We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveler rating
153
128
84
35
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
128
84
35
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews entertainment team a la carte restaurants fish diamond club staff luis manuel pizza foam party every staff member kids club white soft sand cold cuts bug spray french fries paraiso side clean beach food stations family vacation
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 451 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

To the manager, you should understand that LOW SEASON DOESN’T MEAN LOW QUALITY .
The food was terrible , nothing to eat , lunch and dinner same food , lowest meat quality, everyone in the hotel was complaining about food , 12 travels to Cuba with worst food even not acceptable for human beings. I have been in Grand memories Varadero with excellent food , it’s a shame .

Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
7  Thank rafdoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_General2018, Director General at Grand Memories Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear our food did not reach your expectations. You opinion is very important for us, since it is our clue to keep improving everyday. That is why we have forwarded your suggestions to the chef and we will take the actions needed. In spite of this, we hope you have enjoyed our services and facilities, and above all, our wonderful beach.
We hope to have the opportunity to prove ourselves in the future.

Best regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

The good~
The employees go above and beyond. They treat you like kings and queens. Espically Jose the butler from building 58 and Henny the bartender at the grand memories bar. The beach was so beautiful, white sand and clear blue water. So clear you could spot the jelly fish floating around the beach. The pools were always the right temputre never to hot or to cold. 90 of the employees are amazing that's I have to say.

The Bad~
We were promised two bottles of rum in our room and we never got one. When other guest were getting them.
We had go buy new soap cause we used the soap in the room the first night (the bottle is a normal hotel soap bottle). It's a very low quality soap so you need to use a lot to more then normal to lather your whole body. We spend our mornings by the beach then go to the pool. We showered twice cause of the salt in the ocean, after the pool to wash off the chlorine.
We were lucky to have enough toilet paper to last the night. If you got sick good luck! You'll find out why later in the review.
The food was so bad! I didn't touch the meat after my first day. You could smell the rotting fish and meat! Even the boiled eggs had gone bad. My girl friend was sick almost every night expect the last two when she also stopped eating animal byproducts. The Italian A La Carte was so bad, the lasagna bolognese was no where close to lasagna. There was no pasta in it. It tasted like two burgers that had been siting in the sun all day with cheese on the bottom middle and top. This is where the toilet paper comes into play. Violent diarrhea and All i had for dinner was the lasagna.
They tell you they offer 24 hour food service. That's not true. For example we went to get the pizza at grand memories resort and no one was there. So they sent us over to the sanctuary. Where half my group wasn't a part the sanctuary so they weren't allowed on that resort. We end up walking back and forth 4 times between the resorts.
The rooms were cleaned just on the surface. Under our desk was a half smoked cigar against the wall. I don't care about the bugs that's normal, but when there are flys buzzing around the closed off buffet, that's gross.
So will I come back... probably not just cause all bad we had to deal with. But I can't speak more highly about the staff that work there.
My Tip to Memories, make Cuban food not food you think us tourist will like.

Id really like my two bottles of rum as well considering I paid for them.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_General2018, Director General at Grand Memories Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Dear Jeff,

It is a pleasure to express our gratitude for your kind preference of visiting our resort, and especially for the valuable time that you took to let us know your experiences concerning your stay. We are happy to know our staff was so amazing with you and you liked our beach, one of the most beautiful ones the world.
We sincerely appreciate your comments that give us the opportunity to adjust and improve our service. It's sad to know our food caused you discomfort. As we are continually improving, we will take all your insights with a profound sense of responsibility to improve these food issues and address them properly. Your comments have been sent to each department in order to give them the attention required. Please, note you can always reach us during your stay at the resort and we will immediately handle the situation.
Thank you for choosing us.

Best regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

When we first told our friends that we going on a vacation to Cuba, they warned us mainly about the food. So that was our main concern! Honestly I don’t know why they said that! The food was fairly good, their was lots of meat, lots of chicken and pork, barbecue meat, anything you can just think of! We did bring with us a bottle of spice as we were told that it will save us lol, but didn’t even open it. So no worries people, you definitely won’t starv!!!

Grand memories is an amazing hotel with great hospitality and exceptional service, with a staff that is working supper hard to exceed your expectation, from the food servers to the bar tenders, and their amazing entertainment team, the room service. Have to mention their amazing talent shows each and every night, with their amazing dancers and the Micheal Jackson show OMG Micheal is alive and lives in Cuba lol truly amazing!!

Lastly, the Beach. The beach isss sooo beautiful with clear blue waster, it’s the most beautiful beach I ever saw. We spend most of our time on this beautiful beach, if we didn’t want to go for lunch, they make awesome toast with ham and cheese right there on the beach, they have hot dogs and hamburgers too.

We had so much fun and the kids loved every minute of it!! Can’t Waite for the next visit!!

Thank you Grand Memories for making this a memorable Vacation! Thank you entertainment team and Andy head of the entertainment team! Thank you jorge for setting our table at the buffet every meal every day!!! Thank you Hector for taking care of all our needs, you really work fast and you very sufficient!! Good job!! Thanks Alexander hope I remembered your name correctly, sorry if I didn’t!! But thanks for the tennis lessons, we feel like a real pro after your professional coaching!! Definitely wasn’t expected :) we thought that we just going to play, and end up real players ;) just amazing!!

Hope to see you all soon again!!

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
3  Thank vic2ria08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_General2018, Director General at Grand Memories Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2018

Dear Guest,

On behalf of all Grand Memories Santa Maria staff, we would like to give you a thank you for providing part of your time to share such a beautiful review about your stay with us. We are glad to know we reached your expectations and you enjoyed our service, food and our beautiful beach, indeed, one of the most beautiful ones in the world. It is always a pleasure to hear our guests have such a memorable time at our little paradise and appreciate they great effort our staff does to offer a wonderful stay. Your words are our best reward after everyday work. We will say hello to all the members of our staff you have mentioned. They are going to be very happy to hear about your words.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018

Me and my family came to Cuba for our very first time and we loved it!! It felt more like our home away from home. The shuttle drivers and staff were all amazing and very friendly. A staff member would never walk past you without saying "hola" lol. Our room was always kept very clean and had an amazing view of the beach. Our maid(s) would always leave such cute creations made out of towels on our bed (Thank you Marleney and Alex). The food was good, but mostly the same thing is served every day (sometimes they switch it up). The pool is always kept very clean and the entertainment team did a very great job entertaining the guests. The beach is very beautiful and the best part of our trip, but beware of those jellyfish lol. The entertainment at the theatre was amazing and beautiful. The dancers put in a lot of effort into entertaining the guests. At times they would do a fashion show in the middle of the hotel lobby. The market is just a 10 minute walk or a short shuttle ride away from the hotel. Wifi is only available in the hotel lobby and not available anywhere else around the hotel. It would be nice if you guys could possibly upgrade this in the future. :) P.S if it is your first time traveling to Cuba please do your research before going. The workers depend on our tips at the end of the day. So just keep that in mind. Overall, our experience in Cuba was amazing and we will definitely be back next year!! I would like to thank Hector for going out of his way to helping my family with our needs. Any problems we had would get taken care of asap. Thank you Hector :) Very good management. As well as I would like to thank Leyni, Alexander, Yamilka, Yamil, Armando and many others whose names I can't recall for giving us such amazing service and always catering to our needs. Thank you thank you thank you!!! Love you guys <3

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best view
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _xoxonatashaxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_General2018, Director General at Grand Memories Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

Dear Guest,

Trust me when I say your review left us a wonderful feeling. It is wonderful to hear our guests had such a great time with us. Moreover, it is a pleasure to know all our staff was so attentive and they took care of you and satisfied all your needs during your days at Grand Memories. It was a pleasure for us to have you at our little paradise and pamper you. Your happiness is our main priority. We will say hello to all of them. We are sure they are going to be very happy to hear about your message.
Thank you very much for choosing Grand Memories Santa Maria for your first vacation in Cuba. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

Beach is beautiful but food is awful. Ran out of fish and chicken the second night. No fresh fruit. Buffet looked empty and didn’t have signs of what you are eating. Shared spoons with other food on the buffet. Wouldn’t give toilet paper until the next day. They would serve the locals before us. Wouldn’t serve the kids if they didn’t have too money. No air conditioning only in the rooms and private restaurant. It could be a nice resort if some renovations and upgrade on food choices.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank tracyj402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_General2018, Director General at Grand Memories Santa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Dear Tracy,

Thank you very much for leaving a review about your stay with us. We are very sorry to hear we did not reach your expectations and we would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you might encountered during your stay at the resort. We strive to provide the best culinary experience that satisfies the most demanding palates and we regret the fact that you were not impressed with the variety and service at our buffet. Your kind observations have been shared with our Executive Chef and allow me to say we are already making some changes regarding the food and the AC has been repaired in the buffet area. Finally, please let us say all our guests are very important for us, no matter where they come from.
We hope you give us a second opportunity to prove ourselves in the future.

Best regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews