We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spot in the Bay”
Review of Blue Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Bay Motel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
Sun City Center, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best spot in the Bay”
Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

Personalized service in a down home atmosphere and modern amenities like high speed internet within walking distance of the entire harbor area made our stay superb.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1ctpaddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    122
    20
    12
    2
See reviews for
92
185
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

This may be the cleanest motel/Hotel I've ever stayed in, the sheets feel like there aired outside so so fresh & Kelly who runs it with her brother is so nice she will go out of her way to accommodate her guest.
Also my SUV was low on air no worriers kelly to the rescue with her air compressor, Thank you so much....

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truefitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I didn't know what to expect when I booked into this motel - for me the word motel has unfortunate connotations from movies etc - but The Blue Bay dispelled any fears from the word go. I had a spacious room, comfortable furniture, a clean, modern shower and the room came with a large fridge too. Kelly at the main desk was hugely helpful and informative, especially when it came to hiking the Bruce Trail which was my reason for being in town. She seemed to put in the hours too as she was behind the desk at reception every time I went past! I had a great couple of nights and slept well and would have no hesitation in returning if I'm every in that area again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roderick_W186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This is not your cookie cutter chain motel room. The room was spacious and clean and the newly renovated bathroom, with rain shower and smooth pebbled shower floor was great. The staff were really pleasant and helpful. The location is great, close to restaurants and shops, although businesses were not in full swing for the summer season, yet.

This motel is well located for getting the ferry terminal, if you have an early sailing.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, be sure to ask for a room on the ground floor as access to the second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmblesideInn-Host
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
767 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 595 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I really wanted to like the Blue Bay Motel much more than I did. I found the "Harley Davidson" room to be super tacky. The twenty dollar decor simply did not appeal to me. The bed linen I found to be on the cheap side and the pillows were all different and cheap. Really it's too bad because the lady at the front desk was incredibly nice and helpful. However, the noisy fridge that wasn't that cold, the drafty door and noisy trampling from the room upstairs cannot be overlooked on judging the Blue Bay Motel. I must say the cleanliness of the hotel was very nice so in that respect it was good, but with a little work the Blue Bay Motel could bump it rating up in a hurry.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tdsuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Stayed here for two nights in late October. Innkeeper Kelly was awesome, giving us suggestions and lots of information. Her smiling face was in the office each time we passed by...and that was frequently as inclement weather meant that we returned to the room frequently to warm up; (our original plan was to hike and try out a new camera... Also the in room information binder was the BEST that I have ever seen.

Room was incredibly clean and well appointed. Flat screen TV was good and free internet connection worked flawlessly. Beds were comfortable.

We could hear fellow guests when they returned late to their rooms...but after they entered their rooms all was silent again.

Appreciated the in room frig and access to a microwave on the main floor just outside the office.

Hint...if there are only a few guests in the hotel and the water in the shower is luke warm....just let it run...it will get nice and HOT but it takes time for it to get to the room if you are the first shower in the morning and there aren't any other guests to use it.

Even though the weather was disappointing (rain and gale forced winds), our visit to Tobermory was great due to a comfortable hotel and a welcoming friendly innkeeper!

Room Tip: 2nd floor room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vanclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We had three nights at the Blue Bay Motel. The location in this delightful small harbour town is excellent and the room was comfortable. Kelly was very helpful to her guests.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjmunck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
0.7 mi away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#10 of 12 in Tobermory
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adventure the Bruce Inn
Adventure the Bruce Inn
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#4 of 12 in Tobermory
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Motel

Property: Blue Bay Motel
Address: 32 Bay Street | Little Tub Harbour, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tobermory
#1 Family Hotel in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel Tobermory
Blue Bay Motel Tobermory, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing