa Clara the hotel can provide excellent musicians with several different bands playing in the restaurants and piano bar at all times, one can be assured of a standard of musical entertainment which far surpasses what passes for musical entertainment at other hotels in Cuba or the rest of the Caribbean. This greatly adds to the ambiance of the hotel.

The standard of food and service is another thing that sets this hotel apart - for a relatively small hotel there is an excellent choice and quality of food, particularly seafood, which means it is unnecessary to go to the other hotels although you can if you wish. Another great feature is the poolside bar-b-que which enables guests to stay and eat by the pool without having to change for lunch if they wish.

The setting of this hotel surrounded by 3 distinctly different beaches and its position in a nature reserve far from the nearest hotel is absolutely idyllic. There are a large number of repeat guests and I for one, intend to become one of them.

One last thing to be mentioned should be the sunset ceremony held on the beach, weather permitting, where a sax player walks around playing while champagne is served by immaculate waiters. This adds to whole ambiance and wonderful experience of staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JENNIFERN148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernesto O, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear friends from Gatwick, UK:
I have been more than pleased to read your detailed review. I really thank your taking the time to share your experience with our future travellers in such a positive way. One can feel it is your heart speaking. I am certain that all our staff would love to have you back.
Looking forward to serve you once again,
Ana L. Castañeda
Quality Control Representative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We spent 7th to 14th June at the Melia Buenavista and enjoyed every single minute of our time there. We arrived late on the 7th (around 9pm) and were met at the door by our butler Gerrardo who showed us the way to checkin where we were greeted by another 2 staff members, one with wet face towels for us to freshen up, and another with a nice glass of bubbly (very classy)
Checkin took around 2 minutes, and then Gerrardo advised that since we were late, he had taken the liberty of making a dinner reservation for us.. After dinner Gerrardo showed us around and took us to our room and showed us how everything worked.
The level of detail and the welcome that we received was only the beginning, it actually got better as the week went on.
See following hi-lites :

Staff : Every single staff member was amazing, this from the butlers to the bar staff to the waiters and waitresses.

Food : We have been to Cuba 6 times before, and the MBV had the best food thus far, something for everyone.

Service : As good as any 5 star hotel in Canada (I mean it, these guys go out of their way to make your stay unforgetable)

Beaches : Soft white sand and blue green water, was fine for us

Room : Best thus far in Cuba, its a new resort so the rooms are in good shape, the jacuzzi tub and the outside shower were a very nice touch, as was the pillow menu and the flat screen tv.

Drinks : Great selection of premuim drinks and very well made, try the Mojito at the pool bar..

I have to give a special thank you to the following staff members who made our vacation extra special, their attention to our complete satisfaction was greatly appreciated..

Our butlers Gerrardo and Mikael were amazing, we never had to search for them, infact they came looking for us.

In the lobby bar, Yasimela (i hope the spelling is correct) you are a complete sweetheart and we appreciate your happy mood and great smile every time we walked in there, which was quite often.

Pool bar, Orestes is like superman, he never stops. We really enjoyed our times at the pool bar with the great people we met from London UK, Germany, Austria, Vancouver, Falkirk and of course Montreal (ex Ukraine)

We are counting the days until we can return to the MBV

Room Tip: We were upgraded to 1422 and it was the best location we could have hoped for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Scot23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernesto O, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Canadian travellers:
It feels very rewarding to acknowledge how much our guests appreciate the service we have provided and the warmth of our people. It will be a pleasure to extend your compliments to our staff, I am sure it will be a really nice way to encourage them to keep on being themselves. I would like to thank you for your review, which will undoubtely help our future guests when choosing their next destination in the Caribbean.
Looking forward to welcoming you back pretty soon,
Ana L. Castañeda
Quality Control Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We went to the Melia Buenavista from 23 - 30 May 2013. It was our first trip to this hotel, (our 9th to Cuba). We have had many enjoyable vacations in Cuba but this one was the best by far,
Arrival - We were escorted into the lobby to a comfortable seat and given a refreshing, cold drink. The registration took only a couple of minutes, we were then loaded onto a golf cart for a tour of the property, and then taken to our room (2421), where our luggage was waiting for us.
Room - The room was breath taking, a large suite with sitting room, balcony, bedroom, washroom area, walk In closet (with safe), a room with Jacuzzi tub and separate WC. The shower was located on the rear balcony so you can shower under the stars or with the morning sun on you. Beautiful, clean and well appointed. The extras, ie, pillow menu, turn down service, VIP amenites all added to the enjoyment.
Food - The answer for this is simple, the best we have had in Cuba. Always good selection, well prepared and presented. The waiters and waitress are ALL excellent and you do not want for anything.
Facilities - The hotel is very well kept, clean and lots of staff to look after your needs. The gardeners do a wonderful job keeping the grounds nice.
Bars and Drinks - The bartenders at all the bars are excellent. Selection of drinks is good and the wines were from Spain and of good quality.
Butlers - Our butlers, Lucas and Michael, were outstanding and saw to our every need and want and were always within easy call if we wanted any service. Lucas prepared a Jacuzzi for us one afternoon when we had asked for snacks and a bottle of wine at 4:PM. The Jacuzzi was decorated with flowers, wonderful. Thank you men for a job well done and your efforts made our holiday so very special.

Will we be back, absolutely. Every thing about this hotel is perfect and the staff make the vacation special through their efforts to make sure everything is right. Look forward to seeing you all again this winter.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blanco37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernesto O, Gérant at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear friends from Surrey, Canada:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and touching review of your recent experience at our premises. It feels really good to acknowledge, through your words, that all our efforts to achieve our guests satisfaction have been worth it. I am sure your comments will be a very nice motivation for our staff to keep on working and for future travellers to try our destination.
Looking forward to welcome you back,

Ana L. Castañeda
Quality Control Representative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Santa Maria
137.7 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
83 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad
137.1 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#3 of 64 in Varadero
6,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
139.9 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,595 reviews
137.3 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
3 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#7 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Buenavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Buenavista

Address: Punta Madruguilla, 52610, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range: $264 - $805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Buenavista 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located west of Cayo Santa Maria in a privileged ecological environment, and surrounded by beaches and coves. All-Inclusive five-star resort with 105 junior suites and suites, and the Villa "Zaida del Rio." Designed for adults over 18 years. An entire hotel featuring Royal Service. Recommended for couples, weddings, honeymoons and wellness/spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melia Buenavista Hotel Cayo Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing