We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to have a bite”
Review of Los Girasoles

Los Girasoles
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Tapalpa
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Lovely Restaurant, Excellent Food, Great Ambiance
Restaurant details
Description: Lovely Restaurant, Excellent Food, Great Ambiance
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Place to have a bite”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Los girasoles is a very nice place, with calm live music and great mexican food. I would definetely recomend if visiting Tapalpa.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slombana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    48
    17
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“An Oasis!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

After a hard day's hike in the heat to El Salto del Nogal (waterfall) with a tour guide from Colores Tapalpa (http://www.colorestapalpa.mx) my daughter and I wanted a special meal in a relaxed environment. We chose "Los Girasoles" and were not disappointed.

From the moment we walked in, we felt calm and cool with the low lighting and water feature. For appetizers, we selected a spinach mushroom salad and tortilla soup. The salad was a pleasant surprise; it was warm and the flavours were amazing!

Main course was trout and chicken. Both meals were ones to be savoured. A candle was added to our table and as the natural light faded, we enjoyed the ambience of a special dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Islander280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

don't know about my fellow travelers but I do not like having to write a really bad review, but.....
According to Trip advisor this is the best restaurant in Tapalpa, so we went. We asked for a marguerite on the rocks, back came crushed ice etc.
the waiter then took our order, he wrote my wife's order then disappeared, so we asked him to come back and take mine. He told me the steak and salad I wanted was not available, but the steak mexicana, or steak a la plancha was available. I ordered the steak mexicana , medium which he wrote down and left.
my wife's chicken was served, and it was a thin piece of chicken over cooked and stringy, and ten minutes went by and we asked the waiter what happened to my steak. he came back and said steak mexicana was not available, but steak asada was...? so we left.
they apologized, but too late.
The decor is great , but if i ever return I would order something they cannot mess up, maybe a bottle of beer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jchd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, MA
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fair and out if many things”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Went here to eat on a Friday around 8:00 and we were one of two tables eating here. They have a wine list but many of the bottles they did not have. They were out if the trout. Started with the tortilla soup and it was fair. Ended up with chili rellenos and enchiladas for our main dishes. They were ok but nothing to go back for. My other issue was that our main dishes did not come out together. I was almost done when our other dish came out.

Something must have changed based on the other good reviews. I would go somewhere else.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Juarez, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Place”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

That day we almost had breakfast in "La Troje", just around the corner from Los Girasoles, but we had already had lunch there the day before and we did not have the best service from La Troje's waitress, so after being lured by the guitar music and the sound of water splashing from the fountain, we just had to go inside. It was around 9am and we were the only ones there, so our waitress did do her job well. After looking at the menu, I did find it a bit lame, in great contrast with the great settings, but after taking a bite of what the menu simply called "quesadillas", I have to say the wording in the menu did not do much justice to our meals. Those quesadillas were just great! I did find the fruit and yogurt dish unjustifiably expensive. 70 pesos for just fruit and yogurt was more than the price of some of the main breakfast entrées.
If you're looking for one quite place to spend a romantic morning with your significant other, this is the place to be. I can't describe with words the peace that comes from sipping a delicious "café de olla" while looking at all the decorations that belong in a small Mexican Hacienda.
If you're looking to have one great meal, well... I think you can spend less on chilaquiles somewhere else. Having said that, I must also say you just can't miss eating at this very alluring place during your visit to Tapalpa.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HimmelWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Girasoles also viewed

 
Tapalpa, Jalisco
Tapalpa, Jalisco
 

Been to Los Girasoles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing