We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further Heaven has been found !!!!!”
Review of Melia Buenavista

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Santa Maria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melia Buenavista
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My friend and I recently spent seven wonderful days at this hotel. I have been to Cuba four times and visited a different resort each time . I will revisit this hotel every year from now on . The service was wonderful, the butlers went above and beyond to make sure we wanted for nothing! Our maids kept our room clean and comfortable. the out door shower is amazing .The best part of any vacation for me is having a a beach walk every day and the beaches at this resort were beyond any thing I could have wished for.The food is reasonable ,you don't go to Cuba for the cuisine, We were always able to find something to satisfy. If I had a suggestion for the manager it would be to perhaps have a bit bigger buffet at the breakfast lunch restaurant . I would rate this resort as the best I have been to in any country .Keep up the good work I hear the manager is leaving and pray his replacement does as good a job as he does, Hola all my friends in Cuba see you next year Leonie

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Leonie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Quality Control Representative at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear vacationers from Waterford, Ontario:
We are so proud to know guests may get such a good impression of our resort! It feels really nice to receive such nice compliments! We are certain that future travelers will benefit from your experience when choosing their next relaxing hide-away. Thank you so much for sharing your ideas with them.
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

945 - 951 of 2,686 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

My partner and I were at Melia Buenavista during the week of Valentines. We loved it! 

The resort is beautiful, modern and very quiet since there are only ~105 rooms. There is always space to relax by the pool or on the beach although some people still save seats with their towels. Since the resort is small you don’t have to walk far to get anywhere.

Our 2nd floor pool/garden view room was spacious, clean and nicely designed. There is a comfortable king size bed, walk in-closet, a separate living room area, as well as a good sized balcony (the outdoor seat was a bit hard though). The indoor Jacuzzi bathtub was nice, and the outdoor shower was amazing! Some rooms have more private showers than others though, so if you are worried then request a more private one (we got one by chance but saw others which were less private).

From the moment we checked in the service was excellent. Reception staff was always helpful (you could exchange currency with them if you had cash). Room service was not the fastest but we were happy with it.
Our butlers Javier and Lucas were great, always friendly, easily available and helpful. We asked them to arrange dinner reservations, spa services, in room baths (those were really nice), exchange beach towels and for other small things. At first we thought the idea of our own butlers was strange, but we actually found them useful and they were great at answering questions about the resort.
The bartenders were very good and friendly, especially Osmany from the pool bar – he made the best drinks! Just be aware that the drinks at the beach bar tend to be on the strong side, so make sure you ask for less alcohol if that is not your thing.

I think the food was good, although my partner may have a different opinion. Depends how picky you are I guess. ;) I thought the dinners were tasty, nicely presented and interesting. We especially enjoyed the Cuban & Mexican themed nights with live music. Breakfast and lunch buffet & menu could use a bit more variety but you can always find something to your liking. I enjoyed the BBQ lunch served by the pool. Service at the restaurants could have been a bit faster, but otherwise the servers did all they could to make our meals enjoyable, even asking the cooks to make us things not on the menu (that’s because my partner doesn’t eat seafood which limited his choices some days).

The resort has a nice quiet spa with a large variety of services. We booked massages and they were ok.

The three beaches were all very nice. Sunset beach was quieter but not good for swimming due to seaweed. The sunset ceremony with saxophone player was nice, I would recommend to go at least once during your stay. The other two beaches had nice views & amazing snorkeling. Lots of fish and you don’t have to swim far at all. We snorkeled several times, and loved it! There are complimentary snorkeling tours provided by the staff, just ask the guy in the towel booth or the lifeguard. They have limited equipment though, so either bring your own or borrow theirs early on. Bring water shoes as there bottom has seaweed / coral reef in places.

Overall we had a great relaxing vacation. This resort is worth spending a bit extra money! I would love to return in the future.

Hope you enjoy your time as well! 

Room Tip: - 2nd floor will have nicer view, otherwise all rooms look great - ask for a more private shower if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Quality Control Representative at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear A D from Hamilton:
It feels very rewarding to hear that our services have met our clients’ expectations. We'll extend your compliments to our staff.
One of the areas we have worked the hardest in the last couple of months is the food. Even though we have already achieved some higher levels of satisfaction, we still have a few changes to implement. We are sure you will love it then!
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again for another memorable vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet and relax resort this is the place. There is no discotheque and we did not miss it at all. You can always go to the other 2 Melia for the disco and for the restaurants. It is our 6th time in Cuba always went to 5 stars resort and this one is the best. All the cubans that works there will do their best to accomodate and to serve you as the best they can.
It is a small resort we were in building 1 and it was central and private. I don't think there is any bad spot but if you want ocean view it is worth it to pay extra. The beach is beautiful you can snorkel right from the beach and also just go in for a nice swim.
Now for Food if you are very picky and can not live without butter and/or peanut butter then don't go to Cuba I am tired of people criticising the food in Cuba at Buenavista we were able to eat lobster every night, steaks,chicken, and the food was very good and tasty. In the morning you have a nice buffet and also the choice to choose from a la carte menu. For music lovers the music that is playing in the resort is so good very groovy/loungy ambiance. At night the cubans bands are very talented and very good.
Overall I have nothing bad to say about this resort it is a little paradise.

Room Tip: If you are a sunset lover there are some rooms that are ocean view and also on the sunset side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chanchan519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Quality Control Representative at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Chanchan519:
It has been a pleasure to acknowledge, through your lively review, how pleased you felt with our facilities and services. It is very rewarding to receive such nice comments which certainly stimulate us to continue working in our service quality. Thank you so much.
Hoping to host you once again at Meliá Buenavista,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Getting There: from the UK, during the winter, there are no direct flights to the nearest international airport, which is Santa Clara, and still 2 hours away from the hotel. This leaves the options of a flight to Santa Clara via Havana, a flight to Las Brujas via Havana or a road transfer from Havana. Las Brujas is a local airport, only minutes from the hotel but it has a short runway not suitable for jets. Kuoni, the company we used, do not use Las Brujas but other firms might. Anyway we didn't fancy spending at least 3 hours [if there are no delays!] on a flight from Havana via Santa Clara and then 2 hours in a bus, so we went the whole way by taxi. This took the same 5 hours, including a coffee stop, but was door to door and we saw the countryside.
Accommodation: was excellent. We had a prime ocean view suite, which was on a top floor overlooking the beach. There was a large bedroom, separate lounge, two toilets, jacuzzi bath with shower, an outside shower and a large balcony. All the fixtures and fittings were good quality and operational. The general feel was spacious and comfortable. As in most locations, the top floor rooms seemed to offer much better privacy and a superior outlook to the ground floor alternatives.
Beaches: we found to be the best in Cuba [7 visits] for our purposes. The east beach provided virtually limitless scope for walking exercise and easy snorkelling. There was some natural debris on this beach, which might bother some people, but it is an ecological park after all. The centre beach looks too shallow to be of much interest but, if you go just outside the entrance to the two small bays, there are large areas of coral which run parallel to the shore and provide habitat for a truly amazing variety of fish. This is the best place for snorkelling. The west beach, where the saxophonist plays at sunset, was the one we spent least time at, as it borders the mangroves where the biting insects lurk.
Food: is undoubtedly the weak link. Not being particularly big eaters, we didn't have too much trouble picking our way through the menu but sometimes the choice wasn't great, particularly in the evenings. Best summary would be that you won't be starved and you won't be poisoned but you will probably have eaten better elsewhere.
Entertainment: was pretty good. Having been to Havana and heard the rubbish that is now served up to tourists on the back of the Cuban music boom, the hotel musicians were pretty good and, with the right encouragement, could get the party going. It was a bit of a shame that the dance space is very limited in the entertainment area as sometimes there was clearly a mood for audience participation which couldn't be expressed.
Cliental: is mainly Canadian, so English is the main language, and covers the usual cross-section of types. The vast majority were quiet and friendly but a few got carried away with the 24 hour free bar. Although Cuba is long haul for the Brits, it is a short hop for the Canadians so there were a few of them who would probably have had more fun in somewhere like Ibiza. To be fair, if you are looking for a wild time, this place ain't for you.
The staff: are exceptionally friendly and helpful. It is easy to be a bit cynical about this but after a couple of weeks of receiving unfailing good service, with or without tipping, you have to conclude that this group of people do really perform above and beyond the norm. We had a couple of specific issues, with hot water supply and clean towel replenishment and they were both quickly and satisfactorily resolved.
In summary: this is a well run and resourced hotel, within the constraints of the current Cuban system. From the UK it is a bit of a bugger to get there but probably worth making the effort at least once. The situation and the surrounding ocean are exceptionally fortunate and you will love the friendly people.

Room Tip: Rooms 1921 and 1922 are the best on the site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seagullsfanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Quality Control Representative at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear British Travelers:
Receive our most respectful greetings from sunny Cayo Santa María.
We would like to thank you for this nice review expressing in details how it felt to stay at our resort and experience our natural environment, personalized service and human warmth.
We are certain that other vacationers will find your comments very useful while choosing their next holiday destination.
We really hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed from Feb 7-14. The weather was near perfect ( 28-32 c everyday). Blue skies, with puffs of clouds in the distance. The service at this hotel is top notch! After a day or two, Orestes and Osmany were bringing us our fave drinks without even getting off our pool chairs! Lunch would be brought to us by the pool AND the beach- WOW! Getting extra water and beer= no problem. Hungry? Room service all day! Food was good keeping in mind you will NOT eat like you do at home. However we were never left disappointed or hungry. The main bar has great cappuccino's and great entertainment at night with singers and piano.

Beaches are awesome! We have never seen such clear beautiful water anywhere. (And no beach beggers) East beach-great for snorkelling and swimming. The beach staff will set up your chair for you!!! And the bar staff will dredge through the sand to take your drink order. The middle beach- good snorkelling and lounging. West beach- was our favourite. You can walk far down the beach and see tons of star fish, sting rays, barracuda,crabs etc. plus it is very quiet and secluded!!

Rooms are large and very clean, with a balcony and a great outdoor shower! Great experience! Hotel grounds are well kept, and all the staff are friendly and attentive.

You can take a cab to the flea market where they have lots of things to buy. Vendors are not pushy at all,which was a nice change from other countries we have been to.
We rented scooters(very reasonable $) and drove down to the other Melia resorts to check them out. Las Dunas was great, and the beach there was mind blowing! We went out on a hobbie cat at the melia cayo santa maria. We gave the guy 5 Cuban dollars and he took us out for miles!! great ride!

The west beach has a saxophone player every night at sunset, it was a very romantic experience.

The only few things that were not so great were the small bugs in the morning, not the resorts fault,just something we noticed (bring a good repellant). Some of the beach chairs need to be fixed, and twice a day they fog for Mosquitos, loud and smells like diesel fuel.

We are experienced travellers. We have been to Mexico,Jamaica,Dominican,and Florida many times. Although this was our first time in Cuba, we would go back to this resort tomorrow if we could. Thanks to Melia Buenavista and all its staff for the best vacation ever. Can't wait to come back!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank cl88gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Quality Control Representative at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear couple from Newcastle:
It has been a great pleasure to acknowledge, through your lively review, how pleased you felt with our facilities and services. It is very rewarding to receive such nice comments which certainly stimulate us to continue working in our service quality. Thank you so much.
We hope to host you again, pretty soon, at Meliá Buenavista,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Suite was well furnished and very clean and I especially appreciated the Jacuzzi. I would recommend eating in the restaurant Las Navigantes. Beach was uninspiring . Wi fi is free but need to ask for cards from reception to access.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mejid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Quality Control Representative at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear friends from Cardiff:
Thank you for your synthetic review. We'll take your comments into consideration to keep on working in the improvement of our services.
We would be much honored to serve you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Pack your bags and leave tonight!My wife and I had not had a tropical vacation in 8 years (3 small children) so we wanted to go somewhere adult and relax. This was the place to go!Let me first say that upon our arrival we got off to a rough start , we were told that they were over booked, but they put us in the Garden Villa house overnight which was about 1.5 kilometers away from the resort.We were told that we would stay the night there then a room would be ready in the morning, instead of getting upset, we decided to smile, have a cerveza,some dinner, and our butler Gerardo drove us over to the villa. I'm glad that we went with the flow because we would have never got to experience this beautiful house. It was very large and spacious and we had a security guard outside of the property watching the house all night.In the morning 2 staff showed up with breakfast served outside and drove us back to the resort to check in to our room. We had drinks in hand and toes in sand by noon, so great thanks to the staff for following through on their promise!
From here on out the experience was amazing special thanks to our butlers Gerardo and Javier who really made our trip special.They checked in every morning with us and made all of requests a reality and did some things that went above and beyond the call of duty.
We requested room service every morning for breakfast which was served piping hot to our room with fruits ,fresh sqeezed orange juice, croissants ,toast ,coffee ,and eggs just how you like em. Our fridge was stocked every day with cervezas, juice water and pop. Champagne and cheese plates at 4 p.m. every day! This was exactly what we needed for Rest and relaxation!
The service in the restaurants were excellent, doors were opened chairs pulled out, finished plates taken away promptly and our glasses were always full of wine and water. Now I know that people always complain about the food in Cuba, but we did not have one bad meal! My advice is go with the flow and order what you know! It is amazing the difference a smile to your servers makes and tip here and there, they will really go out of their way to make your experience the best it can be.Try the pizza in the Caribe Restaurant you will not be dissapointed.The beauty of this place is that there are no lineups anywhere, so you are not wasting your day !
As for entertainment there is an excellent band in on Tuesdays and Thursdays whose singer has the most amazing voice you will ever hear, and on other nights there is live music in the lobby and since it is a small resort you end up meeting people quite easily over some cocktails.
Special thanks to the bartenders in the lobby bar and pool bars who really work hard serving drinks 16 hours a day! Hola Osmany, Orestes, Luis!
Another good perk is that you can go over to the other Melia hotels close by and use their facilities for the day if you really feel the need to go out and explore, but the people can not come and use the facilities at the Buenavista. The day trip with Carlos to Santa Maria was also special ,driving in a 52'chevy the 220km roundtrip, Carlos was very knowledgable, and took us to a great Cuban Restaurant in Santa Maria and showed us the sights ,stopping in many little towns along the way. See Javier to book this trip- Good Driving Victor!
The beaches are beautiful here and we went and explored all three of them, thanks to the service team at the beach who always had 2 chairs ready for us! Every night AT 5:45 there was a sunset ritual at the beach with champagne and saxophone player as the sun slowly set in the west nice touch!
If you are looking for a place to rest &relax, that has great service ,beautiful /clean rooms, good food, great bartenders and servers then this is the place to go in Cuba. No lineups, or upset stomachs here unless you do it to yourself!
My tip to any travellers going here is first of all smile and relax youre on holidays! Use your butlers they are there to enhance your experience,tip your servers they will appreciate it, if you are not happy with something tell your butler he or her will make it right, check your attitudes at the door and you enjoy yourselves! and use room service for breakfast it rocks!
Ernesto, you have assembled a good team here, keep up the good work! We plan to return again.........if our children let us!
Steve and Theresa Forgach , Vancouver B.C. ROOM 1712 Feb 21 -28 ,2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sf11419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia B, Quality Control Representative at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear couple from Vancouver:
We heartily thank your taking the time to write such detailed review on your experience at Melia Buenavista. We are sure a lot of travelers will, as well, appreciate it.
We feel honored by your kind compliments which make us feel much rewarded.
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Santa Maria
137.7 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
83 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad
137.1 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#3 of 64 in Varadero
6,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
139.9 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,595 reviews
137.3 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
3 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#7 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Buenavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Buenavista

Address: Punta Madruguilla, 52610, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range: $264 - $805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Buenavista 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located west of Cayo Santa Maria in a privileged ecological environment, and surrounded by beaches and coves. All-Inclusive five-star resort with 105 junior suites and suites, and the Villa "Zaida del Rio." Designed for adults over 18 years. An entire hotel featuring Royal Service. Recommended for couples, weddings, honeymoons and wellness/spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melia Buenavista Hotel Cayo Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing