We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice motel, great views!”
Review of Blue Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Bay Motel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We spent two nights at the motel at the end of August, in room 11. It was a very nice room with a great shower. I even took pictures of the shower so hubby can upgrade ours at home. The location is great, and you can walk anywhere in town. We did not miss the air conditioning at all, as there was a constant beautiful breeze through the room. The staff was very helpful and gracious. My only concern was that the curtains were barely wide enough to close, and people walk by outside the room to get to the other rooms. A few clothes pins or hair clips would solve this problem, so take a few with you! I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when we return to Tobermory!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms seem quieter, first floor rooms have the convenience of parking right in front of...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
There are newer reviews for Blue Bay Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 388 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I just spent a relaxing weekend in Tobermory. Kelly and the staff at the Blue Bay were amazing. Our experience started before we even checked in when Kelly gave us a ride to our trailhead for the day's hike. The room was spacious and was outfitted with a period leather reclining chair, electric fireplace and a jacuzzi tub. Overall a wonderful stay and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NMsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Our scuba club stayed there over the US Labor Day Holiday while we were diving in the park. We've stayed at different places here over the years but the Blue Bay is our favorite so far. We'll be back. Very friendly staff made check in a breeze. The beds were comfortable and housekeeping kept the the rooms immaculate.

The location is perfect, by the harbor, next to the LCBO, and a couple of doors down from the Sweet Shop (Losing weight? Fight back!).

It's not fancy, but a great motel. The only down side was the lack of air conditioning in an unusual warm spell. This was a minor inconvenience since it cooled off quickly at night.

Be prepared to wake up at 6:50 AM when the ferry horn blasts, but that will be true for anyplace in town.

Read the binder of useful information when you get in your room. It starts with the obscure password for the free wi-fi and includes lots of other good stuff. The housekeeping sign you hang on your door knob will work as advertised.

Room Tip: Room 12 is great if you like the color green.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGreenOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We recently enjoyed a two night stay at this hotel located right on the main strip along the harbour. We loved that we were able to park our car and visit everything this charming town had to offer. It was close to the shops and restaurants, boat tours, kayak rentals etc. For sightseeing just outside the main area, the hotel had bicycles that they allowed us to borrow- alot of fun. Our room was nicely renovated on the main floor with a queen bed and sofa. The bathroom was smartly renovated as well and was charming. The bed was comfortable but didn't fit very well in the frame so it was noisey. The only real drawback to this room was that you could really hear people in the next room and those walking above on the exterior hallway as well as walking in their room. I would definitely come back again but only if I were to stay on an upper floor (I believe these have not been renovated yet). I think the best room would be on the second floor closest to the harbour as it looks to have a great view and an extra little sitting area facing the harbour.

Room Tip: Aim for the 2nd floor preferable close to the harbour.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMills310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperK, Innkeeper at Blue Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We have been doing renovations every winter since we bought the motel 5 years ago and are happy to report that rooms 4-11 are all now renovated. We're half way there! We look forward to your return stay so you can see what other improvements we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I've seen all the great reviews on TripAdvisor but I was still reluctant to stay here. However, our first choice was solidly booked so we decided to spend a night here.

My problem is not with the Blue Bay Motel per se but motels in general. I don't care for parking lots or shared walkways just outside ones room.

The Blue Bay Motel has the parking lot and the shared walkways and more. Some (all?) of the rooms have panelling which is so 1960s.

However, the Blue Bay Motel has many positives and I have to give it a very good rating.

Our room was very clean. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were very clean and fresh. The staff are very cheery, friendly and helpful. The water pressure in the shower was nice and strong.

I got up early in the morning and saw one of the staff watering the beautiful hanging flower baskets. Later I saw one of the cleaners clean a room. She actually cleaned part of the window while fixing up the room. (All the windows are spotless here.) A while later I saw one of the staff pulling tiny weeds from between the cracks by the walk. Later she swept the whole area. Needless to say, I was very impressed by the cleaning and attention to detail. It's the kind of effort that gets noticed. No wonder the reviews of this place are so good.

So, yes, this is a motel. But it's a very good motel. And it has one of the best locations in the village. Next time, if our first choice in Tobermory is booked, I'll have no hesitation about staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanadai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperK, Innkeeper at Blue Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions of your experience at the Blue Bay Motel. As with most of town, we run seasonally May to October and spend many of our winter months improving our facility. I am happy to report that as of winter 2012 half of our rooms will be newly renovated! For anyone looking to book a newly renovated room please ask for room 4-11. Rooms that we have not yet had a chance to renovate have been updated with new mattresses, 32"LCD TVs and new furnishings. Another 5 years of ownership and we plan to have all of our rooms completely redone. We look forward to your return stay to share with you our accomplishments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Trip Advisor reviews steered us in the right direction again. Couldn't have been more happy with this place. Location is perfect, the rooms are super clean and comfortable, and the staff are amazing. The ladies at the front desk were amazing. They had maps handy, detailed directions and even knew all of the park fees needed.

Our room looked like it had been refurbished. A fun mix of the new with classic motel features. The washroom was particularly spectacular with a standing shower that was lined with river stones. Our room overlooked the bay. There's a small table and chairs set up on the balcony which was great for evening cocktails. We even ate dinner out there one night.

There's a great pizza place next door and an LCBO on the other side. We had fantastic pizza and pasta with a bottle of red and watched the sunset over the bay. It was really nice and relaxing.

Obviously not their fault but the ferry sounds it's horn at 7am and it will wake the heaviest of sleepers. Since we like to sleep in while on holiday it was mildly annoying. But a small price to pay to enjoy the beauty of Tobermory,

Room Tip: When you book online you get to choose your specific room. There's pictures of each room on thei...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abigllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperK, Innkeeper at Blue Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My family 2 adults and our 3 kids had a wonderful time here! the rooms are clean and quiet , the satff are helpful and courteous, this is our second time here and they are consistent !
and i must add that the location can't get better!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperK, Innkeeper at Blue Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. You can always depend on friendly staff and spotless accommodations. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tobermory hotels
0.7 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#10 of 12 in Tobermory
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adventure the Bruce Inn
Adventure the Bruce Inn
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Motel

Address: 32 Bay Street | Little Tub Harbour, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tobermory
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tobermory
#1 Family Hotel in Tobermory
Price Range: $59 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel Tobermory
Blue Bay Motel Tobermory, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing