We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (771)
Filter reviews
771 results
Traveler rating
346
265
93
38
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
265
93
38
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken man butler service santa maria lobster a la carte dinner reservations diamond club the bus breakfast and lunch buffets pizza pool bar adults only section beach grill golf cart bottles of liquor vacation enjoyable other resorts
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 771 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2018

Had an awesome week at Sanctuary Grand Memories. It was off-season so there were no line-ups or crowds anywhere (beach, pool, restaurants). This was my 4th time in Cuba and 2nd time in Santa Maria. Sanctuary in comparison to the other resorts I've been to:

- service was exceptional especially having the personalized butler service (booking our a la carte meals, explaining in detail everything we needed to know about the resort and where to go on the first day, making sure we always had enough water in our room, etc.)
- 7 a la cartes instead of 3 per week and all of the a la carte meals were great!
- first resort I've been to in Cuba where wifi was available throughout the resort other than the beach
- access to the "Diamond Club" section of the beach; chair service (the guy at the beach was amazing setting up our lounge chairs every day for us)
- drinks served to us on the beach
- abundance of beach/pool towels
- lunch offered at 3 buffet restaurants, 2 places on the beach and also at the pool (in addition to the 24 hour snack bar)
- the buffet restaurant at Sanctuary overlooks the ocean and has indoor and outdoor (both shade and sun) tables
- there is a gym at the resort but it is quite far from Sanctuary

A huge thanks to the exceptional service provided by our butlers Maydelis and Yaicelis! They were awesome and made us feel like any request was not too much trouble for them!

Also a huge thanks to the entertainment person Michael! He was amazing and so friendly and accommodating!

Also a huge thanks to our favourite waiter Jose Gustavo! He was just wonderful!

The only issue was the public bathrooms by the Sanctuary pool and the Grand Memories buffet restaurant. There was generally only one bathroom open so guys and girls had to use the same bathroom and by the evenings some of the public bathrooms had no toilet paper. The other issue was the night life ended early (10:30 to 11 pm) although the lobby bar was open 24 hours. It's possible this was only because it was off-season.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_General2018, Manager at Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2018

Dear Debbie,

On behalf of the Sanctuary at Grand Memories team we would like to thank you for your super nice comments about our service, rooms, beach, food and staff.
It is really gratifying to know that you enjoyed your holidays with us.

Our staff has received your comments and appreciates your effort, one more time thanks for providing part of your precious time to share your experience.
We are looking forward to see you again at your home away from home.

Best regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2018 via mobile

Recently stayed at Sanctuary Grand Memories, Can’t say enough about this resort food, resort, staff and beach were amazing. I would like to thank those who made the trip extra special Liz Sandra the entertainment staff,Iniubis Rodriquez,Fito Alonso,Ray Reano at the swim up bar ,Osmany Cedeno, Armando the bartender, and of course Oro from entertainment and from the buffet Yordalis a big thank you to you all. See you all soon but not soon enough

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
3  Thank Sightsee64497380943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_General2018, Manager at Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2018

Receive a trendy regard from Sanctuary at Grand Memories,

Our principal objective is to make an unforgettable experience the vacation of our visitors and we are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay at Sanctuary at Grand Memories.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our facilities and services offered to you by our staff were to your fullest satisfaction.

We are sincerely looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in our resort and assure you that you will enjoy even superior services and facilities on your next visit.

Kind regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2018 via mobile

My 5 star rating pertains mainly to the staff and service. I must say the friendly staff truly made this vacation enjoyable and memorable. Thank you so much to the entertainment especially Liz Sandra . What a wonderful person, I would want to adopt her and bring her home.
Clean rooms, helpful bultler,fun and happy cart drivers to bring you around.
beach was nice,was kind of spoiled with the appearance of hundreds of giant jellyfish and tides were coming in stronger because of changing season thus reducing the beach area.

Food was, well let's just say, we all know not to go there for the food.
Except, i must say, our group absolutely loved the Mexixan a la carte restaurant. The Azteca soup is to dye for!!
One important Negative issue is the fact that the paths are not lit at night so make sure to carry a light with you or use the flashlight on youe phone. Some areas really need lighting because you can easily get hurt.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank DianeI23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_General2018, Manager at Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2018

Receive a trendy regard from Sanctuary at Grand Memories,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at Sanctuary at Grand Memories. We are glad the product and services were to your fullest satisfaction.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in our Hotel and assure you that you will enjoy even superior services and facilities on your next visit.

Kind regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2018 via mobile

Had a nice vacation at sanctuary! I will go back for sure...food was not great but ok like any resort in cuba but the staff was amazing especially Liz and Sergio from the entertainment team. I will go back to this resort to see them again soon.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_General2018, Manager at Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2018

Dear Steven,

Thank you very much for selecting Sanctuary at Grand Memories as host to your holidays.

Thank you for sharing your recent experience. Please know that your great 4/5 circle review is greatly appreciated by all of us.

Allow me to let you know that we work very hard in order to always exceed your expectations and I am truly happy to know that we have achieve this by providing you with attention to detail, unique service, and staff members that are truly dedicated to serving.

Know that your high recommendations to other travelers are highly important to us and that it will always be a pleasure to welcome you.

Yours sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2018 via mobile

Hi
I just came back from this hotel resort. Was there as single person. Here are my pro's and con's

Pro's:
Nice room not recent but still nice and clean
Food a la carte was better then regular buffet.
Resort is clean and garden is nice.
Staff is always pleasant.
Small section so everything is close
Mal and bank are also close so its conveniant to shop or get money

Con's:
Might be because of the raining season but the beach was awfull. Tides were cuting of the beach size and i saw first time in cuba some algea. Might be because of the raining season. I was told the beach would be back normal way in January

Still wonder about the utility of the butler service, we only used it to reserve the a la carte restorant. (The varadero sanctuary we never needed to reserve)

The tourist money rate is so awfull. I lost over 40% in the exchange which is totally wrong.

Globaly its a nice place!

but the beach issue kinda didnt help

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank sylvains28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_General2018, Manager at Sanctuary at Grand Memories Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2018

Dear Sylvain,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your super nice review and the time that you spent to write it.

Nice comments make us very happy because that means that you had a great time during your holidays with us, we work every day in order to improve our service and your suggestions are always welcome.

Our staff has received your comments and appreciates your effort, one more time thanks for providing part of your precious time to share your experience.

We are looking forward to see you soon at your second home, Sanctuary at Grand Memories.

Best regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews