We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals
Nearby Hotels
Cedar Vista Motel(Tobermory)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adventure the Bruce Inn(Tobermory)(Great Value!)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Bay Motel(Tobermory)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coach House Inn(Tobermory)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grandview(Tobermory)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveler rating
112
113
36
9
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
113
36
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflowerpot islandglass bottom boatboat cruisewalking distance to the ferrythe staff was friendly and helpfulgreat place to staybring your ownview of the watergrocery storeparking lotsit outsidesecond floorcan't beat the locationdefinitely stay here againchecking inexcellent staystayed two nights
Filter
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 281 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Clean rooms
Friendly staff
Close to all amenities

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

i had booked the long week end a MONTH before the holiday to go diving i told the person taking the reservations to put it threw my cc RIGHT away as i use it for work and is frequently maxed i got a call 3 days before we left for the trip saying i had no reservations as the card was declined was i SURE i was comming i confirmed yes , i got another call from a julie she was totally desrespectfull told me we dont NEED YOUR BUSINESS ,then said the owner would call me back with in an hour ,,,,well 3 days goes by then he calls says he was in the mountains of quebec with no service, i told him we were told you would call right back .he then said IM NOT AT YOUR BECON CALL i just hung up .I was lucky enough to get rooms at another hotel (2 days beefore the long week end ) MY ADVISE< DONT DO BUSINESS WITH THESE PEOPLE , they simply dont catre

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank udtabn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banchor, Owner at Bruce Anchor Motel and Cottage Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2010

This reservation was taken by our office staff and a credit card number was given to secure a deposit to reserve the room for the long weekend. When we ran the card to secure the deposit amount, it was declined. We then contacted this customer to inform him that his deposit did not go through and he would either need to top up his card or provide us with a valid one in order to hold his room. He was infuriated by this and blamed our office staff of waiting too long to take his deposit off the card, which is irrelevant as we need a credit card not only for a deposit, but for the duration of the stay in case of damages or incidentals. When we advised him that we would require a deposit in order to continue reserving the room for him, he threatened us saying that he would trash us on Trip Advisor and the internet. He pledged that he would make it his mission to cost us as much money as he could in loss of business. He then immediately created a Trip Advisor account and wrote this review, minutes after creating an account for the first time. Unfortunately this review’s only purpose is to attempt to harm our office staff and the Bruce Anchor Motel.

Our policy is, and has been for years, that you cannot reserve a room without a valid credit card for a deposit and for any possible damages or incidentals that may occur at the motel during your stay. We feel that this is very standard practice among hotels and motels everywhere.

We are very sorry that we could not provide this customer with accommodation for the long weekend. The last thing we ever want to do is tell someone that they cannot book a room with us; however we cannot reserve a room with a declined credit card.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed here on a Saturday night... paid $190 (with taxes) for a room with a king-sized bed and a "jacuzzi" (ie. bathtub with jets) R. 33. Place stunk of disinfectant and carpet was dirty. Air conditioner kept on shutting off even when the room was not cold. DO NOT BELIEVE THE PHOTOS on their website. The motel is not on the water. The street leading to the ferry separates the hotel from the water. This street is extremely busy and noisy at all times of the day. All of the hotel rooms face this street so there is no relief from the traffic and exhaust fumes. There are a few rooms that face the lake, but you are still facing the busy street too. There is no breakfast, continental or otherwise. I do not recommend this motel at all. I will never be back. You will be much better off choosing a motel in the cove which is quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yowza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

After doing some lengthy research into places to stay in Tobermory, we had originally booked into another motel (right by the harbour) but changed our minds when we were scared we would not be able to sleep without air conditioning with the humidity we've been getting.

The Blue Anchor offered a/c and a ceiling fan so we immediately booked with them. We were soooo happy that we had made the switch! During the week we were there, the weather was quite comfortable that we really didn't need the a/c, however, we just LOVED the views. We loved the view from our room, we enjoyed our coffee on our balcony. Warning that the balconies are not sectioned off; you will be sharing it with a few neighbours. Luckily, we mostly had it to ourselves most of the time. We also walked across the street to the private "blue anchor guest" deck every night to watch the sunset. They have 2 levels; the bottom has 2 tables with benches and 2 muskoka chairs. Even though the motel had no vacancy most of the time we were there, we always found ourselves enjoying the views with only a few others.

The beds were super comfortable and the rooms were very quiet. Only our ceiling fan made some weird noises...sounded like coffee purcolating but it made for some interesting "white noise". The fridge in the room was a great asset, as well as the outdoor cooking area. The outdoor pavilion had a bbq, toaster, kettle and microwave that you could use. The free wifi in the room was very spotty. They said they have been trying to get it fixed but it worked fine if I walked in front of the office.

The location was ideal for us. Right at the end of Hwy 6 and a short walk to the harbour. If you drive down the dead end street right near the motel, it actually leads you to the lighthouse you see across the waters from the deck.

So much to do in Tobermory...the visitor centre was great during the morning it rained. Very well done! You must check out the tower here...spectacular views on top! We drove to cyprus lake and walked to the grotto. Go early to beat the crowds. We spent an afternoon at singing sands beach (dorkas bay)...amazingly shallow waters. We kept walking and the water still remained at our ankles. Also took the Blue Heron glass bottom boat to Flowerpot Island. The glass bottom part of the boat was underwhelming. As another passenger said "this is it?!" Once we got closer to flowerpot island, we were transferred mid water to a smaller vessel to get on the island. You have to buy a park pass to go on the island but it's well worth it (keep your ticket stub because it's good for 2 days...we used it for the visitor centre area).

It's been years since we've been here but it was a great visit back! Overall, we were glad we picked the Blue Anchor motel but we felt they were overpriced. Almost as expensive as a nice hotel in Toronto, however, considering there were not many choices up there, it was comparable to the other motels/hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crazy_cat_sab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We VERY much enjoyed our stay at the Bruce Anchor! The rooms were pristine and clean, our view of the water beautiful from our balcony and we were looked after by friendly, attentive, courteous and knowledgeable staff members. We enjoyed our short 1 block walk to the downtown each day, and LOVED walking across to the water's edge to swim, enjoy seeing the Chi-Cheemaun as she came by each day and met alot of other people staying in the area. (Alot of people staying at other hotels had a much longer walk to enjoy the same view and swimming that the Bruce Anchor offers on its property) My sons especially liked jumping from the rocks and then 'sunning themselves' in the Muskoka chairs supplied on the waterfront deck for Bruce Anchor guests only. We can't wait to go back next summer :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StaceyM_Candles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews