We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dive Lodge That Treats You Like Family Rather than a Guest”

Ocean Quest Adventure Resort
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Newfoundland's only one stop Scuba and Adventure Shop! Ocean Quest consists of a Retail Shop, Bed and Breakfast, a breathtaking view of Conception Bay and ocean inspired spa. It is a 5 Star PADI Scuba Training facility with a pool on site, and we offer many different Scuba packages. Ocean Quest Adventures offers public and private boat charters of Conception Bay, kayaking tours, historic tours, whale watching tours, as well as the opportunity to snorkel with humpback whales!
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
1,031 reviews
298 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,159 helpful votes
“Dive Lodge That Treats You Like Family Rather than a Guest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Rick and Debbie are to be commended for running such a friendly dive lodge. The lodge is overlooks Conception Bay which gets better weather than St. John's. It's about 25 minutes from the airport and they charge $60 each way for the airport transport---same as a cab. Albert, Rick's father, often does pick up duty and always has a smile on his face and a kind word. His lessons on life are filled with wisdom..

They have five rooms in the main house and 4 in the spa annex which is also where everyone, including the owners, enjoy a family style breakfast together in the large living room. They will cook you what you want--try Debbie's wonderful cooked overnight porridge for a healthy start to your day. For divers breakfast is at 7:30 AM and the van leaving to the boat dock leaves at 8:30 AM. You have the run of the kitchen and can cook your own food or barbecue on the deck overlooking the ocean. There are some nearby greasy spoon type restaurants, but if you want to avoid an expensive taxi ride into St. John's and want to eat more healthily, there's an excellent supermarket a 20 minute walk from the lodge. (They sell fresh ready made salads, fruits, cheeses etc. but you will need to buy alcohol elsewhere.) When we were there Debbie and Rick invited us for a lobster dinner they cooked.

The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable with flat screen TVs and a super fast free WIFI connection. Note that the rooms are not serviced during your stay. This is the one negative comment I have--it would be nice if the trash was emptied daily and you got clean towels, although there is a cupboard you can get clean towels from so this is no big deal. You can use the washing machine and dryer downstairs which is handy if your dry suit leaks! Note, however, that the spa is very busy so you might have to wait a long time until they have washed all the sheets they need for the lodge and spa first.

They have a large and well stocked dive shop run the super efficient and very pleasant Rob. Holly, the daughter, takes care of the billing. They do rent dry suits but they are mostly membrane suits (White's) and the seals are likely to be big if you are female. Water was 5C at the bottom end of June--brr! . It stays pretty constant throughout the year except on the surface where it is about 9C and gets a bit warmer in autumn (but then you also get the plankton bloom reducing viz.). The dive boat is a comfortable, spacious wooden boat with an enclosed cabin and a marine toilet. Bill, the captain, is a salt of the earth man and cooks a fresh soup very day from scratch for his divers. (He has Whole Foods type ready made veggie soups too.) That, a few buns and all the coffee or hot chocolate you want will keep you going during your to dives. Most dives are wreck dives off the boat unless the weather is bad in which case you do shore dives, such as the one to see whale bones at Dildo (seriously) town.

This is world class diving and the water clarity can equal 100 meters. In addition to wrecks, there are also icebergs and whales to see. Jacques Cousteau's former camer man was filming the whales eating the caplin and David Doubilet, the famous National Geographic photographer was there at the same time for the same reason.

If you want to enjoy high quality dives at an affordable price surrounded by super pleasant people who make you feel like family rather than a paying guest, this is the place!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanQuestAdventures, Front Office Manager at Ocean Quest Adventure Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Albert was very excited to read what you said about him!

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    5
    1
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haliburton ontario
Level Contributor
128 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“beautiful rooms!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

my husband and i arrived without reservations and found a lovely room for two nights. The owners were so warm and friendly we felt right at home immediately. This resort has a breathtaking ocean view and lovely common room with flat screen tv,, computer, full kitchen and lovely leather furniture to relax and visit with other guests or just by yourself. We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed our surroundings. they also have a top notch spa right on the resort property to indulge yourself further.We are really pleased we stayed here. As well breakfast is included in your room rate and served when ever you wanted it. They cater to your schedule not the other way around. Thank you for the wonderful stay and sleep.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank schnoobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanQuestAdventures, General Manager at Ocean Quest Adventure Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for the review, I am very glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay here at Ocean Quest! Hope to see you both again in the future and hopefully you will be able to take advantage of the spa as well : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Six stars would not do the team justice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

I travel for diving a bit - 7 countries in 2011 so far - and I have never met a place as welcoming as Oceanquest. When you are the ONLY customer all week most dive centres turn you away. Not these guys. You get personal service, the dive boat still runs for you and the owners invite you in for dinner when you arrive late from your flight at Thanksgiving. Actually I think seven stars would be more appropriate.

Now for the diving. Unbelievable. That is the minimum you can say. OK so I had the Bell Island wrecks to myself all week - and few can boast about that - but even on day 6 when I shared the boat with 10 others (oh the shock of it) the dive sites are huge and utterly amazing. Next time I go will be after I have furthered my tech qualifications and piled on the equipment to really explore the wrecks - and then book for the optimum dive season and to hell with the cost. October is probably warmest time of year, but visibility (25m isn't much to moan about) can be even better early in the season even if it is colder.

Do not think though that this is purely a hardcore tech diving place. It is not just for that. Even purely recreational diving is rewarding here, and the team supervise the diving superbly and can provide top notch gear for visitors if they need it, so there are no worries at all.

Will I be back - yes - and next time it won't be dictated by the date of my brother's wedding in Canada!

Five stars - YES - but only because I cannot give six!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank kjaa4456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanQuestAdventures, General Manager at Ocean Quest Adventure Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and the week with Ocean Quest and we hope to see you here again when you further your technical level of diving so you can fully en joy every part of these wonderful Shipwrecks! : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great dive shop with great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

I took my basic open water SCUBA course with Oceanquest early this year and I gotta say they are great. They've got everything a diver needs from beginner to professional. If you want an introduction to diving or you need some gear or just want someone to go diving with these are the people to contact. Also if you're significant other isn't into diving they've got a spa to keep 'em occupied. I can't comment on the spa as I've not visited it.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank casdobbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanQuestAdventures, Manager at Ocean Quest Adventure Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you Cas for your review! I am glad you enjoyed diving with Ocean Quest and continue to dive with us still!! You have come a long way since the first time we met you! : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Quest Adventure Resort also viewed

 
Conception Bay South, Newfoundland
 

Been to Ocean Quest Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing