We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint cottage (owned by Princess Hotel)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tobermory Princess Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Kitchener, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quaint cottage (owned by Princess Hotel)”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the cottage next door to the Princess Hotel. It was quaint if a bit outdated but it served its purpose for 2 nights. Main reason for the average rating is we expected a bit more for the price of $190 CAD per night. We found the place to be very clean but with a somewhat musty smell, this may be because we were there early in the season. The floors are all a bit sloped and slanty which is to be expected in an older place. The bedding and pillows were all adequate and comfortable. We slept in one of the downstairs rooms and my father in law used one of the upstairs rooms (the place can sleep at least 8 people if you had a crowd but the rate goes up per person, there was an additional fee for us to have 3 adults stay there). My father in law complained of hearing a critter running in the rafters (we think it was a squirrel) and we were all a bit surprised to find an open container of rat poison in the corner of the kitchen as we were staying with our 9 month old daughter. Luckily we found it before she did but just be cautious of this if you are traveling with little ones. It was also unclear as to what would and would not be included. The staff advised us to bring our own towels/facecloths at the time of booking, but I expected the place to be otherwise equipped. In fact it was not and we had to go to the grocery store and stock up on odds and ends such as dish detergent and trash bags to name a few. In the end we all agreed we had a nice time, but felt the quality of the place didn't match up with the price.

(Side note: my father in law complained to the manager about the rat poison/musty odor/attic critters and we were given a partial refund for the first night's stay.)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tessie0765, Owner at Tobermory Princess Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Response to Trip Advisor Complaint:

Thank you for this feedback. We're glad you ultimately enjoyed your stay with us, but are very sorry that a few issues stood in the way of complete satisfaction. We did just want to address a couple of your points, so that future visitors to the site don't think we haven't rectified a few things. Firstly, we do in fact stock and provide dish soap and trash bags, to help guests clean up during their stay. This was a total oversight on our end. We can only chalk it up to "opening weekend jitters."
As you were our first guests of the season to stay at the cottage and our cleaning staff overlooked stocking a few items in preparation for the long weekend. Hopefully our staff was helpful in giving you what you needed once you asked but I am truly sorry that you had to ask. The cottage is located right next to our hotel, so we will be sure to make it clear to future guests that they're welcome to pop over next door, in case they run out of anything. Secondly, we're not in the habit of leaving open containers of pest control in our guest's sight. I'm unclear on whether you found this in plain view or in a cupboard. We are vigilant about pest control (mice, NOT rats), as most hospitality establishments are especially in this season of spring awakening. We are sorry to have left evidence of that, but it is a reality of country life.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we do hope you won't hesitate to visit the Bruce Peninsula again --We're glad you agree it's a lovely spot.
All our best,
The Kritikos Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    71
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
46
41
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cropwell Bishop, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Didn't stay in the hotel but myself and five other members of my family had breakfast here having stayed over night at a standard motel just up the road. The food and staff were brilliant with as much coffee as we could drink that set us up for the day to continue our driving tour of the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

First off, location. It's not right in "downtown" (which is tiny), but that's nice. You don't have to deal with that. The LCBO (booze store) is right next door. Nice too for some evening relaxing.

If you want the great view, you want to ask for it, and you'll pay more. If you're ok with the town/harbor view, get one of the side rooms (same side as the LCBO) They're not bad at all.

We stayed here out of season. Unfortunately, they were cleaning the carpets and upholstery in the dining room, which meant no restaurant. That's a bad thing in a town where EVERYTHING is closed out of season. (Except the Princess) However, being on top of things, they arranged to have another restaurant in town be open, and we had a nice dinner there. By morning, all was back to normal, and we were offered our included continental breakfast. That's how you run a motel properly!

Your room key even includes a key to the front door of the motel, so you can let yourself in if you come back late and it's closed. Wow.

I have to say, every single person I dealt with at the Princess was pleasant and helpful. The room was comfortable (we had 306, great balcony!), the place was quiet and clean. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, and I recommend you give it a try if you're on the Bruce Peninsula, or in Tobermory.

Room Tip: Save money and stay on the "town/harbor view" side, but the front rooms with the full view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roadside_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I stay here when I am up diving or hiking the Bruce Peninsula. It is a quiet hotel, located just off the downtown. The staff are always pleasant and accommodating. This is the only downtown hotel open 12 months a year. There is also a restaurant on site and luckily the liqour store is just across the street. Easy access to the public docks for diving and a three minutes walk to the marina and dive shop. Grocery store 4 minutes. Actually, I suggest that you could walk anywhere you need to go in downtown Tobermory from this hotel in under 6 minutes.

Room Tip: They're all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PFD-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The hotel looks nice and have that cozy feeling when you are inside the restaurant or on the balcony having a bite or a drink, and is located on the bay.

The hotel owns 2 cottages and I rented the one right beside the hotel; nothing fancy but the location and everything was there as if I was in my own home, which made this stay unforgettable. Other than the many rooms and beds, the BBQ, parking and WIFI were all included.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, On
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Our family gets together at this hotel every year for celebrating birthdays and the hotel does a wonderful job of accommodating our large group (and by large I'm talking I think we're the only people at the hotel). Rooms are comfortable and clean. It's a small town so don't expect to be staying at the Ritz Carlton and you won't be disappointed. Some rooms have balconies and some do not, you might need to request one if you're picky. The room is simple -- beds, tv, table & chairs, bathroom. It does the job. Walls are thin. Then again it was my group making all the noise so guess I can't complain. We really enjoy the hotel's restaurant, who, again, go above and beyond for our large group every time. Great breakfast as well! I imagine this place would be wonderful in the summer. A good choice right on the tub in the middle of town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbabe77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We were at this hotel just three months ago. We returned because we had no complaints the last time. And this time we managed to get a room on the third floor overlooking Little Tub Harbour.

There were three of us in a room and this time it was my turn to sleep on the cot. It wasn't the best sleep but at least it didn't cost us another room. And my cot was by the sliding door and the view of the harbour was very nice. By the way, there is an elevator so if you have difficulty walking up stairs don't worry. Ask for a room on the third floor with a view of the harbour. Our room, (301) had a nice balcony with four chairs and a table and we enjoyed sitting there watching the boats come and go.

In the morning we had the breakfast special in the restaurant.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanadai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.7 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#10 of 12 in Tobermory
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adventure the Bruce Inn
Adventure the Bruce Inn
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#4 of 12 in Tobermory
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tobermory Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tobermory Princess Hotel

Property: Tobermory Princess Hotel
Address: 34 Warner Bay Rd, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tobermory Princess Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tobermory Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tobermory Princess Hotel Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing