We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Room!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Bay Motel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
295 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Great Room!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

My lady friend and I spent a wonderful evening at this lovely little motel. We were greeted with a smile by a very friendly woman at the front desk and check in was fast and efficient as I have stayed here before. This time it was just as good and the view of Little Tub from the upper deck is GREAT.
The only drawback to the room is that it is not air-conditioned. There is a widow fan but air-conditioning would have been appreciated if the weather was hot and humid. Lucky for us the weather was fair and not too hot.
I can recommend this motel as it is well run and very clean.

Room Tip: My lady friend and I spent a wonderful evening at this lovely little motel. We were greeted with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KitchenerJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    107
    18
    11
    2
See reviews for
69
161
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This place looks like nothing special from the outside. Just your typical two story motel. We had made reservation ahead of time and when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. We were traveling by motorcycle and when we checked in the woman at checkin had already placed a cone in the parking spot outside our room to reserve it and gave us a map of the best roads to ride. She personally showed us to our room. The room was done in wood, had a view of the harbor, and was comfortable. There are chairs and a table outside each room so that you can sit and enjoy the view. There are plenty of restaurants in within walking distance. The bed was a bit soft for my taste but I slept we'll. My wife and I loved this motel.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room for a view of the marina/water
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rider65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Loved the pebble decor in the bathroom. Comfortable outdoor seating. Easy walk to shops & restaurants. One thing missing was a Bible in the nightstand. Spent 4 nights here during a birding trip. Would love to come again and stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a typical motor-court style motel, which is a neat mix of retro and modern. You can tell the owner clearly loves being an innkeeper and put a lot of thought into the rooms. I don't remember my room number, but it was on the ground floor, near the office. The room had new laminate hardwood flooring, and the bed, desk, and dresser were rustic-style knotty pine, all quite recent. The pine moulding and white beaded board complemented nicely the retro '50s ceiling tiles. The room had a fridge and coffee maker (microwave was available by the ice machine), and a huge wall-mounted LCD TV. The TV could swing out to be visible from the nice leather couch (which had a fold-down cup holder and table), or fold flat to be visible from the bed. The desk had a binder with menus from all local restaurants, as well as guidelines for things to do, which was very thoughtful. I don't think there was air conditioning, but with two windows, a ceiling fan, and lake breezes, I certainly didn't need one.

The bathroom was absolutely outstanding. Clearly a recent renovation, it had a beautiful shower, with large tiles, and a faux-pebble floor, with glass blocks instead of a shower curtain (see picture). The shower head was mounted high up, which was a pleasant change from having to try and wash my hair under a 5 foot shower head. But it did have a removable attachment if you wanted it. Some small shelves with Q-tips and cotton pads, and some nice fluffy towels complemented this nicely.

Because the building is older, the walls and floors are a bit thinner than normal. I did hear the person above me walking around, but I always travel with earplugs, and had a nice sound sleep. I think the motel was about half-full. I could maybe see the noise being a problem if a family with really loud kids was next door, but like I said, I had no problem getting a good night's sleep.

I only stayed one night before taking the ferry, but I could easily spend a nice weekend here in the summer, exploring Fathom Five. One thing to note is that this is a small town, and despite the supermarket saying it was open until 7pm on Sundays, it wasn't. There was one restaurant open, but you may want to plan ahead for food or arrive early.

Room Tip: The second floor might a good choice if you're sensitive to noise. But the person in the office...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon9769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently spent one night at the Blue Bay Motel in Tobermory. We found our stay comfortable and quiet. We stayed in room 0 which is on the ground floor right at the front corner. I loved having windows on both corners and a lovely little outside sitting area as well. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Unfortunately, we had to ask for a cot because we found the double beds a little small for two adults. I ended up sleeping on the cot which was very uncomfortable. The room itself is fairly small, but very clean and nicely decorated. It is within easy walking distance of all of the shops, restaurants and marina. I would recommend this motel to anyone who visits Tobermory. But please don't ask for that cot! lol

Room Tip: If you like lots of windows and an outside sitting area, choose room 0 on the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rca49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Saw excellent rating on Tripadvisor so decided to try it. No complaints. Very clean, quiet and well appointed. Bed was extremely comfortable. Spotless. Only complaint would have to be that they still use keys (not a complaint really, only that I am not anymore used to the whole hotel key thing). Was in the ferry line up before I realized I still had the key in my pocket! My fault. Nice place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Klondike2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed at room 16 upper floor. Excellent location. Friendly, attentive staff. Clean and well-maintained rooms. Excellent view (of sunset/sunrise). I'll definitely recommend this motel to anyone who wants to visit Tobermory.

Room Tip: room 16 or upper levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 90coolphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.7 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#9 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
2.3 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Motel

Property: Blue Bay Motel
Address: 32 Bay Street | Little Tub Harbour, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tobermory
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel Tobermory
Blue Bay Motel Tobermory, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing