We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a perfect little spot to stay in the village of Tobermory!”
Review of Blue Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Bay Motel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a perfect little spot to stay in the village of Tobermory!”
Reviewed September 21, 2009

The Blue Bay is a like a little gem from the past--spotlessly clean (the windows get washed almost daily!), with home-y towels in all different colours! The value is super, the view is great, and the location by the harbour extremely convenient. It's comfortable sitting outside on the balcony with a book just looking around and relaxing. The innkeeper is friendly and accommodating, and a source of information. Over the last 20 years, we've camped in Tobermory, stayed in other motels/inns, and rented cottages. The Blue Bay is the spot to which we keep returning. It's perfect for us!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schnauzermomToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    118
    18
    11
    2
See reviews for
82
174
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We only had a short stay in Blue Bay Motel but Kelly the staff was very helpful. The rooms were clean and modern. However room 7 had quite a loud buzz all night caused from a refrigeration unit in the property next to it. Also the wireless internet was unreliable at best. Minor details aside we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Specialk001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the Blue Bay. The spacious room was well equipped with table and chairs, dressers, refrigerator and coffee maker. We enjoyed the coffee mugs (not styrofoam) and the drink glasses (not plastic)!! The motel is well located within a easy walk of downtown and sights.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
23alan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We were not overly confident about this motel, have preferred to stay in more personal B&Bs, but there was little availability in Tobermory for casual travellers without bookings. We were pleasantly surprised with the luxury room with jacuzzi tub. Although the room was lacking character, as is often the case with motels and hotels, it was clean, large and air-conditioned, although the balcony was shared with other rooms on the first floor.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperK, Innkeeper at Blue Bay Motel, responded to this review, September 21, 2009
Dear guests: Please be aware that only our Luxury Suite offers air conditioning. All other rooms simply feel like they have A/C because we are located on the harbour thus allowing the cool air off Georgian Bay to keep the room temperatures low.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2009

I didn't know what to expect from this motel. I don't travel alone and was feeling insecure. The inn keeper was wonderful and kind. the room was warm & comfortable, The towels were amazing!!

the room exceeded my expectations and the whole atmosphere made my trip a pleasure.

I loved Tobermory and hope to come back with my husband.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buffalojinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We stayed at the Blue bay motel during our honeymoon. The service was fantastic and the rooms were clean. Our room had been recently renovated with a jacuzzi tub, paint, flat screen T.V. and new funiture, the rooms felt and smelled clean.

The best part of the blue bay motel has to be the staff! Friendly an d always willing to help, especially Kelly the always smiling owner, was vary helpful and friendly.

We will definitly stay at the blue bay motel on our next trip to tobermory.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agx79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket On. Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Having stayed at the Blue Bay Motel for sometime of most of the past 30 odd years ,we do feel that it is like a home.The rooms are always clean and nicely decorated,and we have always felt welcome,by both management and staff,who can't do enough for you.
We enjoy coming so much that we hope that we can continue visiting for many more years to come.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BARLOW_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.7 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#9 of 12 in Tobermory
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Motel

Property: Blue Bay Motel
Address: 32 Bay Street | Little Tub Harbour, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tobermory
#1 Family Hotel in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel Tobermory
Blue Bay Motel Tobermory, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing