We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet meal lovely view”
Review of Grandview Motel - CLOSED

Grandview Motel
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quiet meal lovely view”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Oh to have a lovely meal that was not greasy pub food. We had the spaghetti and it was delicious.
We would definitely go back. The meal is fair priced yet a tad high for our budget, seniors, yet worth it. We asked to have the music turned down and he took care of it right away, nice man. The owners son, they can be proud. Suggest reservations in summer months.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    41
    22
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“No frills”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This was a basic motel. It was clean enough except for the stains on the sheets. I always check the windows in motels and all three had broken locks so they couldn't lock, which was unsettling. The view from our room was the parking lot but it was nice to see our car. There was free coffee in the office.
It was handy to the path downtown and across from the water. It was a short drive to the ferry, or even a walk.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Strawberry1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good Food with an Excellent View”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Grandview Dining Room specializes in seafood, which it prepares very well. My seafood (shrimp, mussels, scallops), linguine was excellent. My wife's chicken breast and ribs were also very good. Service was prompt, efficient and friendly.

Staff made a real effort to cater to some dietary restrictions and did so perfectly.The wine list was appropriate to the food selection. Compared to other similar restaurants in Tobermory, it was a bit expensive, but certainly worth a visit on a special night out.

If you arrive just before sundown, you will be treated to a superb view of sunset over the harbour.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Redfox-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Money Well Spent”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had dinner at the Grandview after a trip on Chi-Cheemaun to Manitoulin Is. It was a bright sunny evening and we sat outside. The service was attentive and prompt. We were served a small basket containing a delicious biscuit each and butter. I had ginger salmon with 2 sides of vegetables. The sauce on the ginger salmon was to die for. The fish was juicy and flavourful. The veggies were tasty and done just right. My wife had pan blackened whitefish. It was also juicy and flavourful. She had the same sides as I did and they were equally enjoyable. While we were dining, tour boats came by as they entered the harbour. Chi-Cheemaun was moored in the background. We were pleased with the meal. The prices are slightly high but the experience was worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vagabondoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Good, but Pricey”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Food was very well presented and good flavor. The menu did not offer a lot of choices and all of the options that there are, tend to be on the pricey side. $28-$30 entree's

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelToLive97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandview Motel also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing